Metro Redux [PS4, XO]

Discussion in 'Console Gaming' started by DSoup, Mar 31, 2014.

  1. DieH@rd

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    6,173
    Likes Received:
    2,099
    Again, great work by 4A.

    Will get both games on PS4, never played them before.
     
  2. ultragpu

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    5,738
    Likes Received:
    1,863
    Location:
    Australia
    So 1080p/60 consistently on PS4 with near maximum settings? Sounds like cake, will day one this after all.
     
  3. TomRL

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    4
    Did they say it was near maximum settings? The comparison to the pc release is what I'm waiting for.
     
  4. RenegadeRocks

    Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Messages:
    10,102
    Likes Received:
    1,094
    Did the PC version have realtime GI? I will have to check on my PC, but if not, then we cannot compare.
     
  5. DieH@rd

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    6,173
    Likes Received:
    2,099
    DF mentioned that tessellation and super-sampling are missing. We can safely assume that PhysX is also missing. :)
     
  6. TomRL

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2014
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    4
    Would that still leave the PS4 on the higher end of graphical settings?

    I'm interested because if I remember right, BF4 is mostly medium at 900p 60fps.
     
  7. ultragpu

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    5,738
    Likes Received:
    1,863
    Location:
    Australia
    Well if they locked it at 30fps then tessellation and physX should be easily included since nobody cares about supersampling anyway. I think consoles PS4 specifically might have tessellation on low or medium at best.
     
  8. Rangers

    Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    12,428
    Likes Received:
    1,223
    For comparison if I recall from fuzzy memory, I run the PC version on a 6970 at 30-60 FPS with near max settings (I think I had to turn maybe tessellation off?. IIRC it can bottom out at even below 30 FPS for the lowest points, but will often run in the 40's, 50's+.

    I think the bottleneck is my 2.4 ghz Q6600 though. I doubt 1.6 ghz Jaguars have any more grunt, so I guess it's optimization.
     
  9. djskribbles

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,257
    Likes Received:
    667
    BF4 was mostly high settings IIRC. And it was a launch title.
     
  10. pjbliverpool

    pjbliverpool B3D Scallywag
    Legend

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Messages:
    7,583
    Likes Received:
    704
    Location:
    Guess...
    Only because few can run it due to the performance requirements. Console gamers seem very interested in resolution and antialiasing these days and Supersampling is the ultimate example of that. I'm pretty sure if the PS4 version featured Supersampling and the XBO version didn't then people would get VERY interested in it.
     
  11. Shortbread

    Shortbread Island Hopper
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    Messages:
    4,061
    Likes Received:
    2,276
    Typical hoopla based reaction… I see it from all sides, including PC gamers.
     
  12. DavidGraham

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    3,045
    Likes Received:
    3,036
    I think more would be missing. Shadow Caster are fewer, I can't spot muzzle flash/explosions shadows in any of the released footage. Also DoF and Motion Blur are likely of lower resolution in the PS4 version. Ambient Occlusion and shadow resolution are another likely candidates as well.
     
  13. shredenvain

    Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Somewhere in southern U.S.
    We shall see. Still the games assets are at the maximum settings for the most part.
    Lighting has been improved ,Custom GI added, as well as double the framerate of the lastgen versions all at much improved res over last gen. Not to mention subtle gameplay improvements here and there. It has been a day one buy for me on the X1 since they announced it. The preview from DF only brings me more confidence in my purchase.
     
  14. Inuhanyou

    Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    1080p, higher resolution textures, twice the framerate, global illumination, less load times...it seems they are really using that ram to higher effect. GJ 4A. Compared to the previous console version, its the equivalent of a high end PC game now. I think i'd be happy with these results for a while to come, even if the game at its core is still based on having to hold itself back in favor of the previous gen.
     
  15. Scott_Arm

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    13,522
    Likes Received:
    4,125
    I'm not a big fan of the remasters trend, but it seems like they did it the right way and did a very good job of it. It also wasn't a huge seller, though I imagine they did well enough. This could be a good window where next-gen gamers are looking for something to play and there's not much out there. Less competition then they had on ps360. They could do very well with this, especially at a lower price point.
     
  16. babcat

    Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    656
    Likes Received:
    45
    I wish they would include an option for better graphics at 30fps. I personally think they are wasting a lot of GPU power by going 60fps. In my opinion, all 60fps games should have an option to boost lighting, shadows, geometry, lod, etc.
     
  17. Inuhanyou

    Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    You mean, like TLOU? Give specific graphics features in return for lowering the vsynch value down to 30fps?

    I dunno about that...it just seems like another thing for developers to bitch about that they have to be forced into doing.

    I remember when DICE ranted at players who were requesting an option to switch aiming and shooting with the dualshock 4 back to the dualshock 3 configuration. "oh its too much work for us developers", "oh why arent people grateful for what we're giving them already, "oh your asking us to waste our manhours putting in negligible features nobody will care about"
     
  18. ultragpu

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    5,738
    Likes Received:
    1,863
    Location:
    Australia
    I keep saying it, 30fps and 60fps option in a console game is the future. It simultaneously satisfy the graphics whores and performance freaks while not risking any potential loss of sales due to the absence of any one of those feature. Of course the difference has to be much bigger than just some better shadows. Games with a pc version should be even easier since you would have all the graphics settings on the go and shouldn't take too long just to compile them for a console.
    I can guarantee publishers and developers more sales if they see the genius in this;).
     
  19. London-boy

    London-boy Shifty's daddy
    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2002
    Messages:
    21,603
    Likes Received:
    5,356
    It sounds like a good idea, but as a seasoned console gamer who stopped PC gaming decades ago, I'm not sure I want the stress of having to choose between the two.
    With PC gaming, I used to spend most of the time just tweaking and optimising the hardware - usually screwing things up - and not actually playing the bloody game. This is something console gaming has fixed for me, I just play the thing and I don't have to satisfy my constant need to fuck things up.
    That's just me, I can understand why a lot of people would want the option.
     
  20. ultragpu

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    5,738
    Likes Received:
    1,863
    Location:
    Australia
    My good sir, there is absolutely no need to tweak anything on console other than choose 30fps mode on/off. It would automatically load the graphics preset depends on which mode you choose and that's the beauty of it. Of course one can assume there will be description under each mode outlining the specifics. 30fps could have 1080p, better aa, shadows, effects,tessellation etc while 60fps might give you 900p and standard effects. The idea is devs would have locked the fps for you so you don't need to tweak it yourself:).
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...