AMD Vega Hardware Reviews

Discussion in 'Architecture and Products' started by ArkeoTP, Jun 30, 2017.

  1. Lightman

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,804
    Likes Received:
    475
    Location:
    Torquay, UK
    Thanks for the link, but apart from answering my mem voltage question, I find his video lacking and not that good TBH. I found out more about my card in few hours I played with it and if someone paid me to do it, you would get better video than that. Shame I haven't got time nowadays ...
     
  2. Jawed

    Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    10,873
    Likes Received:
    767
    Location:
    London
    IPC is unchanged in Vega.
     
  3. lanek

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Switzerland
    In fact, theres no reason to dont increase the clock of the 1600 to 3.8-4ghz and it will be overall faster by a good margin. ( yes i know, you can too OC the 7700K, this is not really the point...it just for saying that for 100$ cheaper and 2cores more, the cpu is completely a valid option for gaming if a 7700K stock is a valid option. )
     
  4. CarstenS

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    4,806
    Likes Received:
    2,068
    Location:
    Germany
    Pipeline cadence for standard math is unchanged.
     
  5. Cat Merc

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    108
    From Anandtech's review.
    AMD spent the resources that could be put into reconfiguration into other things. It's as simple as that.
     
    Picao84 likes this.
  6. Cat Merc

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    108
    The way I see Vega's shader power, only about 60% to 70% of it at best is being utilized in games, with a few rare exceptions. The massive shader array it has is not there for gaming, but rather for all the other markets it's looking to serve that NVIDIA has specialized GPU's taking care of.

    I have no doubts that a gaming part with 3072 shaders but with the same front end and back end as Vega 10 would have performed extremely close to what we have now, while being smaller and taking less power. A part of me wishes that that's exactly what Vega 11 is.

    For a GP102 competitor in gaming, two extra shader engines would need to be implemented and have those 4096 shaders spread amongst them.
     
  7. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,130
    Likes Received:
    3,186
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    The benchmark was the 1600 @4Ghz and the 7700k @4.9Ghz
     
    CarstenS likes this.
  8. CarstenS

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    4,806
    Likes Received:
    2,068
    Location:
    Germany
    And DDR4-3200. So almost best-case compare for Ryzen.
     
  9. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    10,099
    Likes Received:
    4,675
    Best-case scenario for Ryzen would've been a similarly priced 1700X with SMT disabled and overclock on top.

    Edited for pedantics.
     
    #1469 ToTTenTranz, Sep 16, 2017
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2017
  10. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,130
    Likes Received:
    3,186
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    huh? 1800X is over $100 more. In most of those games, the extra cores wouldn't make much difference and the core clock would be identical.
     
  11. DavidGraham

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,837
    Likes Received:
    2,670
    They are not even pushing the CPUs there, when testing CPUs of this caliber a 1080Ti is a must, or maybe some Crossfired Vegas. Single GTX 1080/Vega 64 are not enough to push these CPUs in half of these titles.
     
  12. CarstenS

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    4,806
    Likes Received:
    2,068
    Location:
    Germany
    Oh, suddenly 100 $ is similarly priced. Need to remember that for future reference. Good thing, R5-1600 and i7-7700K are similarly priced too.

    --
    edited later that day:
    Now pointing out blatantly biased comparisons are pedantics. It gets better.
     
    #1472 CarstenS, Sep 16, 2017
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2017
    pharma, Lightman, Malo and 1 other person like this.
  13. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,130
    Likes Received:
    3,186
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    $100 is now the same price after AMD said so with Vega packs :lol:
     
  14. Mize

    Mize 3dfx Fan
    Moderator Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,066
    Likes Received:
    1,134
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio USA
    LMAO! Newegg will now sell a Vega 56 for only $420 BUT you have to buy it as part of a combo that includes a $129 "AMD Gift" of Prey/Wolfenstein.
    Newegg need to look up "gift"
     
    Kej, digitalwanderer, el etro and 5 others like this.
  15. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,257
    Likes Received:
    1,948
    Location:
    Finland
    Actually people just need to realize that they can't sell your "Radeon Pack"-card as just the cards MSRP, but that particular "Radeon Pack" price. Of course they should be sold as "Radeon Packs" and not "Radeon + gift that costs you", but still people need to stop saying "price is this much higher than it should" when it isn't.
     
  16. Mize

    Mize 3dfx Fan
    Moderator Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,066
    Likes Received:
    1,134
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio USA
    Well, I think they should drop the term "gift" completely. A gift has no cost to the recipient. In this case a more accurate item description is "RX Vega 56 at only $21 over MSRP provided you buy two games at about $10 over new release price."
     
  17. BRiT

    BRiT (╯°□°)╯
    Moderator Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    12,829
    Likes Received:
    9,182
    Location:
    Cleveland
    Sounds like Nigerian Gift scam.
     
  18. CarstenS

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    4,806
    Likes Received:
    2,068
    Location:
    Germany
    Even though it's not exactly a review, I can say that my retail V56 ran for the past day non-stop under load with 1100 MHz mem clock after flashing the V64 VBIOS without error. Seems like either that V56's memory has some reserves or it is indeed the same memory that's used on V64 as well.
     
    Silent_Buddha, Lightman, Mize and 2 others like this.
  19. Lightman

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,804
    Likes Received:
    475
    Location:
    Torquay, UK
    What was your HBM clock before flashing Vega 64 BIOS? I might flash my card tonight!

    EDIT:

    After flashing my Vega 56 I can run 1100 HBM2 clocks!
    Quick observations:
    - card vGPU floor increased from 0.925V to 1.025V resulting in ETH power usage jumping by around 10W to 20W
    - mining efficiency ETH/HBM clock is lower with new BIOS, I need 970MHz HBM to match 930MHz 35MH ETH mining on VEGA 56 BIOS
    - GPU-Z now detects Samsung HBM memory instead of Hynix (obviously reading from BIOS)

    At 1100HBM and 1007MHz GPU mining ETH using Claymore 10 has reached 38.5MH/s (Cat 17.8.2, Windows 10 64bit).
     
    #1479 Lightman, Sep 16, 2017
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2017
  20. CarstenS

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    4,806
    Likes Received:
    2,068
    Location:
    Germany
    Stable max before was 960 (might be a bit more, but 980 definitely was not). GPU-z has been update lately to (more?) correctly detect HBM manufacturer. I have not tests mining efficiency at same clock speeds, but I am getting 38.5 MH/s as well at roughly the clocks you stated (995/1100 MHz, 71/77/81 °C for the three temps with HBM obviously being the hottest, and at 2,000-2,100 rpm fan speed in an rather small desktop case, GPU-z tells me 0,875v, though it might be higher, did not measure directly at card here at home). System pulls 205W at the wall, GPUz says GPU-only power draw is 116W, normal idle for this system is around 35W.
     
    Lightman likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...