*merged/spinoff* for the Neverending Killzone Discussion on Graphics

That doesn't have anything to do with my post. A great problem solver solves problems. Devs, by trade, are suppose to be good troubleshooters/solvers. The PS3 is a flexible platform. Plenty of other devs are properly solving their problems. If you are creating major problems you can't properly solve, that is a serious...problem. :smile:

It has everything to do with your post.

Developers don't create major problems, system bottlenecks do. What one dev does to handle these issues in their game may not apply to another. There are various factors you are ignoring here.

For all you know, Crysis 2 could have been an even lower resolution on the ps3 if it were not for Crytek's being great "problem solvers".

Wait until the demo is released, that's supposed to be near final ps3 code. I'm sure it won't be disappointing at all.

It has everything to do with your post.

Developers don't create major problems, system bottlenecks do. What one dev does to handle these issues in their game may not apply to another. There are various factors you are ignoring here.

For all you know, Crysis 2 could have been an even lower resolution on the ps3 if it were not for Crytek's being great "problem solvers".

Wait until the demo is released, that's supposed to be near final ps3 code. I'm sure it won't be disappointing at all.
Wrong. Everything can have a bottleneck. It's just life. If you don't consider those things in planning, you are creating a problem. It's just that simple. The only way to argue against that is to believe only certain systems have bottlenecks.

Seems like the particle effects fade out faster in KZ3.

are wind physics respected in KZ3? Would that have any affect in causing it to fade out faster? Because when both versions were indoor and he was shooting at the wall, both particle effects seemed to fade out some what equally.

Last edited by a moderator: