Windows 10 [2014 - 2017]

Discussion in 'PC Hardware, Software and Displays' started by Scott_Arm, Oct 1, 2014.

Tags:
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,995
    Likes Received:
    3,244
    It's a shame it never asked me if i would like the 64bit version, in fact its a surprise there is even a 32bit version
     
  2. Albuquerque

    Albuquerque Red-headed step child
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Messages:
    3,864
    Likes Received:
    364
    Location:
    35.1415,-90.056
    Microsoft does not (and has not) allowed an upgrade from 32bit to 64bit OS. It has always been a wipe and complete rebuild to convert between the two.
     
  3. orangpelupa

    orangpelupa Elite Bug Hunter
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    8,454
    Likes Received:
    1,848
    bloody buggy piece of OS**t .....

    Start menu horrible stuff
    1. 1. Lots of missing start menu item
    2. 2. Cannot add item to start menu. Clicked PIN TO START, then nothing happen. Dragged shortcut to start button, nothing happen. Dragged shortcut to start menu, "denied" icon appear.
    Cortana horrible stuff
    1. Cortana cannot find a bunch of stuff, even in "Documents"
    2. Cortana randomly do wrong stuff. "Cortana, play blablabla" and it did nothing. Sometime i need to say "cortana open groove music" first

    Weird random stuff
    1. now i have DOUBLE LOGIN (attached pic)
    2. C drive keep getting filled to 0 bytes free

    doubleshit.jpg
     
  4. fellix

    fellix Hey, You!
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    424
    Location:
    Varna, Bulgaria
    I striped my Win10 installation to the bare bone and did some makeover with a third party start menu replacement -- the stock start menu is indeed half-baked and unusable for me, too. So now I have mostly bearable UI (I'm still looking for some theme hacks to "glassify" the desktop), minimum telemetry, spyware and privacy leaks. Cortana is off for good, I simply have no use of such service in a desktop environment and I've removed most of the bundled Metro apps and services. WDDM 2.0 and DX12 is really the only things I would actually need from this OS.
     
  5. Mariner

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,770
    Likes Received:
    462
    I hope folks on here realise that Cortana isn't actually a female. It's a piece of software. Calling it 'she' seems rather bizarre to me. You weirdoes. :razz:
     
  6. fellix

    fellix Hey, You!
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    424
    Location:
    Varna, Bulgaria
    It's no more weird than the tradition of addressing a ship in grammatical gender for instance.
     
  7. tongue_of_colicab

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    3,607
    Likes Received:
    776
    Location:
    Japan
    If it looks like a female...
    If it talks like a female...
    If it acts like a female, and going by Oran's comments that most certainly is the case :lol:, it most likely is female ;)

    Now you just think about what happens when people start connecting a ocolus and one of those souped up fleshlights the Japanese have to their computers and actually start talking to Cortana haha.
     
  8. hoom

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    3,050
    Likes Received:
    571
    So Firefox 40 brings official Win10 support whatever that means.
    Main 'feature' seems to be that it has the ability to set itself as the Default browser.
    Apparently some interface streamlining.
    And they still fucking made the release notes hidden deep in their website :yelling:
     
  9. Xmas

    Xmas Porous
    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    3,316
    Likes Received:
    147
    Location:
    On the path to wisdom
    You're right, these features are great and represent a big leap forward in personal computing.

    But if implemented right, such a personal assistant does not require a connection to Microsoft. It is absolutely possible to perform these actions locally (of course specific actions require fetching data from the internet) and keep private data private. A digital personal assistant should be a user agent, do things for the user, in the interest of the user.

    Could Microsoft use data collected from users to improve the software, maybe even provide a few extra services not possible otherwise? Yes. But then they have to tell users in the clearest way possible what they are collecting, how it is being used, and let users opt into such collection of data. The default assumption should be that data is private and explicit permission must be granted.
     
  10. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    3,585
    Likes Received:
    2,309
    Firefox sticks it to Microsoft, redirects Cortana searches in Windows 10

    https://blog.mozilla.org/blog/2015/08/1 ... ons-safer/

    Chip, chip, chip .... Ladies and gentlemen, please sharpen your chisel and ready your hammer.
     
    #870 pharma, Aug 12, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2015
  11. Rodéric

    Rodéric a.k.a. Ingenu
    Moderator Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,031
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    I'm waiting for driver stability to install Windows 10, also not too keen on being spied upon...
     
    CaptainGinger likes this.
  12. Grall

    Grall Invisible Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    2,175
    Location:
    La-la land
    Activate "GodMode" in Windows 10 and gain access to tons of OS settings all from one single, well-organized window:

    Create a new folder, on your desktop is a convenient place for trying this nice trick out. Give it THIS exact name:

    GodMode.{ED7BA470-8E54-465E-825C-99712043E01C}

    ...And press enter. The folder will now transform into a control panel-like shortcut and is ready for use. Actually, you can replace the text before the initial period (".") with anything you like, but "GodMode" is kinda cool, isn't it? :)

    Not my discovery of course. Just re-reporting what I read on the internets, or in my particular case, Nordic Hardware. As most of you probably don't understand Bork Bork Bork, I have re-rendered the instructions into English... Enjoy!
     
    PixResearch and tabs like this.
  13. mrcorbo

    mrcorbo Foo Fighter
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Messages:
    3,947
    Likes Received:
    2,690
    I had this issue when I upgraded. In my case it was due to me having too many start menu entries. Apparently having more than 512 entries breaks things. I uninstalled a bunch of old unused programs and that fixed it. Details here:

    http://www.techworm.net/2015/07/windows-10-bugs-too-many-start-menu-apps-will-break-it.html
     
  14. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,995
    Likes Received:
    3,244
    Oh, I am going to be in so much trouble and uninstalling is not an option
     
  15. orangpelupa

    orangpelupa Elite Bug Hunter
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    8,454
    Likes Received:
    1,848
    Who the heck think arbitrary limit without user visible indicator is a good idea....

    its vista all over again, except this time its free upgrade.
     
  16. nutball

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Messages:
    2,251
    Likes Received:
    601
    Location:
    en.gb.uk
    Heh. I can't even get the ISO to download.

    The upgrade from Win 7 through Windows update doesn't work.
    The media creation tool to create a USB doesn't work ("something went wrong").
    The same stupid tool won't even download the ISO so I can create the USB myself ("something went wrong").

    Marvellous.

    So by a random walk through the MS website I've found a page where I can download the ISO directly rather than use the silly tool. Let's see how that goes. Loving my Win10 "enhanced user experience" so far!
     
    #876 nutball, Aug 12, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2015
  17. Albuquerque

    Albuquerque Red-headed step child
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Messages:
    3,864
    Likes Received:
    364
    Location:
    35.1415,-90.056
    Not to burst your bubble, and really not even meant as a disagreement, but all three of the Big Players (Apple Siri, Google Now and Windows Cortana) pipe all of your voice input to the cloud for analysis. If you have no internet connection, all three of the players are unable to parse voice input. Try it some time, if you're interested.

    You might make the argument that there exists sufficient computing power to parse "natural" language locally for PC use. The challenge here is that these technologies started as mobile digital personal assistants, and it makes a lot more sense (power consumption, centralization of effort, standardization on a single platform, horizontal scale, improvements and optimization can be made on a single platform shared to all devices ) to do this kind of analysis in the cloud rather than the fight that would be required to stand it up individually on every phone that might ever support the option.

    Now that these digital personal assistants are making their way to the PC platform, why would the Big Three re-invent the wheel? All the services already exist in the cloud as web services, scaled massively, leveraging the learning made from all the phone device usage. Building just one more lightweight service caller for the desktop platform is a cakewalk in comparison to utterly rebuilding it from scratch just for the sake of "keeping it local." Again, I'm taking this from the perspective of the Big Three, not from the perspective of a concerned user.

    There's two options here: turn it off and wait however-long until there's some way to emulate this behavior at a completely local level (seems highly unlikely) or turn it on and become a member of the borg. Let's be blunt: you do not NEED Cortana, just like you do not need Solitaire or continuously rotating background images, so turning the feature off is an entirely viable option.

    I get that you may not like those two options, but there are truly no others. I've got a dollar and a free cup of coffee that I'll wager on the Big Three never, ever taking these services out of the cloud. It simply does not make sense for them.
     
    Jawed likes this.
  18. orangpelupa

    orangpelupa Elite Bug Hunter
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    8,454
    Likes Received:
    1,848
    Can you help me? It will be really helped me if you also download the windows 10 home single language 64bit iso. Then make a torrent of it.

    Thank you.
     
  19. Infinisearch

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    739
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    USA
    Try the following:
    1.Reserve Win10 in systray icon (if its there)
    2.Open a admin command prompt
    3.In above command prompt: wuauclt.exe /updatenow
    4.Go to windows update and click update now/check for updates.

    edit - I think thats what I did but in an article, they typed the command in 3 again after step 4.
     
    #879 Infinisearch, Aug 12, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2015
  20. orangpelupa

    orangpelupa Elite Bug Hunter
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    8,454
    Likes Received:
    1,848
    Just to add perspective. Offline voice command that works super well already available in xbox 360. I suspect its the same on x1.

    The voice recognition and command support is much more consistent and better and quicker than Cortana.

    But the flexibility is much better in cortana where you don't need to use the exact command phrase.

    Edit:
    Guys? Nobody gonna torrent the windows 10 home single language x64?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...