Windows 10 [2014 - 2017]

Discussion in 'PC Hardware, Software and Displays' started by Scott_Arm, Oct 1, 2014.

Tags:
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Scott_Arm

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    13,276
    Likes Received:
    3,725
    They finally copied OSX Expose and Spaces (Task view, virtual desktops).



    Watching this full demo, Windows 10 looks really good. The way they're planning on switching for 2-1 hybrid devices is really smart, and really good. There's consistency between the interfaces. Hopefully it works out. I'll probably need a Windows install some time soon.
     
  2. Rodéric

    Rodéric a.k.a. Ingenu
    Moderator Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    3,986
    Likes Received:
    847
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Herm BeOS predates that by 10 years at least and already had virtual desktops...
     
  3. MfA

    MfA
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    6,806
    Likes Received:
    473
    How about a security system which doesn't suck donky balls? Or can only metro apps get that?
     
  4. Scott_Arm

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    13,276
    Likes Received:
    3,725
    Whatever. It's good and Microsoft finally copied it. Never understood why people give a shit who invented what feature. If something is good, take it and implement it.
     
    FarticusMaximus likes this.
  5. Scott_Arm

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    13,276
    Likes Received:
    3,725
    The good thing is, Metro is done and so are Metro apps, by the look of it. There are Win32 apps and Universal Apps, but the interface is the same between desktop and touch. It is consistent. Some onscreen controls change, but it is essentially the same interface.
     
  6. MfA

    MfA
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    6,806
    Likes Received:
    473
    So the API formerly known as metro will ONLY be used for universal apps?

    Still doesn't excuse the security system for win32 apps sucking donky balls though.
     
  7. eastmen

    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    9,985
    Likes Received:
    1,497
    metro isn't gone

    Metro is one of the best ways to control a touch device.

    [​IMG]
     
  8. zed

    zed
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    4,442
    Likes Received:
    629
    http://www.infoworld.com/article/2613504/microsoft-windows/microsoft-windows-microsoft-skips-too-good-windows-9-jumps-to-windows-10.html
    win 10 looks like MS have learnt from their mistakes and are not trying to push metro on us, nice theyre also finally fixing the shell, I use powershell and its :(
     
  9. Dave Baumann

    Dave Baumann Gamerscore Wh...
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    14,079
    Likes Received:
    648
    Location:
    O Canada!
    Yeah, no. The store is still front and center as are "New UI" apps. On the surface the only difference is these apps can now appear windowed and they will be available on the start button menu as opposed to the start screen on keyboard devices.
     
  10. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,183
    Likes Received:
    1,840
    Location:
    Finland
    The actual reason for the naming might actual be half-assed 3rd party devs from 90's and early 2000's: https://twitter.com/mikko/status/517358472715710465/photo/1

    --

    First impressions:
    - Microsoft-account rocks. Everything is pretty much as it was in Win8.1 for me
    - It installs Catalysts automatically, including CCC
    - I still prefer Start-screen over Start-menu, luckily us who found Win8's Modern UI Start-screen great don't have to use the ancient-modern-hybrid-start-menu they put in there for Win7 users
     
  11. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    16,145
    Likes Received:
    5,081
    I just hope there's an option for the Start Screen still. I absolutely do NOT wish to ever go back to the Start Menu.

    Regards,
    SB
     
  12. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,183
    Likes Received:
    1,840
    Location:
    Finland
    Yes there is, I already enabled it here :cool:
    Requires just a quick log out and log in to change the setting

    edit:
    Oh, and it's not the exact same start screen, but close.
     
  13. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    16,145
    Likes Received:
    5,081
    Great news. I was going to be a very unhappy puppy if I had to use the start menu again. I hate using it on the Win7 install I still have for helping out people with troubleshooting.

    Regards,
    SB
     
  14. trinibwoy

    trinibwoy Meh
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Messages:
    10,430
    Likes Received:
    433
    Location:
    New York
    Sounds promising.

    Has anyone encountered issues with graphics hardware or games so far? I'm planning to install the preview on my main gaming PC.
     
  15. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,183
    Likes Received:
    1,840
    Location:
    Finland
    One error, in the "bugs I found so far" -list, might be related to graphics hardware and/or games (the Fifa, obviously) - using the Catalysts it installed, not sure which version they exactly are since CCC doesn't tell it, but the packaging version is 14.201.1008-140812a-174946E-ATI
    I haven't tried any "real games", only couple Windows Store games

    Bugs noticed so far:
    - Fifa15 UT from store doesnt' render correctly, it doesn't fit on my screen (1920x1200)
    - Some Action Center error report thing appeared as "new program" in Start Screen's "all programs"
    - Explorer has crashed / thrown error on my face twice so far, once on first shutdown, second time next log out

    Not bugs but unexpected:
    - Snap-thing: You can't get 2:2 equal "grid" with all programs, for example snapped Skype (Modern version) requires around 2/3rds of the 1200 pixels available as minimum height - some programs, like explorer, can still be snapped under it to the around 1/3rds space left

    New visuals:
    - Shadows around windows
     
  16. DJ12

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    178
    Well I just installed the latest driver from amd 14.9 and got a speed boost in novabench.

    It also reports higher ratings on my cpu and hdd.

    I did a benchmark with grid 2 before installing too. When it's downloaded from steam I'll run it again.

    Generally a little slower, but the run in Grid was not the same so it's not really a good benchmark.

    Everything in 10 is 2 fps lower than with 8.1.
     
    #16 DJ12, Oct 2, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 2, 2014
  17. hoom

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    497
    mOSX...

    Having skipped a version number, does this mean its skipping the 'every 2nd version is good' too?

    Haven't watched that long presentation yet but like stuff I've seen so far.
    Recognising that desktops exist & won't be disappearing for some time is an important step.

    Any word on return of proper desktop friendly Cleartype?

    Hoping for a nice Glass type transparency implementation too, hate the opaque pastel shite.


    Just updating cmd prompt a bit is not really good enough, its long since overdue that they give it a full GUI overhaul.
    It should not be too hard to make a program using existing MS GUI elements to provide ability to perform any valid cmd function without typing, ie only mouse clicks or touch screen presses.
    Would still be quicker to do most by quick typing but having that ability to do it by GUI is important IMO.
     
  18. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,183
    Likes Received:
    1,840
    Location:
    Finland
    There's no such thing as "every 2nd version is good", people just leave some OS'es out to make it work in their head
     
  19. jakobx

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    if the store version is the same as Origin version then this a problem with the game. It only works on 16:9 monitors. Everyone else has black bars. Or giant black bars as is the case on my 21:9 monitor.
     
  20. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,183
    Likes Received:
    1,840
    Location:
    Finland
    I mean this:
    http://www.elisanet.fi/kaotik/img-ftp/fifabug.png
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...