Windows 10 [2014 - 2017]

Discussion in 'PC Hardware, Software and Displays' started by Scott_Arm, Oct 1, 2014.

Tags:
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,030
    Likes Received:
    3,101
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Maybe the GPU having issues was causing your problems with the start menu?
     
  2. Grall

    Grall Invisible Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    2,172
    Location:
    La-la land
    I can't see how that would be the case. Everything else worked except that, I was playing games on it and stuff, and besides, start menu/metro apps going AWOL is a known bug with win10 anyhow.

    It apparently has to do with the icon database (because of course you need a fucking database for something as simple as a start menu) becoming corrupted - spontaneously apparently; most likely this is where the actual bug is located btw, and the rest is just bad software design, making the start menu and metro apps bork themselves if the DB is corrupted.

    Or so I assume anyway... :p
     
  3. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,030
    Likes Received:
    3,101
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Most things related to operating system operation are custom databases of some kind. You need an indexable relational structure for efficient reading and updating of data. Do you expect the configuration of what's in your start menu to be stored line by line in a text file?
     
  4. Grall

    Grall Invisible Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    2,172
    Location:
    La-la land
    The old start menu was just a series of folders and files on disk. Worked fucking fine for 20 years. Didn't need no fancy schmancy databases that bust themselves up for no reason or make it needlessly cumbersome to add things to your startup folder. You just browsed to the startup folder and plopped whatever shortcut you needed there and done.
     
  5. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    16,146
    Likes Received:
    5,082
    Which also happened to be cached in a database.

    Regards,
    SB
     
    tongue_of_colicab and Malo like this.
  6. Grall

    Grall Invisible Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    2,172
    Location:
    La-la land
    CACHED perhaps, but at least the start menu wasn't the database. Now today after re-installing my second GPU my start menu is back to not working again, so it seems whatever issue I'm having with my start menu is somehow either related to AMD catalyst driver, or simply having two GPUs in the system. Interesting, since I had one of these very same GPUs in my previous PC, where the start menu would also wonk out every now and then.

    Sonuva...!

    *EDIT:
    Yeah, it's definitely crossfire related this time at least; I turned XF off and rebooted, and start menu was back to working properly again. That's not good, as I have two new video cards inbound in a day or two!
     
    #2706 Grall, Dec 18, 2017
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2017
  7. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    14,891
    Likes Received:
    2,309
    wow my iconcache files = 187mb
    C:\Users\<your username>\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\Explorer
     
  8. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,030
    Likes Received:
    3,101
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    wow better format c: fast and get all that space back!
     
    Kyyla likes this.
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...