Image Quality and Framebuffer Analysis for Available/release build Games *Read the first post*

Discussion in 'Console Technology' started by Farid, Nov 7, 2008.

  1. Pugger

    Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    2
    Has this been confimred, I probaly posted in the wrong thread initally but I'm convinced that at 1080p the game is blurry not as bad as some other PS3 games but none the less it's still visible to me. I have tried the filters but nothing really seems to make much of a difference. When I get home I'm going to set it to 720p to see if this helps.
     
  2. djskribbles

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,257
    Likes Received:
    667
    Wonder what the differences are between Normal, Flicker Reduction and Sharpen are. It was early and I didn't get much sleep, but I swear Normal in 1080p looked softer while Flicker Reduction looked sharper. Maybe Flicker Reduction uses MSAA instead of QAA? In 720p, Normal mode looked clean and using Filter Reduction made cars look pixelated.

    edit: nm about Normal vs Flicker Reduction... I just checked again and I couldn't really see a difference.
     
    #1162 djskribbles, Nov 25, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 25, 2010
  3. flipswitch

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wonder why they switched to QA.Could it just be for the cockpit view?.When you use the car view( where you can see the whole car) the image appeared just as sharp as prologue's.But I'm no pixel counter.
     
  4. novcze

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    79
    What exactly "flicker reduction" does? Same as in GT Academy demo (takes away 2x temporal SSAA) or something else? And what about "sharpen", can someone elaborate? Thanks.
     
  5. djskribbles

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,257
    Likes Received:
    667
    Apparently, GT5 uses QAA instead of 2xMSAA + temporal SSAA. So I really wonder what flicker reduction does as well.
     
  6. jlippo

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    388
    Location:
    Finland
    If it uses temporal AA, the easiest guess would be that they do not jitter the view as much or at all.
     
  7. Kasersky

    Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    its a setting for SD sets probably deals with interlacing. i remember a similar feature in ff12.

    notice how it makes no difference in 1080p
    http://images.eurogamer.net/assets/articles//a/1/3/0/4/5/7/0/normal2.jpg.jpg
    http://images.eurogamer.net/assets/articles//a/1/3/0/4/5/7/0/flicker_reduction2.jpg.jpg

    updated blurb on it:
    http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/digitalfoundry-gran-turismo-5-tech-analysis?page=1
     
  8. Weaste

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Castellon de la Plana
  9. Weaste

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Castellon de la Plana
    Do we know what type of TAA they are using? Are they changing the sample pattern per frame? Is this even possible on RSX?
     
  10. jlippo

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    388
    Location:
    Finland
    They seem to jitter the FoV without any blending between frames, this makes it invisible for screenshots.
    So no they do not change sample pattern.
     
  11. Weaste

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Castellon de la Plana
    So the illusion is going to have the greatest affect when moving on the cockpit in that view, the bonnet in the roof view, and your car with the case camera? Does this maybe explain why the chase camera is so rigid? However, if you stop the car dead it will AA the entire scene?
     
  12. jlippo

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,299
    Likes Received:
    388
    Location:
    Finland
    Yes, it works best when there is no movement at all.
     
  13. Weaste

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Castellon de la Plana
    And the reason that they can never use the SCE MLAA is because it's post process on the entire frame so would either require triple buffering (which they do not have the memory for and would also add extra controller lag) or the whole thing coming down to 30fps under double buffered v-sync? Is that correct, assuming that they even have the SPU time to spare?
     
  14. nightshade

    nightshade Interwebz Hijacker !
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3,391
    Likes Received:
    92
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Well think of how MLAA won't even help reducing the aliasing in GT5's case in the first place, the tracks are full of thin geometry where MLAA would fall apart completely.
     
    #1174 nightshade, Dec 1, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 1, 2010
  15. N_B

    N_B
    Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Why do you say that? Why would MLAA would require v-sync?

    MLAA also just wouldn't look good in GT5, lots of small sub-pixel objects like chain-link fences, tree foliage, also it doesn't work on the low res alpha.
     
  16. corduroygt

    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not to mention they'd have to perform MLAA on 50% more pixels, and with a 16ms deadline.
     
  17. Weaste

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Castellon de la Plana
    Does MLAA make sense in a double buffer situation? As it's post process, working on a fully resolved back buffer, wouldn't RSX be sat idle while the SPUs are doing the job? If so, you wouldn't try to save RSX time would you, so the frame would take longer to compose?

    I'm not making statements here, thus all of the question marks.
     
  18. jaidek

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
  19. Lucid_Dreamer

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,204
    Likes Received:
    2
    I believe the 360 version is better, even though the vote is the other way.
     
  20. djskribbles

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,257
    Likes Received:
    667
    Seems to be less bloom on the PS3 version, but aliasing seems less apparent. The 360 version almost looks sharpened, or the PS3 version is slightly softened.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...