AMD Vega Hardware Reviews

Discussion in 'Architecture and Products' started by ArkeoTP, Jun 30, 2017.

  1. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,935
    Likes Received:
    1,629
  2. Anarchist4000

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,439
    Likes Received:
    359
    Excluding the only confirmed test with the Energy benchmark with a 100% increase, this could be accurate.

    I'd also have to imagine reducing the bandwidth, TMU, ROP, ALU, cache usage, etc with DSBR and culling would affect more than just "bandwidth starved" chips. Not as if reducing energy spent on memory accesses would allow higher clocks either.

    If by false hopes you mean features guaranteed to increase performance. It's not magic to toggle features on and off. If you examine your control panel there are plenty of settings to force AA and other features. They're hardly magic. Calling something magic is just straight ignorance.
     
    ToTTenTranz and no-X like this.
  3. leoneazzurro

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Rome, Italy
    Not forgetting the application compatibility issue.
     
  4. Grall

    Grall Invisible Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    2,172
    Location:
    La-la land
    That's lolworthy as hell. They (ASUS) promised higher current limits for their card, and now nothing? With all the VRM power phases they've stacked onto that giant PCB that's nothing short of utter bullshit.

    Looking at what that finnish guy is reporting in that Reddit thread when it comes to overclocking and undervolting, the ASUS board is actually performing worse than AMD reference designs. Man, what a shitty product, I'm feeling so let down.
     
    BRiT likes this.
  5. gamervivek

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    220
    Location:
    india
    The reviewer says that the Hotspot temp is 98C,no wonder the card barely nudges ahead of reference.

    I'm facing the issue where the core temperature can be below 60C yet the Hotspot runs away to 100C once the power limit is raised. I don't think it's the vrms now, many people have separate vrm temperatures. But if it's on-die, I'm flabbergasted as to how it can have this big of a delta from the core.

    Very frustrating to see the card capable of 15-20% extra and not being able to exploit it. :-(
     
    Lightman likes this.
  6. DavidGraham

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,791
    Likes Received:
    2,602
    It appears other AIB are facing the same issue as well, it's delaying their custom cards, among other issues.

    MSI isn't even planning to release custom Vega cards as a result.
    http://www.tomshardware.com/news/amd-vega-custom-graphics-cards-problems,35514.html
     
  7. gamervivek

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    220
    Location:
    india
    Bad core temp. sensor would explain why some people are getting lower temps than the cooling liquid with liquid cooling setups and why the exhaust air is hotter than what the core temp. would suggest.

    I'm not sure if the reviewers got better chips or not, their firestrike/other benchmark scores are similar to what I get and so I don't think they're boosting any further.
     
    DavidGraham likes this.
  8. Grall

    Grall Invisible Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    2,172
    Location:
    La-la land
    One of those issues undoubtedly being HBM chip stacks being shorter than the GPU die on some assemblies. This was the case with Hexus' original ASUS Strix review board, and as a result the HBM ran quite hot, since it had no direct contact with the cooler. It's an unbelievable shitshow that AMD is producing such units and seemingly mixing them randomly into customers' orders. You'd need to custom-machine the hotplate on the cooler for the mismatched die heights to get proper contact, but if your chip orders may vary you can't prepare and place custom hotplate orders accordingly.

    As a result it seems 3rd party manufacturers aren't bothering to account for the height mismatch (that Strix cooling plate is flat as a mirror), leading to poor RAM cooling and limited performance on what is supposed to be an expensive, high-end, premium product. Very very bad!
     
  9. Lightman

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,804
    Likes Received:
    475
    Location:
    Torquay, UK
    I'm taking my Vega56 apart this weekend. Will report if reassembling properly makes any difference.
     
    Kej, Heinrich4, Grall and 1 other person like this.
  10. gamervivek

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    220
    Location:
    india
    Hasn't made much difference in my case, maybe a bit worse besides the voided warranty, but not sure if it's a nocebo now that I've started monitoring the hotspot temperature. I have no problem with the fan noise of reference cards but it's ridiculous that this temperature isn't exposed in wattman if it's the main cause of throttling and I was running the chip ragged while trying to figure out the throttling.

    Mine has samsung memory, if gpuz is correct, and is also molded which apparently happens with samsung chips.
     
    Lightman, pharma and BRiT like this.
  11. xEx

    xEx
    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    939
    Likes Received:
    398
    "at the beginning of the year I warned that Vega would be hard, now they know what I meant"-

    Raja Kudori.
     
    pharma likes this.
  12. Digidi

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    97
    Anny link to this statatemant von Raja ? Smells like fake!
     
  13. xEx

    xEx
    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    939
    Likes Received:
    398
    pharma likes this.
  14. itsmydamnation

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,298
    Likes Received:
    396
    Location:
    Australia
    I dont think your right at all.

    I dont know anyone who is having a hard time clocking the HBM, ( my vega 56 hits 1100 and i haven't bothered to try higher). hotspot temp is on SOC and this is the one that people appear to hit first. My card doesn't seem to have this problem(i haven't check but my card is always at temp target when it throttles ).

    Based off my playing with an actual Vega, i think AIB problem is Vega is already really amazing at pushing right up to the boundary of stable clock ( just like Zen). Its dynamic adjustments to keep stable while setting a higher dynamic target beats out setting a higher static clock rate. Vega also has a massive clock wall around 1650-1700 mhz, there is nothing i can do to break that on any test or game ( this is just like Zen). The only people breaking 1700 mhz are people putting it under water and even then they aren't getting much above it ( this is just like Zen).

    So put all that together and what exactly can AIB's do? All they can do is really offer cards with AIO or cards with better fans, but there isn't much room from improvement in performance over a ref Vega with a vega 64 bios, setting power limit to +50 upping dynamic clock + 100 and taking 50-100 mv off voltage.

    I really think the fundamental problem is butting up against the boundary of 14LPP, hopefully 12nm improves max clock of the process, both Vega and Zen in the enthusiast space will benefit from that.

    I really think people are getting carried away shitting on Vega..............
     
  15. Grall

    Grall Invisible Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    2,172
    Location:
    La-la land
    Again, Hexus' Strix Vega wouldn't clock even up to 1000 before they got garbled graphics on-screen. As I recall, they were some ways from 1000 as well actually. Unfortunately that review was unpublished, due to the "wrong" BIOS being used, which turned out to be the only BIOS we'll get... :roll:

    Seen other reports of people whose HBM can't do 1000, much less 1100.

    You're way off base there mate. Just...way off.
     
  16. itsmydamnation

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,298
    Likes Received:
    396
    Location:
    Australia
    Maybe they actually had a fault card?
    I've seen the vast majority or "reports" from people who have no problem, you want to floop it out and measure it i will smash you on that point. All i have to do is go to any forum go to the vega OC thread and search the words HBM/memory.

    here is the first one:
    http://forums.overclockers.com.au/search.php?searchid=33229385
    dont see any one with a vega 64 or moded 56 below 1000 there.

    http://www.overclock.net/newsearch/...=recency&sdate=0&search=HBM&type=all&start=25
    Or have a look here almost everyone in the 1000-1100 range.
    https://forums.overclockers.co.uk/search/5314988/?q=HBM&t=post&o=relevance&c[thread]=18789713
    oh look lots more 1000-1100 HBM clocks.



    Orly. jpg
    Maybe its your own bias playing out, Vega already performs where it performs it doesn't need the invention of mythical problems.
     
    no-X and Heinrich4 like this.
  17. Lightman

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,804
    Likes Received:
    475
    Location:
    Torquay, UK
    I could do only 930MHz HBM2 with stock Vega 56 BIOS, but after flashing Vega 64 BIOS I can hit 1100MHz. My problem is keeping HBM2 temps in check. They loose performance when going above 85C HBM temp. and it's quite easy to get there when mining. GPU will stay at 67C but HBM will go up to 87C if I want to keep fan below 3000RPM. I need around 3300RPM to keep it just under 85C ... That's why I'm taking my card apart tomorrow, wish me luck as I hope to get HBM2 temp. under control without changing sink just yet.
     
    Kej, Grall and Heinrich4 like this.
  18. itsmydamnation

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,298
    Likes Received:
    396
    Location:
    Australia
    I run @ 3200 rpm, which is above the sound level i would like, but its a low frequency its not that loud so it doesn't bother me, I do hope good value coolers do appear for vega, i would love to replace the blower, i dont even need more cooling capacity just not a blower....lol
     
    Lightman likes this.
  19. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,935
    Likes Received:
    1,629
    Are you using official stock bios?
     
  20. itsmydamnation

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,298
    Likes Received:
    396
    Location:
    Australia
    i am using an official stock bios :lol: . So no, i am using the 64 bios on my 56, this was for getting around the TDP limit of 56.
     
    pharma likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...