AMD RyZen CPU Architecture for 2017

Discussion in 'PC Industry' started by fellix, Oct 20, 2014.

Tags:
  1. xEx

    xEx
    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    409
    An 8 core TR with lots of M2 drives <3
     
  2. 3dilettante

    Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,402
    Likes Received:
    4,111
    Location:
    Well within 3d
    The 8-core Threadripper might be an interesting comparison to the 1800X. There's half as many core resources available within a CCX, and I guess it should be treated by the OS as having two NUMA nodes.
    There's more bandwidth, power delivery and dissipation, and IO, but the latency cliffs can be steep and with reduced margin. Going by the picture of an EPYC substrate, the two dies aren't going to enjoy full bandwidth between them.
     
  3. xEx

    xEx
    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    409
    The 8c Tr will be 1 CCX per die or just one die active?
     
  4. 3dilettante

    Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,402
    Likes Received:
    4,111
    Location:
    Well within 3d
    I thought I read it was all active CCXs, but I might be wrong. It would need to have both dies active for the memory channels. Other chips needed to balance the number of active cores across running CCXs, not sure about fully turning one CCX off, however.
     
  5. Clukos

    Clukos Bloodborne 2 when?
    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    4,515
    Likes Received:
    3,872
    More likely to be 2 cores per CCX. Like a double 1500x.
     
  6. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,844
    Likes Received:
    4,016
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Was there any update after the Der8auer delidding and the 4 dies?
     
  7. 3dilettante

    Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,402
    Likes Received:
    4,111
    Location:
    Well within 3d
    I'm not aware of a statement from Der8auer, but other statements from writers indicated that answers were given to the effect that they were placeholders.

    I've seen some additional speculation that seem convincing to me, such as the lack of passive components on the substrate that would have gone to the other two dies if they were ever going to be active.
    If they were to undergo testing, the components would have been added. If those dies subsequently failed, there would be little motivation to pop them back off.
     
    Malo likes this.
  8. Jawed

    Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    10,999
    Likes Received:
    975
    Location:
    London
    My understanding is that the two active dice are positioned diagonally with two metal shims in place of the other two dice for mechanical purposes.
     
    Lightman likes this.
  9. Heinrich4

    Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Rio de Janeiro,Brazil
  10. Pressure

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1,460
    Likes Received:
    386
  11. Clukos

    Clukos Bloodborne 2 when?
    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    4,515
    Likes Received:
    3,872
  12. fellix

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3,515
    Likes Received:
    441
    Location:
    Varna, Bulgaria
    https://www.overclock3d.net/news/cpu_mainboard/amd_clarifies_why_threadripper_uses_4_silicon_dies/1
     
    Grall, Kej, Silent_Buddha and 3 others like this.
  13. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,844
    Likes Received:
    4,016
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Thanks for the final word. I assumed they would have the working dies as diagonal specifically for cooling.
     
  14. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    9,237
    Likes Received:
    3,182
    Location:
    Finland
    Yep, it's L2+L3.
    1950X has 40MB (16x0.5 + 32MB), 1920X 38MB (12x0.5 + 32MB) and 1900X 20MB (8x0.5 + 16MB)
     
    TheAlSpark likes this.
  15. TheAlSpark

    TheAlSpark Moderator
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    21,905
    Likes Received:
    7,782
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    So when do they build a chip of L4 cache instead of using dummy chips. :p

    Gotta have some ludicrous plaid arrays connected to that fabric. I keed.
     
    Grall, Kej, Lightman and 2 others like this.
  16. hoom

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    3,075
    Likes Received:
    596
    :lol:
     
  17. Clukos

    Clukos Bloodborne 2 when?
    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    4,515
    Likes Received:
    3,872
  18. xEx

    xEx
    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    409
    Who got the #1 cpu?

    Enviado desde mi 2PS64 mediante Tapatalk
     
  19. fellix

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3,515
    Likes Received:
    441
    Location:
    Varna, Bulgaria
    BSD team discovered a new hardware issue with Ryzen
    https://svnweb.freebsd.org/base?view=revision&revision=321899
     
    pharma and Lightman like this.
  20. CarstenS

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    5,101
    Likes Received:
    2,571
    Location:
    Germany
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...