AMD: R8xx Speculation

Discussion in 'Architecture and Products' started by Shtal, Jul 19, 2008.

?

How soon will Nvidia respond with GT300 to upcoming ATI-RV870 lineup GPUs

Poll closed Oct 14, 2009.
  1. Within 1 or 2 weeks

    1 vote(s)
    0.6%
  2. Within a month

    5 vote(s)
    3.2%
  3. Within couple months

    28 vote(s)
    18.1%
  4. Very late this year

    52 vote(s)
    33.5%
  5. Not until next year

    69 vote(s)
    44.5%
  1. Tchock

    Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    PVG
    Soviet Russia must be part of the islands in the northwest then! :eek:



    Anyway, nVidia should have a big revamp of their arch ready by 11 that should upset all current reasonable extrapolations. Not saying it's better, but marketing wise it should be radically new. :grin:
     
  2. Shtal

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    3
    http://translate.google.com/transla...c/hard/79861.htm&hl=en&ie=UTF8&sl=zh-CN&tl=en


    1 year from now - huh!

    EDIT: RV870 at 40nm will have more transistors then 55nm-RV770; it should be 2x performance!
     
    #122 Shtal, Aug 18, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 18, 2008
  3. entity279

    Veteran Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,229
    Likes Received:
    422
    Location:
    Romania
    So then there will be a rv770 refresh? Seems likely...
     
  4. mboeller

    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    922
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Germany

    Depends on the availability of the 45/40nm Process for GPUs. If the process is only available in spring 2009 then imho it would be foulish to release a refresh of the DX10.1 RV770 only to release a DX11 RV870 a few weeks later.
     
  5. Blazkowicz

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Messages:
    5,607
    Likes Received:
    256
    I don't think they will call it 5800 series for some reason :lol:
     
  6. MfA

    MfA
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    6,807
    Likes Received:
    473
    What's the pad pitch nowadays for flip-chip? 100 microns or so? That's 100 pads per mm2 if they really want to. It's more of an economic question than anything else.
     
  7. Shtal

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    3
    Why! ---->possibly? More detail please....
     
    #127 Shtal, Aug 19, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 19, 2008
  8. Tchock

    Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    PVG
    He's taking wild stabs? :grin:

    I'm still only seeing RV740 for Q1's 40nm.
     
  9. w0mbat

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    5
    U have to look closer. Everyone talks about RV740 but no one knows whats behind it. So, in ur opinion, what is RV740 really?

    And, RV870 codename is not Little Dragon!
     
  10. Arun

    Arun Unknown.
    Moderator Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Messages:
    5,023
    Likes Received:
    299
    Location:
    UK
    Assuming all of those chips exist and are on 55nm, this would be the most logical roadmap would be:
    RV770: 256-bit GDDR5, 16 ROPs, 40 TMUs, 800 SPs
    RV740: 192-bit GDDR3, 12 ROPs, 24 TMUs, 480 SPs
    RV730: 128-bit GDDR3, 8 ROPs, 16 TMUs, 320 SPs
    RV710: 64-bit GDDR3, 4 ROPs, 8 TMUs, 120 SPs
    Of course, that's not a given.
     
  11. w0mbat

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    5
    That sound logical, but imho it would be a bit of an "overkill" for a single lineup. Maybe rv740 is more of a rv8xx chip w/ a rv7xx codename.
     
  12. AnarchX

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    34
    RV740, I thought was supposed to be RV730 @ 40nm and likely GDDR5 for the time-frame. AMDs small "test chip" for the new process.

    Fuad gave today some performance numbers, which sound like taken from an AMD slide:
    http://www.fudzilla.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=9043&Itemid=65
    I do not think this would be possible with 64-Bit.
     
  13. homerdog

    homerdog donator of the year
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6,153
    Likes Received:
    928
    Location:
    still camping with a mauler
    This was the impression I had as well, although I like Arun's chip better :lol:
     
  14. aca

    aca
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Delft, The Netherlands
    Judging from history, 192-bit busses do not seem to be that popular. Otherwise we would have seen at least one or two by now. :smile:
     
  15. INKster

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,110
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Io, lava pit number 12
    Geforce 8800 GS/9600 GSO ?
     
  16. fellix

    fellix Hey, You!
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3,490
    Likes Received:
    400
    Location:
    Varna, Bulgaria
    You mean, the Voodoo2 was a flash check-point moment throughout the history? :razz:
     
  17. Wirmish

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Multi-GPU

    Concept -> 1 master chip and up to 4 slave chips.

    The master chip is like a normal GPU... but with 4 SidePorts.
    These SidePorts use the Rambus FlexIO Interface:
    · Rambus FlexIO is capable of running from 400 MHz to 8 GHz.
    · Contains only 12 lanes (5 lanes are inbound, 7 outbound)
    · Theoretical peak I/O bandwidth of 76.8 GB @ 8 GHz (44.8GB out, 32GB in)
    · Total bandwidth: 76.8GB/s x 5 SIMD Core (1 internal + 4 "slave chips") = 384GB/s

    Q. Why use Rambus FlexIO Interface ?
    A. Because AMD can use it (Rambus Signs Patent License Agreement with AMD) and because it's realy fast :

    A picture is worth a thousand words -> HD 5870 Concept
    And this is the cards for the other market segments -> HD 5000 Series

    A slave chip, or SIMD Core, is made of 8 blocs, for a total of 640 SP (128 SP 4D+1) and 16 TMUs -> picture

    HD 5450 -> 640 SP + 16 TMUs (1 master chip)
    HD 5650 -> 1280 SP + 32 TMUs (1 master chip + 1 slave)
    HD 5670 -> 1920 SP + 48 TMUs (1 master chip + 2 slaves)
    HD 5850 -> 2560 SP + 64 TMUs (1 master chip + 3 slaves)
    HD 5870 -> 3200 SP + 80 TMUs (1 master chip + 4 slaves)


    [​IMG]
    · Need only 2 chips (master/slave) to create a complete series of graphic cards.
    · The slave chip is an exact copy of the "SP/TMUs" part of the master chip.
    So when you create the master chip, you also create 95% of the slave chip.
    · Less time/money needed to create a new series -> 9 month product cycle instead of 12 months.
    · Very small chips -> very good yields -> very good price.
    · Shared memory architecture ! :razz:

    [​IMG]
    · The highest memory bandwidth hogs are the ROPs and the Level 2 texture caches, so ATI has physically placed these units next to the memory controllers and used a thousand or so traces to connect them. So, for now, it's impossible to put the RBEs inside the slave chips. Thus, the master chip has to contain enough RBEs for the HD 5870... but this high number of RBEs will be overkill for the HD 54xx/56xx. This is perhaps the major problem with this design.

    NOTE: I know that there is a RBE in the first image but I'm too lazy to remove it.
     
    #137 Wirmish, Aug 25, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 25, 2008
  18. bowman

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wouldn't it be impossible to get real-time parallelisation from multiple chips? Bringing Crossfire and its multiple niggles down into the mainstream? Hmmm. Skeptical.
     
  19. CJ

    CJ
    Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Messages:
    816
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    MSI Europe HQ
    VR-Zone says RV730 has 32 TMUs. Also Fudzilla came back to his previous statement about RV710 having 120 SPs. Fudo apparently misread something and now it supposedly has 80 SPs instead...
     
  20. CarstenS

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    4,798
    Likes Received:
    2,056
    Location:
    Germany
    I'd rather believe Aruns Speculations on this matter than Fudos or VR-Zones "confimations". ;)
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...