[360, PS3] Crysis 2

Discussion in 'Console Gaming' started by ultragpu, Jun 1, 2009.

  1. Neb

    Neb Iron "BEAST" Man
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,391
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    NGC2264
    You got an ancient PC? Else an 8800GT 512MB and a simple desktop Core2Duo will grant you 30fps at 1920x1080 in PC demo at low settings which is comparable to 360 demo (actually the DOF res, edge AA is better and maybe more). Thats not even a high-end PC from 2006 era. But if you prefer PS3 version that fine, just saying.
     
  2. corduroygt

    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    What would be the max/avg/min framerates on such a PC?

    I'm not saying the PS3 version is going to be awesome, because it's apparent from all the no-shows from Crytek that it won't, but I wouldn't trust anything Arthur Gies says on that article on IGN: http://news.teamxbox.com/xbox/21517/TeamXbox-Welcomes-News-and-Features-Editor-Arthur-Gies/
     
  3. Prophecy2k

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,467
    Likes Received:
    377
    Location:
    The land that time forgot
    The thing is, i simply can't play a game on PC without forcing max settings on everything. I'm one of those obsessive compulsive people that can't stand knowing that a game can be played on my platform better than i'm currently running it. I hate compromising shadow quality, AA, AF, texture quality etc just to get a game to run at a decent framerate, and i refuse to go out and spend another £1000 to upgrade my rig just to max C2 out.

    If i have to compromise and play C2 at compromised specs, i'd rather do it on my PS3 where i know i'm playing the very best version available on that platform.

    I know that might sound rediculous but hey everyone's free to like what they like. Each to their own ;-)
     
  4. Rangers

    Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    12,332
    Likes Received:
    1,126
    So wait, because Arthuir Gies was once a teamxbox editor, he automatically cant be trusted for multiplatform impressions? :roll:

    I dont trust IGN either, but for legit reasons like the fact they're wrong so often, and they are a bunch of editors who dont have a high level of technology knowledge...
     
  5. joker454

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,819
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    So. Cal.
    Well, contrary to popular forum believe the ps3 vesions of games can't always be expected to always keep up with the 360 versions given the ps3's older hardware, more limited ram setup and higher bottlenecks list. If they can keep both versions fairly close then that's really impressive in my mind.


    Lol I'm actually the same way, I can't stand the thought of unchecking a graphical feature on a PC game, although I have had to do that selectively sometimes on the ones that really impact performance. Sometimes you can downgrade just one setting, like shadows for example, and get a huge boost in performance depending on your hardware.


    It should be noted that the "Sony sent a team over" PR blurb, at least in the past, meant they sent a single Sony dev over just to see if there were glaring things being done wrong. Of course even after having done so it doesn't mean that anything was actually found to have been wrong but it still sound good, pr wise, to say "Sony sent a team over". Recommended coding practices are pretty bog standard nowayds on ps3, it's really not a mystery to anyone as to what to do and not do on that machine. Likewise I'm fairly sure the Crytek boys know their way around the limits of Nvidia 7 cards.




    I think the moral of the story, which I guess shouldn't really be surprising, is never believe a single word that pr spews out at anytime on any game, ever.
     
  6. dragonelite

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,556
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    netherlands
  7. corduroygt

    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    There's a link to his twitter and frankly he comes off as someone biased against the PS3, hating on the free high quality PS3 Netflix, etc. And yes, being an editor at teamxbox right before working for IGN screams bias.

    I am not saying PS3 version is going to be better, but I doubt it's going to be as bad as he says.
     
  8. Rangers

    Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    12,332
    Likes Received:
    1,126
    Then I guess all IGN is bias because their lead editor wrote this... http://www.ign.com/blogs/Hil-IGN/2010/12/30/why-i-switched-to-ps3/

    But anyways yeah I dont trust Gies impressions either. Though it might turn out to be true.

    I know, seems a bunch of people got tired of Killzone 3 or something suddenly
     
    #1968 Rangers, Mar 3, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 3, 2011
  9. corduroygt

    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wouldn't trust that guy's objectiveness either. They have to have extremists from both sides to make it balanced :)

    Have you ever played Killzone 2 or 3 MP for extended amounts of time? Even without 3D, they are extremely tiring on the eyes, seriously they are the only games where you should take the disclaimers about health risks in the beginning seriously. That's why people say "I got killzowned", it means the game owned you.
     
  10. Antan

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    912
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    So the pendulum swings back the other way maybe? Some comforting quotes for the PS3 only crowd.
     
  11. L. Scofield

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,559
    Likes Received:
    323
    How much help did they receive from Sony? Did they "save" the project or was it just a few tips?
     
  12. kagemaru

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Ohio
    Didn't Crytek hire people with experience on the PS3 (outside of FR)? I looked at Gamasutra since that's where I thought I found the news years ago, but no luck.

    If they did hire people to help with PS3 development and Sony sent a tech out to help, I wonder why they would still be having issues.:???:

    I think some context is needed to gauge what they mean by finding ps3 development "easy". When I read that, I thought they were saying PS3 development was easy compared to the nightmare they expected.

    Also I don't think it means anything when Sony sends a tech or team to help with a game.
     
  13. Ruskie

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    1
    Of course they hired console programmers,they had to have quite a résumé.Isn't Fran working at Crytek?
    I don't think Crytek is solely here to blame.I mean,we still haven't seen retail SP versions of game so we are just blabbing with nothing in our hands.
    As Laa-Yosh and Joker said,we are just forgetting how ancient those consoles are and how limited they are on ram,and that plays the biggest part in Crytek games.I do remember them saying they could do Crysis 1 on consoles if it wasn't for the limiting factor of ram.
     
  14. kagemaru

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Ohio
    I meant people with experience writing code for Cell, not just console programmers. :razz:
     
  15. pjbliverpool

    pjbliverpool B3D Scallywag
    Legend

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Messages:
    7,583
    Likes Received:
    703
    Location:
    Guess...
    Pretty high for all 3 I would think, at least at consoles settings.

    Regardless, the original post was with regards to the original Crysis, not the apparently consolised sequel.

    To be fair though, even when the original launched you'd have had to be running a pretty crap PC to hit 10fps at 1024x720. I was rocking along at high settings on my GTS640 at around 25fps on high at 720p.
     
  16. (((interference)))

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,498
    Likes Received:
    70
    It doesn't help that you can't even try out the PC demo to know if your machine can run it or not thanks to their account servers being down (for 2 days now) - really its quite pathethic to see this from a AAA dev (and lets not bring up the 360 'beta' that was easily the most unstable piece of software I've ever encountered on a console)
     
  17. N_B

    N_B
    Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Within the past 2 days or so the account servers have been up, it was only for like a day that it was broken.
     
  18. Prophecy2k

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,467
    Likes Received:
    377
    Location:
    The land that time forgot
    "Beta" being the operative word... No use complaining about a beta being unstable. By definition it's unfinished code so that's not a fair criticism against the devs. Again the beta was most likely used to load test their MP servers, so how stable or not the code is isn't really relevant to the purpose of the beta.

    Besides, no AAA dev this gen even comes close to the crap that Bioware pulled with Dragon Age 1 on PC. I still can play my save file because of that sh@tty DLC authorisation bug. I waited a year for a patch that did nothing to rectify the issue, then ended up having to buy the game on PS3 just to get through it (bought it used in protest - Bioware weren't getting another flipping dime from me). I'm never touching another bioware game on PC.

    At least Crysis 1 was relatively well supported by Crytek, and i don't expect them to skimp on that with C2 ;-)
     
  19. czekon

    Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    741
    Likes Received:
    6
    Didnt have problems to logg in from day 1 and im playing mp demo every day . And i have no clue what you mean by most unstable piece of software in regards to x360 no single crash, freeze or connection issues so far.
     
  20. NotTarts

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have to say, I'm just really impressed by the 360 MP demo. The graphics seem really sharp and detailed (on my TV, anyway), and some areas just look phenomenal. I'm eager to see how the PS3 demo stacks up.

    EDIT: Had a really nice firefight between the 2 teams of Pier 17 - with one on the balcony of the building (facing out into they quay) and the other in/on the crashed ferry. Was really awesome, but then I was stealth-killed from behind :(
     
    #1980 NotTarts, Mar 4, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 4, 2011
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...