Nvidia Turing Architecture [2018]

Discussion in 'Architecture and Products' started by pharma, Sep 13, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Alexko

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    4,489
    Likes Received:
    907
    This one happens to be ambiguous, though, as it can simply mean "in practice".
     
    egoless, DavidGraham and pharma like this.
  2. BRiT

    BRiT (╯°□°)╯
    Moderator Legend Alpha Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    12,273
    Likes Received:
    8,468
    Location:
    Cleveland
    Perhaps, but in no way does it mean "DOUBLE CONFIRMS". That is a leap too far.
     
    homerdog, Silent_Buddha and Alexko like this.
  3. DavidGraham

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,717
    Likes Received:
    2,454
    It does, when it's mentioned twice in different expressions. This is literally what double confirms means. In fact it's thrice not twice, if we add the developers statement into the mix.

    Are we arguing semantics now instead of technical statements or screenshots comparisons?
     
  4. BRiT

    BRiT (╯°□°)╯
    Moderator Legend Alpha Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    12,273
    Likes Received:
    8,468
    Location:
    Cleveland
    Where are the technical statements and screenshots comparison? All I've seen is parsing of subjective words to mean what each person wants them to mean.
     
    Silent_Buddha and Picao84 like this.
  5. DavidGraham

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,717
    Likes Received:
    2,454
    Exactly, there is none. All we have is the developers word and the reviewer denying there is any difference. Again, if there was a difference he would shown it in screenshots. The burden of proof falls on the shoulders of those claiming there is a difference, and not the other way around.
     
    A1xLLcqAgt0qc2RyMz0y likes this.
  6. BRiT

    BRiT (╯°□°)╯
    Moderator Legend Alpha Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    12,273
    Likes Received:
    8,468
    Location:
    Cleveland
    There needs to be a deep-dive into the tech, to see what the corner cases are for each setting. I'm guessing it'll be a while before that happens because of the holidays. Sigh

    It doesn't make any sense to have different settings if there is no difference in all situations. This shouldn't be a placebo setting.
     
  7. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,883
    Likes Received:
    1,585
    It is somewhat ambiguous. Are the reviewers referring to "graphical" or FPS deltas when trying the different settings?
    Most of the Adaptive Shading reviews do notice slight FPS differences indicated in charts but do not show screenshots of any graphical differences.

    Shame they did not explicitly produce screenshots of any graphical artifacts. Where is Ryan when you need him?
     
    BRiT likes this.
  8. jlippo

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,310
    Likes Received:
    405
    Location:
    Finland

    Here is small video with artifacts when too aggressive setting is used.
     
    Silent_Buddha, milk and BRiT like this.
  9. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,142
    Likes Received:
    1,830
    Location:
    Finland
    And some reviewers said there's "practically no difference" :lol2:
    I prefer my walls not to have crawling paint :runaway:
     
    Silent_Buddha and Tarkin1977 like this.
  10. Bludd

    Bludd Experiencing A Significant Gravitas Shortfall
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    3,163
    Likes Received:
    737
    Location:
    Funny, It Worked Last Time...
    I hate Moiré-like artifacts, makes my skin crawl along with that paint.
     
  11. jlippo

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,310
    Likes Received:
    405
    Location:
    Finland
    It certainly needs to be applied to right part of the pipeline or adjust shaders accordingly. (Adjust mipmaps etc.)

    It might be great for areas with heavy DoF or fast moving objects.
     
    AlBran, milk and Kaotik like this.
  12. DavidGraham

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,717
    Likes Received:
    2,454
    https://www.hardwareluxx.de/index.p...mmt-unterstuetzung-fuer-adaptive-shading.html

    Though they didn't mention at which settings that specific artifact occurs. The Adaptive Shading can go even lower than the "Balanced" preset.
     
  13. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,883
    Likes Received:
    1,585
    True, that type artifact could be the preset difference between "Balanced", "Performance" and "Quality".
    It would be interesting to see what all three presets looks like on the same spot since there is hardly any difference in FPS.

    Edit: This feature would be similar to any Control Panel options that offers various presets beyond the default setting. An example is texture filtering offering High Quality, Quality, Performance and High Performance presets with Quality as the default setting .
     
    #193 pharma, Nov 26, 2018
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2018
    milk and BRiT like this.
  14. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,142
    Likes Received:
    1,830
    Location:
    Finland
    It seems to be really pretty steady performance increase from off to quality to balanced to performance, even if it's small (some 5-7 FPS from off to performance))

    edit: removed extra word
     
    #194 Kaotik, Nov 26, 2018
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2018
    pharma likes this.
  15. Digidi

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2015
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    95
    Intresting, but What does it means ?

     
  16. DavidGraham

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,717
    Likes Received:
    2,454
    Lightman, pharma and iMacmatician like this.
  17. iMacmatician

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    766
    Likes Received:
    200
    Only 12 GB?

    I expected a Turing TITAN to have more memory, especially since the TITAN line has had 12 GB since 2015 (except for the TITAN Z and the TITAN V CEO Edition) and high end GeForce GPUs have gotten memory increases since then.
     
    #197 iMacmatician, Dec 1, 2018
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2018
    pharma likes this.
  18. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,142
    Likes Received:
    1,830
    Location:
    Finland
    Is there 16 Gb GDDR6-modules available? Since you can't do over 12 GB with 8 Gb modules on 384-bit GDDR6 (at least I'm assuming that splitting it to 2x 16-bit channels to begin with means you can't do clamshell mode anymore)
     
  19. Voxilla

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    708
    Likes Received:
    279
    DavidGraham likes this.
  20. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,142
    Likes Received:
    1,830
    Location:
    Finland
    Wasn't Titan Pascal cheaper than 2080 Ti is? :lol:
     
    AlBran and Alexko like this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...