Microsoft XBOX (XBox One X / Project Scorpio) - Prerelease News and Rumours

Discussion in 'Console Industry' started by MrFox, Mar 27, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cyan

    Cyan orange
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    8,776
    Likes Received:
    2,423
    60 fps in most games would be a dream come true on consoles. I am sure though that the users of 1080p displays are in luck and will run their games at 60 fps on Scorpio.

    It is that aspect that I think matters to most. Internet speeds, Game mode on our TV's, Ping etc etc can create either advantages or disadvantages. It is going to be a good source of analysis seeing how games featuring unlocked frame rates on the XB1 games compare to the Scorpio version.

    Not sure of many multiplayer games running closer to 30fps rather than to 60fps but it is entirely possible we will see a bigger difference than Battlefield 1 on PS4 Pro and PS4. The game isn't so much different but alas I think more people would be vocal and upset if future games were capped at several levels even if this means a smoother experiencing for Xbox One users.
     
  2. Cyan

    Cyan orange
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    8,776
    Likes Received:
    2,423
  3. Rangers

    Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    12,438
    Likes Received:
    1,235
    [​IMG]


    New Scorpio chip pic from twitter.

    Maybe somebody can estimate the size, is about the only usefulness. Other than it looks clean and compact.
     
  4. Cyan

    Cyan orange
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    8,776
    Likes Received:
    2,423
    looks stylish. I expected a larger chip. You can use Twitter directly now on the cinema like icon at the top:

     
    Rangers, RancidLunchmeat and BRiT like this.
  5. Jay

    Jay
    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,170
    Likes Received:
    1,277
    what's the size of his thumb?
    i can't think of a time i thought to myself, that chip looks messy. But yea, shinny

    thought the chip had Scorpio engine on it, probably misremembering, it's just called that
     
  6. TheAlSpark

    TheAlSpark Moderator
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    21,035
    Likes Received:
    6,280
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    Is the pinhole for a key ring?
     
    Silent_Buddha likes this.
  7. RancidLunchmeat

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    3,059
    Likes Received:
    642
    Location:
    In your closet
    Take that, Sony!

    Xbox chip has an Xbox logo on it! There's no PS logo on your chip!
     
  8. Shifty Geezer

    Shifty Geezer uber-Troll!
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    41,714
    Likes Received:
    12,777
    Location:
    Under my bridge
    Sony has PlayStation screws.

    [​IMG]

    That's way cooler and more impressive than a logo printed on a die. If MS are really cooler then Sony, they'll have laid out the die in the shape of an X and we'll see that in the XRay of the processor when it leaks. :yep2:
     
    Cyan, DSoup, Jay and 2 others like this.
  9. Jay

    Jay
    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,170
    Likes Received:
    1,277
    there's a master chief in every X1S, keeping them safe.
    [​IMG]
     
    Cyan, DSoup, Globalisateur and 6 others like this.
  10. AzBat

    AzBat Agent of the Bat
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Messages:
    6,121
    Likes Received:
    1,976
    Location:
    Alma, AR
    I always knew they tried to screw their fans. ;)

    Tommy McClain
     
    Cyan and RootKit like this.
  11. iroboto

    iroboto Daft Funk
    Legend Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Messages:
    8,788
    Likes Received:
    7,283
    Rofl this thread
     
    RancidLunchmeat and AzBat like this.
  12. iroboto

    iroboto Daft Funk
    Legend Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Messages:
    8,788
    Likes Received:
    7,283


    So 90 minutes still. Interesting, I would have thought they would have tried to push it to 2 hrs. I guess they will blast through Scorpio then.
     
  13. BRiT

    BRiT (╯°□°)╯
    Moderator Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    13,578
    Likes Received:
    10,524
    Location:
    Cleveland
  14. Arnold Beckenbauer

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,416
    Likes Received:
    350
    Location:
    Germany
  15. fehu

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,543
    Likes Received:
    502
    Location:
    Somewhere over the ocean
    $499.99 confirmed!

     
  16. BRiT

    BRiT (╯°□°)╯
    Moderator Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    13,578
    Likes Received:
    10,524
    Location:
    Cleveland
    Not confirmed at all.
     
    RootKit, chris1515 and AzBat like this.
  17. mpg1

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Messages:
    1,783
    Likes Received:
    1,352
    Developers will now have access to 9GB of GDDR5 for games:



    Additional tweet: if all 9GB is not used for games then will be used as cache for quicker load times.



    So it seems that no matter what the OS will only use 3GB now...
     
    #677 mpg1, Jun 8, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 8, 2017
  18. Jay

    Jay
    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,170
    Likes Received:
    1,277
    doesn't read like that to me but you could be right.
    to me it sounds like for example, if game uses 7gb then would be 2gb of ram drive.

    do hope this doesn't limit the os to much. Overall system performance is important, but you would think they would take that into consideration
     
  19. mpg1

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Messages:
    1,783
    Likes Received:
    1,352
    Yup, I reworded my post.
     
  20. Rangers

    Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    12,438
    Likes Received:
    1,235
    Makes sense to bring it in line with the 5/3 split of the OG XBO. Asymmetrical OS RAM between the platforms wouldn't make sense.

    This is nice though just that in the theory of if PS4/Pro/XBO dedicated every last drop of RAM to games and none to OS (which we know will never come close to happening) they still couldn't catch Scorpio.

    Uhh, 3GB seems enough, way more than enough!

    Also noticed another tweet seen on Neogaf from a Xbox (maybe Spencer or Greenberg) on twitter that you should expect the show to run longer than the typical 90 minutes this year.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...