Image Quality and Framebuffer Analysis for Available/release build Games *Read the first post*

Discussion in 'Console Technology' started by Farid, Nov 7, 2008.

  1. Versatil

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Montreal
    Anyone checked the rendering resolution of NBA 2k10? And what about the previous ones?
     
  2. Versatil

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Montreal
    And what about GT5? Same as the Prologue (1280x1080 2xAA)?

    (Sorry for the double post, cannot find the edit function)
     
  3. thambos

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    are there any GT5 screenshots? (actual gameplay, not replay) all i've seen is compressed video.
     
  4. TheAlSpark

    TheAlSpark Moderator
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    21,741
    Likes Received:
    7,414
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    Since when was GT5 considered a released game.
     
  5. N_B

    N_B
    Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Any idea about Borderlands? From what videos I've seen it looks similar to what they did with Brothers in Arms: Hell's Highway (No AA, but with a ton of depth of field to cover it up).
     
  6. Kasersky

    Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    depth of field dont work if they're deliberately tracing the edges with dark black.

    but ya no AA and much increased DOF when aiming.
     
    #586 Kasersky, Oct 21, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 21, 2009
  7. acm2000

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    out of interest, forza 3 is 720p/2xAA, but what sort of filtering are they using, its quite distracting sometimes, bi-linear? tri-linear? etc
     
  8. TheAlSpark

    TheAlSpark Moderator
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    21,741
    Likes Received:
    7,414
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    It's a bilinear with negative LOD bias.
     
  9. acm2000

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks, wouldve been nice for something a bit smoother, but you dont notice it at high speed
     
  10. Kasersky

    Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
  11. SG79

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    0

    What game would that be? The link goes to the main page. If it's on R&C, the game is out and looks quite a bit better than its predecessors and the frame rate is more stable with more effects on screen. Surprisingly, they didn't skimp on the water this time around.
     
    #591 SG79, Oct 29, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 29, 2009
  12. TheAlSpark

    TheAlSpark Moderator
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    21,741
    Likes Received:
    7,414
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    Vertical res is definitely 704. Checking horizontal, but I'm not expecting any difference from previous games...


    edit: 960x704, same AA method.
     
  13. Squilliam

    Squilliam Beyond3d isn't defined yet
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,495
    Likes Received:
    114
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Which game Al?
     
  14. TheAlSpark

    TheAlSpark Moderator
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    21,741
    Likes Received:
    7,414
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    Ratchet and Clank Future: A Crank in Time. :)

    Edit: *Crack* :oops:
     
  15. COPS N RAPPERS

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    32

    hmmmmm, yeah, that pretty much confirms it, the resolution looks much the same as the first game. most console games that use the same engine for sequels never seem to improve resolution anyways. the COD series has been the same for quite some time now, and halo3 ODST is the same too.

    as for R&C the newest one it's probably cause of the amount objects and special effects going on, the framerate of the game is quite stable though.

    with a resolution like that you can expect the developers to make improvements better elsewhere in the next R&C game after this one, such as further expanding the environments.
     
  16. corduroygt

    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Checked the screenshots from Borderlands on Head2Head, and I don't think SSAO was worth the vastly decreased texture detail on the 360. Texture detail is much more noticable compared to SSAO, and if the devs couldn't find a way to maintain the same texture detail while adding SSAO, they should've just ditched it instead of lowering the textures.

    See it and decide for yourself, which tradeoff do you prefer? I certainly prefer the higher texture detail.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  17. Alucardx23

    Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    67
    The textures might be lower quality on 360 not because of the other effects but because DVD space limitation.
     
  18. Dr. Nick

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2005
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    1
    I kind of agree. They might have chosen SSAO to hide lower res textures. The reason I think so is because I can think of a few games that would benefit from it but this game never came to mind.
     
    #598 Dr. Nick, Oct 30, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 30, 2009
  19. TheAlSpark

    TheAlSpark Moderator
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    21,741
    Likes Received:
    7,414
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    SSAO is a computational issue, not a memory one. If they wanted to hide lower resolution textures, they would use a detail texture blended with the existing textures...

    edit:

    gah, add "texture sampling" to SSAO issue
     
  20. Alucardx23

    Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    67
    Yeah, I think that 360 would support SSAO regardless of texture quality. It’s not in the PS3 because the current version of Unreal Engine for it does not support SSAO.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...