Current Generation Games Analysis Technical Discussion [2020-2021] [XBSX|S, PS5, PC]

Discussion in 'Console Technology' started by Shortbread, Nov 21, 2020.

  1. BRiT

    BRiT (>• •)>⌐■-■ (⌐■-■)
    Moderator Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    18,768
    Likes Received:
    21,044
    Yes.

    That was clearly stated in the post with the words "- The game runs in backward compatibility mode. "
     
  2. techuse

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    420


    VGTech covers Division 2. PS5 typical resolution much lower.

    PS5 - 2400x1350 - 1920x1080 typical range
    XSX - 3840x2160 - 3200x1800 typical range
     
    PSman1700 and pjbliverpool like this.
  3. Shortbread

    Shortbread Island Hopper
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    Messages:
    5,177
    Likes Received:
    4,156
    It seems XBSX has a higher resolution and SSR and PS5 is locked at 60FPS. In my opinion, both are terrible patched backwards compatibility games.
     
    #463 Shortbread, Feb 6, 2021
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2021
    mr magoo, Tkumpathenurpahl and BRiT like this.
  4. Karamazov

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    3,723
    Likes Received:
    3,649
    Location:
    France
    SSR is present on PS4 pro, i'll wait for a patch before even trying it on ps5
     
  5. goonergaz

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    4,186
    Likes Received:
    1,502
    Not just the loading, it’s a poor BC title, why is the resolution capped at pro level? Etc

    As stated, this is just running in BC mode - ie nothing was done
     
  6. Allandor

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    520
    Well the gpu is at least not downclocked to ps4 pro level. And it seems the max resolution is normally not reached, so uncapping res just does not make sense.
    The other thing I still assume is, that the bc mode is still limited to ps4 pros amount of memory. This would also explain why the res is not really higher than on the pro.
     
    PSman1700 and BRiT like this.
  7. Globalisateur

    Globalisateur Globby
    Veteran Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    4,107
    Likes Received:
    3,027
    Location:
    France
    When it's running via BC the CPU and GPU can be downclocked compared to PS5 clocks. We have already seen this with AC Unity where the GPU (but not the CPU) was most likely running at Pro clocks. They can do that if they (Sony) think it's the only way to make it run correctly.
     
    #467 Globalisateur, Feb 6, 2021
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2021
  8. Allandor

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    520
    It is still running at 60 so no ps4 pro clocks there. The gpu has at least twice the work here because of 30 vs 60 fps. If the gpu would use pro clocks, it just couldn't run at 60.
     
    #468 Allandor, Feb 6, 2021
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2021
    PSman1700 likes this.
  9. turkey

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    Messages:
    1,094
    Likes Received:
    875
    Location:
    London
    Who knows what logic the game has to execute whilst loading, possible single thread stuff that's not ideal but originally with the slow HDD this was never going to be an issue. Thus the slow load is not an IO delay but a CPU one. As all the systems basically have the same CPU it would explain the times more than IO.

    Microsoft advertise Control ultimate edition as Series optimised. Would BC games have access to the raytracing hardware given its in emulated GCN?

    Have I some how got confused on the game in question?
     
    PSman1700 likes this.
  10. Globalisateur

    Globalisateur Globby
    Veteran Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    4,107
    Likes Received:
    3,027
    Location:
    France
    But at a much lower resolution and the game could run at 60fps on Pro if the game had a Zen 2 CPU (like XSS running at 60fps in most next gen games with a 4tf GPU). AC Unity is also usually running at 60fps on PS5, because the game is mostly CPU limited. Also from the github data we know the GPU clocks in BC mode can actually have specific values between the min and max.
     
    RagnarokFF and snc like this.
  11. goonergaz

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    4,186
    Likes Received:
    1,502
    Yes, I was talking about Division 2
     
    turkey likes this.
  12. Allandor

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    520
    ???
    Why do you think the ps4 pro could run the game at 60 with up to 4k res? That is just not possible with those settings. 60 fps means double calculation performance needed for cpu and gpu. Ps5 has around 2.x times the power of ps4 pro. So there is not really much that can be done for the res. I really don't know what wonders you expect from the hardware. The ps4 pro could do 60fps with a zen2 cpu if the res would be lowered, yes but not at the dynamic res it uses now.


    Also, the patch was made for the ps5 so they will just use as much as possible.
     
    PSman1700 likes this.
  13. Globalisateur

    Globalisateur Globby
    Veteran Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    4,107
    Likes Received:
    3,027
    Location:
    France
    I said at a much lower res in my post.
     
  14. goonergaz

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    4,186
    Likes Received:
    1,502
    Has the stuttering in Control been fixed?
     
  15. iroboto

    iroboto Daft Funk
    Legend Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Messages:
    12,986
    Likes Received:
    15,717
    Location:
    The North
    BC games can only at most access the full hardware and make some changes to the settings.
    At the base of it, BC titles all still run the traditional GCN 2.0 ish ISA. So it will get access to all the CUs and get access to 8 cores and 16 threads if I recall correctly when using Gen9Aware patches but it won't be using optimal instructions. Hmm, it's possible it may get access to those without Gen9Aware actually, just without it no option to change the settings.


    No access to FL12_1+ feature sets if I remember right, so no ray tracing support on BC titles.
     
    PSman1700 likes this.
  16. Allandor

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    520
    Well I tried control yesterday on my pc and the stuttering also occurs there. E.g. before something happens like first time appearing enemies in a room. I'm using the windows store version on my ssd. So it might be something packaging related.
    Like I stated before, the playstation version has always the advantage that the game code must be partially rewritten for the api. So some bugs might even disappear because of this extra step. And some might just appear because of bugs in DirectX.
     
  17. Shortbread

    Shortbread Island Hopper
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    Messages:
    5,177
    Likes Received:
    4,156
    I haven't witnessed any stuttering on the PC edition. But then again, Control is sitting on my NVMe raid.
     
  18. snc

    snc
    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    549
  19. cwjs

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2020
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    342
  20. DSoup

    DSoup meh
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Messages:
    14,870
    Likes Received:
    10,985
    Location:
    London, UK
    Is it? IS IT!?!?!
     
    RagnarokFF, PSman1700, milk and 5 others like this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...