AMD RyZen CPU Architecture for 2017

Discussion in 'PC Industry' started by fellix, Oct 20, 2014.

Tags:
  1. Arnold Beckenbauer

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,454
    Likes Received:
    380
    Location:
    Germany
    Can you tell something about clocks, when you play games like Crysis 3. My A10-9600P (HP15) runs with 1,1GHz/450-480 MHz.

    About your video:
    It looks, like it (Envy x360) uses mXFR (25W TDP).
     
    #2741 Arnold Beckenbauer, Nov 14, 2017
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2017
  2. monstercameron

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    101

    Something isn't right with my system, it crashes all the games I run after a few minutes, sometimes it takes the system with it.
    Re-installing radeon settings RN.
     
  3. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    11,076
    Likes Received:
    5,626
    el etro, Kej, Alexko and 2 others like this.
  4. Bondrewd

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2017
    Messages:
    747
    Likes Received:
    353
    el etro likes this.
  5. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,683
    Likes Received:
    3,757
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
  6. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    17,082
    Likes Received:
    6,418
    Ugh, I really hope AMD can sort out this memory thing. Finally went ahead and upgraded my i5 2500k to a Ryzen 1600x (it's just a stopgap and great bang for the buck for gaming).

    Was excited until I put in my Samsung B-die (G.Skill Flare X 3200) and couldn't get more than 1866 on the memory. Wut? Turns out I can only get 3200 (or more, I haven't messed with it much yet) if I only use 2 sticks of memory. UGH.

    I haven't had a chance to mess with it much (don't have the time), but anyone have potential tips on getting 4 channels of memory to run at higher than 1866? I'm using the Asrock Taichi x370. The next step up just causes it to puke 3 times and then default back to 1866.

    Regards,
    SB
     
  7. kalelovil

    Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    95
    Using the latest motherboard firmware?
    Product number of the modules?
     
  8. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    17,082
    Likes Received:
    6,418
    Yup latest BIOS available for the MB and the modules are G.Skill F4-3200C14D-16GFX. Have it at 3333 with just 2 channels of memory with no tweaking. Just set XMP profile and speed. But with 4 channels of memory it won't go above 1866 without puking. I haven't had time to mess with it.

    Also, which is better for Ryzen? Higher speed or lower timings? I know the infinity fabric works better with higher speed, but is there a point of diminishing returns where lower timings is better?

    Regards,
    SB
     
  9. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,683
    Likes Received:
    3,757
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Around 3200-3466 you want to tweak for lower timings over speed.
     
    Silent_Buddha likes this.
  10. entity279

    Veteran Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    445
    Location:
    Romania
    Return them and swap for double capacity sticks?
     
  11. Dygaza

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    39
    Even before. 2966MHz with tweaked timings is already faster than 3200MHz XMP in some applications.
     
    Lightman likes this.
  12. el etro

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    12
  13. Bondrewd

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2017
    Messages:
    747
    Likes Received:
    353
    That's bretty impressive.

    Now I want to see 2700U in something 13".
     
  14. Gubbi

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    3,587
    Likes Received:
    986
    el etro likes this.
  15. Arnold Beckenbauer

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,454
    Likes Received:
    380
    Location:
    Germany
  16. Alexko

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    4,515
    Likes Received:
    934
    What's boring about it?
     
  17. Arnold Beckenbauer

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,454
    Likes Received:
    380
    Location:
    Germany
    As good as expected. :mrgreen:

    -----------------------------
    Wolfenstein II on Envy with Ryzen 5 2500U
     
    #2758 Arnold Beckenbauer, Nov 28, 2017
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2017
    pharma, Lightman and Alexko like this.
  18. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    3,575
    Likes Received:
    2,294
    Spotted: Ryzen 3 1200 CPU with Eight Active CPU Cores Enabled


    http://www.guru3d.com/news-story/spotted-ryzen-3-1200-cpu-with-eight-active-cpu-cores-enabled.html
     
    Lightman, Grall and Alexko like this.
  19. Grall

    Grall Invisible Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    2,175
    Location:
    La-la land
    Curious...! 8 full cores should be significantly faster than 4 cores/8 threads.

    I wonder how such an abomination of a chip could slip through the QC checks. :p
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...