Alan Wake: Microsoft preparing to leave PC gamers behind (again)

Discussion in 'PC Gaming' started by Richard, Jul 7, 2009.

  1. Andrew Lauritzen

    Moderator Veteran

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,526
    Likes Received:
    454
    Location:
    British Columbia, Canada
    Correct, partially due to not being able to efficiently do the rendering on that platform. It would have to be something like the path that they have for 360 for DX9. Indeed go google some videos of console footage of BF3; it looks fine compared to other console games, but it's not even in the same league as the PC visuals. Not everyone has the resources to write basically 4 renderers (DX11/DX10/360/PS3!), but I think it is one of the very few unique examples where DX11 is actually put to good use. Crysis 2 DX11 is decent, but it definitely still feels tacked-on, whereas BF3 feels designed for DX11 then cleverly ported/scaled-back on other platforms.

    These days whether a title uses DX9/10/11 doesn't necessarily tell you much about it's rendering sophistication, except perhaps if it uses DX9 it can't really be super-modern (use compute and other capabilities).
     
  2. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    14,891
    Likes Received:
    2,309
  3. Grall

    Grall Invisible Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    2,172
    Location:
    La-la land
    Does anyone know if Alan Wake will require that piece of shit games for windows live or whatever it's called this week...?
     
  4. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    14,891
    Likes Received:
    2,309
    ps: the quake 4 cayman bug I posted a fix (appeared to work for me)
    but no one replied as to wether it worked/didnt for them

    In quake4config.cfg

    seta image_downSizeLimit "1024"
    seta image_ignoreHighQuality "0"
    seta image_downSizeBumpLimit "1024"
    seta image_downSizeSpecularLimit "1024"
    seta image_downSizeBump "1"
    seta image_downSizeSpecular "1"
    seta image_useCompression "0"

    there is also
    seta image_downSize "1"
    setting it to zero may turn off texture downsizing completely (no need for the 1024 settings)
     
  5. swaaye

    swaaye Entirely Suboptimal
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,457
    Likes Received:
    580
    Location:
    WI, USA
    I decided to play Q4 on my 560 Ti TVPC instead of screwing with the Radeon any further. This is what I did with Rage too. But it's good to hear that there is a workaround.
     
  6. swaaye

    swaaye Entirely Suboptimal
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,457
    Likes Received:
    580
    Location:
    WI, USA
    Remedy says they are self publishing and it uses Steamworks. I don't know which is more annoying, but I guess if you buy it on Steam, adding in GFWL is indeed annoying.
    HTTP://www.pcgamer.com/2011/12/17/a...ished-by-remedy-will-use-steamworks-not-gfwl/

    Another angle to this is that MS probably still doesn't intend to be a PC gaming supporter. Hence the self publishing thing. For them to self publish makes it feel indie and only possible because of the ease of digital distribution.
     
  7. PowerK

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seoul, Korea
    Exactly. Not a good example of DX11 game, IMO. :)
     
  8. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    16,139
    Likes Received:
    5,074
  9. swaaye

    swaaye Entirely Suboptimal
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,457
    Likes Received:
    580
    Location:
    WI, USA
    You have to remember that 2033 is 2 years old now and was developed on the bleeding edge. It would have been nice to see them improve it over time but that never happens anymore.

    I actually played 2033 on a 8800GTX and a 3870. It was cool to see them use the DX11 feature levels so DX10 and 10.1 cards could do some neat stuff too.

    If you want poor examples of DX11 games, I'd look more towards AVP, Deus Ex, DIRT2/3 and Call of Pripyat. These seemed mostly like cash grabs for people desperate to see their new DX11 cards do something new.
     
  10. PowerK

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seoul, Korea
    Understood, swaaye. :)

    Watching comparison video for Alan Wake X360 vs PC on Youtube.. the difference seems to be significant.
     
  11. fellix

    fellix Hey, You!
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3,489
    Likes Received:
    400
    Location:
    Varna, Bulgaria
    Graphics options menu:

    [​IMG]
     
  12. swaaye

    swaaye Entirely Suboptimal
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,457
    Likes Received:
    580
    Location:
    WI, USA
    I hope there's some plain MSAA in there too somewhere... And that I can turn off FXAA. And maybe force SSAA (or have AAA/TAA work well) . ;)
     
  13. I.S.T.

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,174
    Likes Received:
    389
    I hope there's a refresh rate selector. I'm stuck on a CRT. :(
     
  14. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    16,139
    Likes Received:
    5,074
    I wouldn't say poor examples of Dx11. Poor examples of how to use tesselation in game perhaps.

    Deus Ex 2 used Dx11 more for perf increases as did Dirt 2 I believe. CoP experimented in different ways with shadows done through Dx11 as well as general cases where they could get better perf. through Dx11.

    Certainly not showcases for Dx11 or perhaps even good, but I wouldn't consider them poor. Average at worst, IMO. I'd actually consider Metro 2033 worse as they shacked most of the Dx11 stuff with unreasonably large shadowmaps that didn't have to be tied to Dx11. Then again Metro 2033 as you said is an early title, but I still find it unforgivable that they shacked Dx11 with such a huge performance drain, negating the hope of the vast majority of Dx11 system owners from actually running Dx11 well. If at the time of launch, only the GTX 480 could run it well, and that due ONLY to the shadowmap size, then there's something incredibly wrong with your priorities for Dx11.

    Regards,
    SB
     
  15. PowerK

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seoul, Korea
    There is MSAA option. (2x, 4x, 8x)
    http://forum.alanwake.com/showthread.php?t=7725
     
  16. PowerK

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seoul, Korea
  17. fellix

    fellix Hey, You!
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3,489
    Likes Received:
    400
    Location:
    Varna, Bulgaria
    The mouse controls are very sluggish even at the highest level of sensitivity. It's almost unplayable for me. :(
     
  18. swaaye

    swaaye Entirely Suboptimal
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,457
    Likes Received:
    580
    Location:
    WI, USA
    Uh oh. Does turning off vsync do anything? (like with Dead Space)
     
  19. fellix

    fellix Hey, You!
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3,489
    Likes Received:
    400
    Location:
    Varna, Bulgaria
    No it doesn't.
     
  20. Argoon

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Please can you tell me is that the retail version or the leaked version? I have read that some guys with the leaked version are experience that problem and has i want to buy it i want to know if the retail version also suffer from bad m&k controls, if necessary reply in a PM.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...