Crysis 3

Discussion in 'PC Gaming' started by fellix, Apr 12, 2012.

  1. doob

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    4
    It was present in the open beta phase, so very likely it will in the final product.
     
  2. slapnutz

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    0
    GT review is out. They like the game and dont think the 5-6hr playtime is an issue.

    Sucks that its so short.:sad:
     
  3. Sigfried1977

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005
    Likes Received:
    1,817
    I disagree with this review. Actually I disagree with a single point I'm gonna rip out of context while ignoring all the other complaints. I'm obviously an expert on the game because I've been looking at a lot of screen-shots quite intensely. The review is shite. Ubisoft must've paid off Kotaku to give an EA game a sub-par score. It's also about time I question the reviewer's sexual orientation.
     
  4. RenegadeRocks

    Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Messages:
    10,102
    Likes Received:
    1,095
    has someone found a workaround to get it running on DX10 cards yet?
    Somehow, I still don't feel the urge to play it, have no idea why? considering I am a Crytek fan, its just weird...
     
  5. Alistair

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2002
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cambridge, England
    I'm playing it - it does look that good, to the extent it's taxing my mildly overclocked 5850.

    Gameplay is pretty good if familiar, but they really shouldn't have laboured the plot so much. The writing isn't worth putting that much effort into. I don't know how far in I am, but I can certainly imagine shooting through more than once.

    The best bits are as always, the open areas where you're left to find your own way through.

    And they've removed the visor's stupid HERE IS A SLIDE function, so yay :)
     
  6. Billy Idol

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    6,008
    Likes Received:
    850
    Location:
    Europe
    Looks freaking phantastic on my 670. next gen is here :)
     
  7. Mize

    Mize 3dfx Fan
    Moderator Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    1,149
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio USA
    After the disappointment of Crysis 2, I'm a bit wary of buying into this one at full price. Might go play some heavily modded Crysis1 to appease my itchy purchasing finger... :)
     
  8. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,860
    Likes Received:
    4,038
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    I'll get it when it's sub-$20 on Steam. It's very rare I'll pay full price for a game at release. Skyrim was one such game of course.
     
  9. suryad

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    2,479
    Likes Received:
    16
    I think I am going to do the same as well.
     
  10. Billy Idol

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    6,008
    Likes Received:
    850
    Location:
    Europe
    Switched to very igh settings. Game looks so outstanding...wow! Very High really pushes some new effects compared to High and is fully worth it. Best looking game without a doubt. Can't believe watching my Panasonic TV...best thing on top: game plays great as well. A looker which makes so much fun to play...well done Crytek. I also forgive you the cheap ass (seems to be) 5h length of the campaign...
     
  11. L. Scofield

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,559
    Likes Received:
    323
    Maybe by then there will be mod tools available.
     
  12. swaaye

    swaaye Entirely Suboptimal
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,622
    Likes Received:
    703
    Location:
    WI, USA
    Tell me about the campaign. What is going on in Crysis universe this time and how corridor like is the play.
     
  13. orangpelupa

    orangpelupa Elite Bug Hunter
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    8,528
    Likes Received:
    1,902
    does crysis 3 still support "fake 3d" like in crysis 2?

    its the 3d mode that make things looks 3d but did not have 2x performance drop.

    EDIT:
    does it even works (in comfortable frame rate) on my pathetic Radeon HD 47770 DX10 graphic card? from what i see and read everywhere, Crysis 3 kills performance easily :(

    EDIT2:
    ugh my GPU is lower than the minimum spec
    NVIDIA GeForce GTS 450 or AMD/ATi Radeon HD 5770

    EDIT3:
    Awesome! My PC that more powerful than my LAPTOP wont be able to run Crysis 3 http://www.mycrysis.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=65&t=59524&sid=815415e05bcae33f448e3018bae1b75a

    ugh...

    playing Crysis 3 on my DX11 Radeon M HD5730 laptop will be a nightmare.

    EDIT4:
    is there an app or mod or patch to force the game to run on DX10?

    like those many years ago where there an app to "fake" directx feature allowing game that need T&L or need PS 2.0 works on older cards.
     
    #254 orangpelupa, Feb 22, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 22, 2013
  14. DuckThor Evil

    DuckThor Evil Anas platyrhynchos
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Messages:
    5,881
    Likes Received:
    900
    Location:
    Finland
    Can someone remind me again how Prophet is the character played. I remember him at the very end of Crysis 2, but what actually happened there? What happened to Alcatraz at the end, did Prophet remains in the suit took over or what?
     
  15. orangpelupa

    orangpelupa Elite Bug Hunter
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    8,528
    Likes Received:
    1,902
    spoiler about prophet guy on Crysis 2
    prophet is the crysis guy that died in the early Crysis 2 and changed into an AI inside the nanosuite?
     
    #256 orangpelupa, Feb 22, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 22, 2013
  16. pjbliverpool

    pjbliverpool B3D Scallywag
    Legend

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Messages:
    7,965
    Likes Received:
    1,443
    Location:
    Guess...
    Might wanna put that in spolier tags :wink:

    Regarding the DX11 requirement, I persoanlly think it's great. I've not played the single player yet but from the reports in this thread it sounds like it's worth the legacy sacrafice. It's about time PC games started pushing forward onto moderns technologys, hell we're only about 9 months away from the next generation consoles launch when DX11 will pretty much become mandatory.
     
    #257 pjbliverpool, Feb 22, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 22, 2013
  17. orangpelupa

    orangpelupa Elite Bug Hunter
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    8,528
    Likes Received:
    1,902
    i edited to to spoilered it :D

    i've been looking the worst case step i need to take (buying directx11 gpu) and all of them still expensive. The cheap one is nvidie 460 but its hot, power hungry, and very big (cant fit inside my PC).

    hopefully someone able to force C3 to run on DX10, even if with broken things. Glad i have not clicked BUY on the origin :D

    EDIT:

    about DIRECTX 11 and 10.
    long time ago there "emulator" like this http://www.tommti-systems.de/go.html?http://www.tommti-systems.de/main-Dateien/files.html is there anything like that for DX10 GPU?

    i;ve been googling and cant found it :(
     
    #258 orangpelupa, Feb 22, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 22, 2013
  18. swaaye

    swaaye Entirely Suboptimal
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,622
    Likes Received:
    703
    Location:
    WI, USA
    Just save your money for a GTX 660. It's a small card with excellent performance and power usage. I wouldn't bother with Fermi stuff anymore, especially 1GB cards. Crysis 3 will wait.
     
  19. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    17,233
    Likes Received:
    6,757
    Either that or a 7850. Roughly the same performance and power consumption.

    One thing I'm wondering is that with both of the next gen consoles rumored to feature GCN cores, whether that means we'll see multi-platform games taking better advantage of video cards featuring GCN.

    Without having to worry about any other graphics architectures on consoles, it's quite possible that multi-platform games will be tailored to take advantage of AMD graphics features as well as the compute capabilities of GCN.

    Regards,
    SB
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...