Crysis 2 PC edition OT

Discussion in 'PC Gaming' started by Neb, Mar 24, 2011.

  1. swaaye

    swaaye Entirely Suboptimal
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,567
    Likes Received:
    652
    Location:
    WI, USA
    There are some config tweaks that insanely improve the lighting of the previous games, even if it's still less dynamic.
     
  2. suryad

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    2,479
    Likes Received:
    16
    I have not played C2 yet but I have played C1 and Warhead and with the config tweaks the games look staggeringly beautiful. Still a massive amount of aliasing especially in foliage and so on. I would think C2 would look a lot better. In fact I am such a loser that I have not played or bought C2 yet just because I do not have DX 11 hardware and am waiting to upgrade once Nvidia shows what they have so I can make up my mind between ATI and Nvidia.
     
  3. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    16,987
    Likes Received:
    6,237
    Without the high res texture pack and Dx11 patch, C2 is sometimes only marginally better and some would argue worse visually compared to Warhead with massive tweaking. Once you have the texture pack and Dx11, however, there is absolutely no comparison. C2 looks like a true next gen title at that point with few compromises.

    Regards,
    SB
     
  4. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,727
    Likes Received:
    2,867
    Well I have obeyed the wishes of the gaming gods and it is indeed glorious, it's a shame ive had to disable eyefinity crysis 2 dx11 @5292x1050 is just too much for my gpu.

    ps: how do I delete savegames ? (not all of them)
     
  5. Jedi2016

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,021
    Likes Received:
    0
    I suppose I'm going to have to get this game sometime.

    Question: Should I finish the first game before beginning the second? How closely are the two stories linked?
     
  6. fellix

    fellix Hey, You!
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3,505
    Likes Received:
    424
    Location:
    Varna, Bulgaria
    You don't really need to play the first game, although the story in C2 is linked to the original plot, there are much enough references throughout the game, so you won't be left clueless. Of course, the original Crysis is a world of it's own -- gameplay and environment, and for most of the people it is a more diverse world. Try it.
     
  7. Jedi2016

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,021
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've got the first game, I just never got around to finishing it. FPS isn't my favorite genre, so I only pick the cream of the crop, as it were, and Crysis is... well, it's Crysis.. lol. I just can't sit down and play them for hours on end, so it takes me forever to actually work through one. I've barely started on BF3, and I heard that campaign was pretty short.
     
  8. pjbliverpool

    pjbliverpool B3D Scallywag
    Legend

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Messages:
    7,735
    Likes Received:
    957
    Location:
    Guess...
    Now that I've finished Mafia 2 I have a choice of playing either Assassins Creed Revelations, Lost Planet 2 or Crysis 2. Based on the comments here I guess I want to be holding off playing Crysis 2 until I can enjoy it in its full DX11 glory and since my aging 4890 can only manage DX10, I'll probably play AC for now and save C2 and LP2 until I've upgraded to an NV6xx or ATI 7xxx which will let me max everything out. Hurry up Kepler!!
     
  9. swaaye

    swaaye Entirely Suboptimal
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,567
    Likes Received:
    652
    Location:
    WI, USA
    Will DX11 Crysis2 run on a DX10.1 card or did they straight up require DX11? AVP3 DX11 will run on DX10 cards for example.
     
  10. pjbliverpool

    pjbliverpool B3D Scallywag
    Legend

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Messages:
    7,735
    Likes Received:
    957
    Location:
    Guess...
    Nope the DX11 stuff doesn't work at all. I can set the game to Ultra but it's missing the DX11 elements. It's also way too slow on my 4890 at those settings.
     
  11. swaaye

    swaaye Entirely Suboptimal
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,567
    Likes Received:
    652
    Location:
    WI, USA
    It's a shame that the DX11 feature level fallback stuff went nowhere. I wouldn't buy a new video card until the new consoles come out and we see what DX version they equate to. Crysis 2 isn't worth an upgrade.
     
  12. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    16,987
    Likes Received:
    6,237
    Yes, I'd highly recommend waiting until you have a card capable of running C2 with Dx11 and the high res texture patch. I'm slowly replaying the game now (have other games I haven't yet played that I also want to finish :D) just to enjoy the significantly better graphics.

    Regards,
    SB
     
  13. pjbliverpool

    pjbliverpool B3D Scallywag
    Legend

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Messages:
    7,735
    Likes Received:
    957
    Location:
    Guess...
    Isn't that more for games written in native DX11 being able to run on DX10 level GPU's without the full effects?
     
  14. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    16,987
    Likes Received:
    6,237
    Yes. Basically not having to write seperate Dx10 and Dx11 render paths. You just write a Dx11 render path and in theory you should be able to gracefully fall back to Dx10 or Dx10.1 only features if your card isn't Dx11 capable. I think there's a capability to even fall back to Dx9 level cards. But since many developers still target WinXP you generally still have Dx9 specific render paths.

    Regards,
    SB
     
  15. swaaye

    swaaye Entirely Suboptimal
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,567
    Likes Received:
    652
    Location:
    WI, USA
    It does seem rare to see DX10/10.1 getting serious attention from the fallback paths.
     
  16. Svensk Viking

    Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    113
    I've wondered about that too...When DX11 came I got a little excited when reading that the multithreaded rendering and other minor improvements could be carried over to DX10/10.1 hw
     
  17. fellix

    fellix Hey, You!
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3,505
    Likes Received:
    424
    Location:
    Varna, Bulgaria
    DX11 is what DX10.0 was supposed to be (mostly) right in the beginning, probably sans tessellation. DX11 has that convenience to include a whole hierarchy of compatibility right down to the D3D9 feature level in one API -- suffice you target only Vista or 7. That's why developers see little or no reason to put more resources in building for yet another separate API, like D3D10 or 10.1. Since DX11 has all the top features exposed, why not target the easy catch and just use the feature level to toggle the eye candy off for the older hardware. And since WinXP is still a sizable player, pop a separate DX9c build that usually is the main one. That way a developer has to do only to main builds of the code. DX10 and 10.1 hardware got shunned right in the middle and are simply treated as DX9-level accelerators for both XP and Vista/7.

    /rant
     
  18. suryad

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    2,479
    Likes Received:
    16
    Awesome. I will finish off Revelations in the mean time and keep playing GT5 till I see who reigns supreme in the video card wars and then splurge!
     
  19. I.S.T.

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,174
    Likes Received:
    389
    I can't get that to work for some reason. It annoyed the fuck out of me. I'm running a DX11 capable OS, I have a DX10 card, why the hell can't I get one of the few games to support the fallback feature to work? ;_;
     
  20. Skinner

    Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Messages:
    871
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Zwijndrecht/Rotterdam, Netherlands and Phobos
    I wish they had proper AA and not this post crap.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...