AMD: Zen 2 (Ryzen/Threadripper 3000?, Epyc 8000?) Speculation, Rumours and Discussion

Discussion in 'PC Industry' started by ToTTenTranz, Oct 8, 2018.

Tags:
  1. tunafish

    Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    171
    Lightman likes this.
  2. Alexko

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    4,495
    Likes Received:
    910
    An old fake I must have missed, then, but it may very well be so.
     
  3. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9,961
    Likes Received:
    4,553
    @tunafish is assuming AdoredTV's leaks are fake.
    I don't think we have enough proof to assume they're fake or not.
     
  4. tunafish

    Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    171
    We had enough proof on the day he posted them. He wasn't the first person to release them, they showed up as a pastebin dump that made the rounds around reddit/other places for a while before he picked them up. In the video where he talks about them the first time, he admitted he could not in any way verify their source, he was just forwarded the dump with no other information.

    If you look at the original dump and the time it was posted, it is simply 0% credible. The issue being that it contains too much information that would not have been decided yet at that time. Such as clock speeds and SKU prices. Beyond that, it contains information that has been contradicted by AMD after it was posted, such as the "G" APUs (all the 3000-series APUs will be 12nm). Also, the clocks are nonsensical, and it got release dates wrong.

    Despite all this, people are still going "but we have no proof, they might be real", even though the original "leak" was just a 0 proof pastebin dump that anyone could have manufactured in about 15 minutes. This whole thing is just another case study of just how terrible the new media "tech press" is, and how fanboy hopes makes shitty fakes make the round during the silly season before anything real gets released.

    I think just for kicks I should make a similar fake for the next time around, and see if I can make a "better" one that gets more youtube screentime and tech press clicks. I think I could make one that is more credible than this one, at least...
     
    Entropy, RedVi and BRiT like this.
  5. BRiT

    BRiT (╯°□°)╯
    Moderator Legend Alpha Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    12,495
    Likes Received:
    8,696
    Location:
    Cleveland


    $499 12 Core

    $329 8 Core, lowest model
     
  6. DieH@rd

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    6,122
    Likes Received:
    2,050
    So, PCIE4 will be present only on beefy F570 boards that have actively cooled southbridge? No PCIE4 on B550?
     
  7. Rootax

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,169
    Likes Received:
    576
    Location:
    France
    How does the 3800x have "only" 100mhz on 3700x @boost clock, but tdp goes from 65w to 105w ?
     
  8. Gubbi

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    3,528
    Likes Received:
    862
    More cores can boost and for longer ?

    Cheers
     
    Lightman likes this.
  9. bgroovy

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Messages:
    629
    Likes Received:
    493
    Binning?
     
    Rootax likes this.
  10. itsmydamnation

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,298
    Likes Received:
    396
    Location:
    Australia
    the exact same way it works for the 2700 vs 2700x

    https://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/AMD/Ryzen_7_2700/16.html.

    what we really need to know is what is the XFR, we could be getting close to 5ghz......
     
    Lightman, BRiT and Rootax like this.
  11. Clukos

    Clukos Bloodborne 2 when?
    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    4,462
    Likes Received:
    3,793
    I might go for the 3700X if it can clock higher than the 3900X. Not sure if I want to upgrade from X370 though.
     
  12. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9,961
    Likes Received:
    4,553
    I think it's great that AMD is sandbagging on the 16-core part. Coffee Lake S only goes up to 8-core, so Intel will need to wait for Ice Lake to offer over 8-cores on the low/mid-range socket.
    Plus, this way they get to avoid cannibalizing most Threadripper models for a while.



    AFAIK he posted the table in a video before the pastebin dump. No info on the 3200G and 3400G is official at the moment, and AFAIK only the 3200G has been caught on camera. Only the mobile U and H series are official, and those use a different naming scheme from the desktop ones (there's no 4-core Ryzen 7 for desktop). With the new 7nm APU we might see 6-8 core models that are different from Picasso. Ryzen 5 3600G and Ryzen 7 3800G could still be a thing. They do need to face Ice Lake with 1+TFLOPs Gen11 GPUs, after all.

    But now we know the info was wrong, done.

    Regardless, holding up for confirmation of what comes up as true or not isn't a fanboy thing. It's just the reasonable approach in general.
    I'm in no rush to discredit nor blindly believe anyone.


    If AMD includes you into a super exclusive pool of people who get review samples for rare graphics cards, I might be inclined to hold up for confirmation to stuff you say.
     
    #192 ToTTenTranz, May 27, 2019
    Last edited: May 27, 2019
  13. AlBran

    AlBran Ferro-Fibrous
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    20,717
    Likes Received:
    5,813
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    32MB L3 + 4 MB L2 (for the 8 core chip)

    I assume the 70MB is just 2x32MB + 2*3MB L2
     
  14. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9,961
    Likes Received:
    4,553
    Up to 8-cores get 32MB L3, and above 8-cores get 64MB L3.

    Isn't this a double confirmation that the L3 is inside the chiplet, and the I/O die has no L3?

    If so, how are they handling coherency between the chiplets to avoid the latency from the additional hops?
    Could all Matisse I/O dies have 64MB L4 which holds only a copy of each chiplet's L3?
     
  15. Rootax

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,169
    Likes Received:
    576
    Location:
    France
    My bet is they don't. Like it will always be the "weak" point of Zen. No arch is perfect...
     
  16. AlBran

    AlBran Ferro-Fibrous
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    20,717
    Likes Received:
    5,813
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    I thought they just left it up to Infinity Fabric.
     
  17. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9,961
    Likes Received:
    4,553
    Then why is the I/O die so damn big?

    Matisse's I/O die is 123mm^2 on GlobalFoundries' 14nm. That's as large as a RX560 on the same node.
     
  18. fellix

    fellix Hey, You!
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3,489
    Likes Received:
    400
    Location:
    Varna, Bulgaria
    Auto-threading preprocessor? :p
     
    Lightman likes this.
  19. fellix

    fellix Hey, You!
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3,489
    Likes Received:
    400
    Location:
    Varna, Bulgaria
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Halved L1i cache for double the associativity.
     
    Lightman and AlBran like this.
  20. BRiT

    BRiT (╯°□°)╯
    Moderator Legend Alpha Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    12,495
    Likes Received:
    8,696
    Location:
    Cleveland
    RayTracing IP secrets licensed from ImgTec.


    :runaway:
     
    Alexko, Lightman and Rootax like this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...