Xbox Series X [XBSX] [Release November 10 2020]

Discussion in 'Console Technology' started by Megadrive1988, Dec 13, 2019.

  1. BRiT

    BRiT (>• •)>⌐■-■ (⌐■-■)
    Moderator Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    16,896
    Likes Received:
    16,774
  2. Jay

    Jay
    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,859
    Likes Received:
    2,001
    Isn't bandwidth of those optical connections pretty limited also?
    At most probably only get up to dts and none of the HD formats.
    Maybe ok for headphones, but hooking up to amp? If you've got an old amp that your more than happy with, it's a shame, but xbox is probably one of the last devices to support it anyway.
    Obviously prior to next gen
     
  3. iroboto

    iroboto Daft Funk
    Legend Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Messages:
    11,547
    Likes Received:
    12,460
    Location:
    The North
    there are modern amps that don't support HDMI as well. Depends on the type of amp you are buying. Some people only listen to stereo, like my Peachtree I have upstairs, and it only supports USB, analog and optical, whereas some home theatre amps will be supporting anywhere between 1-6 HDMI connections as well as others.

    So I guess it depends. Xbox can do everything over optical AFAIK. Just set it to bitstream.
     
  4. Jay

    Jay
    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,859
    Likes Received:
    2,001
    Guess I'm wrong, I thought there was an inherently low protocol bandwidth that the optical cable used, so that even bitstreaming you wouldn't get HD audio through it.
     
  5. iroboto

    iroboto Daft Funk
    Legend Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Messages:
    11,547
    Likes Received:
    12,460
    Location:
    The North
    You're not wrong.
    Not all codecs can be piped over optical. Some must be HDMI.
    And we can 'compromise' the HDMI signal over optical for instance.

    So we can have atmos over optical, but it's not true atmos.

    It is a bandwidth issue.


    ****
    So if Dolby Atmos is just metadata, what am I listening to?
    As we said, Dolby Atmos isn’t sound, it’s information about sound. That information piggybacks on top of existing surround sound signals. At the moment, Dolby Atmos can only do this with two types of surround sound:

    • Dolby TrueHD
    • Dolby Digital Plus
    Dolby TrueHD is an uncompressed, very high-bandwidth format that is currently only available on Blu-ray disc. It can only be transmitted over an HDMI cable, from a Blu-ray player to an AV receiver, TV, or a soundbar that can pass through the video. The combination of Dolby Atmos and Dolby TrueHD is the best possible surround sound you can get at home.

    Dolby Digital Plus is a compressed, lower-bandwidth format that has been optimized for use with streaming services and features like B-D Live. It’s currently supported by a wide range of devices, including laptops, tablets, smartphones, and streaming boxes like Apple TV and Roku. Dolby Atmos over Dolby Digital Plus will be the way most people experience Atmos.

    Not only is it the format used by Netflix and Amazon, but it’s also the only version of Atmos that is
    compatible with HDMI ARC (more on this later).


    ****
    Here are a few examples where you will not get Dolby Atmos sound:

    • Playing an Atmos-encoded Netflix movie on an Apple TV HD (4th gen, non-4K) connected to an Atmos-capable A/V receiver. In this scenario, the Apple TV is the weakest link: It doesn’t support Dolby Atmos. You’ll be limited to 5.1 Dolby Digital Plus surround sound.
    • Playing any Dolby Atmos-encoded content on a Roku Streaming Stick+ that’s attached to a Dolby Atmos capable TV, with an Atmos soundbar connected via optical cable. The obstacle here is the optical connection to the soundbar. You’ve got Atmos content on a device that can support Atmos, on a TV that can pass through Atmos, but because you’re using an optical cable instead of HDMI-ARC, the TV has to down-convert the audio to Dolby Digital 5.1 (otherwise known as EAC), because optical connections cannot cope with the higher bandwidth requirements of Dolby Digital Plus.
    • Using the built-in Plex client on an LG OLED TV to play a movie encoded with Dolby TrueHD and Dolby Atmos, with an Atmos soundbar connected via HDMI-ARC. This is a really frustrating one — all of the sources and components are Atmos-capable, but because the Plex client on the LG TV isn’t yet optimized to handle TrueHD/Atmos, it down-converts the audio to Dolby 5.1 — even though both the TV itself and the connected soundbar could have easily handled the TrueHD/Atmos track.
     
    Cyan, PSman1700 and Jay like this.
  6. turkey

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    Messages:
    966
    Likes Received:
    676
    Location:
    London
    Get a dirt cheap HDMI audio extractor box off amazon. Job done:yes:
     
    AzBat and BRiT like this.
  7. patsu

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    27,709
    Likes Received:
    145
    Indeed you need an Apple TV 4K (with tvOS 12 and above) to do so ~
     
    iroboto likes this.
  8. orangpelupa

    orangpelupa Elite Bug Hunter
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    8,527
    Likes Received:
    1,902
    That's weird, as ddp still runs under 1mbps, and optical cable can deliver DTS that have more than 1mbps

    Netflix for example, use 768K for their DDP Atmos
     
    #488 orangpelupa, Apr 12, 2020
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2020
  9. scently

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    997
    Likes Received:
    207
    Yeah, and that's the easiest upgrade the can do, though it remains to be seen what the OS reserve is on the PS5. Might be more than the XSX, might be less.
     
  10. higherARC

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    106
    Nextgen is going to be very interesting to see for MS. Then having the strongest console and seeing their investment of the new studios will make a very healthy competition for gaming. I can’t personally wait to see games like the next Forza horizon using those 12TF to the fullest
     
    VitaminB6 and PSman1700 like this.
  11. iroboto

    iroboto Daft Funk
    Legend Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Messages:
    11,547
    Likes Received:
    12,460
    Location:
    The North
    Hmm.
    For me the most exciting thing is that managed to baseline DX12U equally across the PC and console space as a new beginning point for graphics. That step in baselining features is much more significant than raw power.
     
    BRiT, VitaminB6, PSman1700 and 3 others like this.
  12. scently

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    997
    Likes Received:
    207
    Yeah. Their past two consoles have launched out of step with DX. 360 with DX 9.5 just before DX10 showed up, and X1 with DX11 only for DX12 to show up later. This is the first time they are in lockstep with a DX revision. The console is looking good. Just want to see what the games look like.
     
  13. VitaminB6

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    217
    Xbox One does support DX12 features.
     
  14. turkey

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    Messages:
    966
    Likes Received:
    676
    Location:
    London
    Jay, PSman1700 and BRiT like this.
  15. VitaminB6

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    217
  16. scently

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    997
    Likes Received:
    207
    That's the point.....This will be the first time an Xbox is launching in lockstep with a major DX version.
     
    VitaminB6, KirkSi, PSman1700 and 2 others like this.
  17. eastmen

    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    11,538
    Likes Received:
    2,549
    the oh xbox is just halo and forza meme is going to die off really fast this gen. MS has been building up their studios a lot and so far what we have seen are just projects that were near completion when studios were bought. But a lot of stuff will be announced this year and early next year
     
    PSman1700 likes this.
  18. VitaminB6

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    217
    My point was that the XB1 was not stuck with an older version of DX. It was built to have hardware support for DX12 so when it was released on PC it was available on XB1 as well, at the same time.
     
  19. iroboto

    iroboto Daft Funk
    Legend Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Messages:
    11,547
    Likes Received:
    12,460
    Location:
    The North
    hmmm...
    Well a lot of GPUs that are older support DX12. The mono driver and DX12 is where they wanted to head, but XBO was just so delayed, everything was just so delayed. You can really see how MS turned it around with this coming generation. APIs, feature set, hardware, Targets being hit etc, marketing that makes sense, services moving forward, all sorts of compatibility etc, all of it coming together in a very strong cadence.

    On this case when on the topic of XBO hardware feature support, XBO only supported features up to 12_0. There was some specific xbox only features that they supported, in particular, some additional microcode around the executeIndirect function. But outside of that, we didn't see any specific hardware support outside what GCN had already supported in both tier or feature levels.

    A _sharp_ contrast to what we have coming.

    I expect XSX to continue it's development on the command processor to incorporate the additional work they've been doing there since XBO, X1X, and now to XSX. They have a different Tier version of VRS that is not covered by DX12U (if our patent understanding is correct), both AMD and Nvidia implementations differ in what is offered in this case. Not sure if MS has more up it's sleeve. But as a baseline, yes all 3 should have VRS.
     
    PSman1700, BRiT and VitaminB6 like this.
  20. VitaminB6

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    217
    For some reason I thought I remembered XB1 being a higher version than DX12.0. Thanks for the clarification and additional info. I've always been curious if the launch of the XB1 would've looked different if they didn't have such a backlash against DRM and the always online policy. From an outside view these policy changes seem to really set them back.
     
    #500 VitaminB6, Apr 13, 2020
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2020
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...