Xbox One (Durango) Technical hardware investigation

Discussion in 'Console Technology' started by Love_In_Rio, Jan 21, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mandrion

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 15, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0

    68GB/s (DDR3) + 102,4GB/s(eSRAM) + 30GB/s (CPU-GPU Interconnect)
    = 200,4GB/s

    They did the same thing back then with the 360 eDRAM setting.
    They claimed 278GB/s bandwidth. :smile:
     
  2. Rangers

    Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    12,508
    Likes Received:
    1,314
    Most people are saying they just unethically added the 30GB/s of CPU bandwidth to the normal 170GB/s.

    Of course my sentiments laid with an overclock, but a possible gaffer insider implied otherwise so i cooled off a bit on that.
     
  3. Scott_Arm

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    13,765
    Likes Received:
    4,576
    GPU clock has to hit 1 GHz to get there. Some people have written that Jaguar does not scale well to clock bumps past 1.6 GHz.
     
  4. Shifty Geezer

    Shifty Geezer uber-Troll!
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    42,204
    Likes Received:
    13,716
    Location:
    Under my bridge
    That could well be it. Disappointing, but not unlike past PR efforts. The overclock idea did sound ambitious for extra ESRAM BW; just fiddling the numbers is a lot easier. :p
     
  5. expletive

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,584
    Likes Received:
    63
    Location:
    Bridgewater, NJ
    Anand wrote that it takes a 66% bump of the TDP to get Jaguar from 1.6 to 2.0 ghz.
     
    #3525 expletive, May 25, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: May 25, 2013
  6. Scott_Arm

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    13,765
    Likes Received:
    4,576
    Makes an overclock very unlikely.
     
  7. expletive

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,584
    Likes Received:
    63
    Location:
    Bridgewater, NJ
    Unless the GPU and its connection to ESRAM could be over clocked asynchronously to the CPU?
     
  8. dagamer

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,261
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Resolution reduction makes sense. I mean, the fact that most people have absolutely no idea that many games run at sub-720p resolutions on their 60" 1080p TVs means they'll never notice. You can only tell with the UI layer that's rendering pixel sharp text (which shouldn't be affected).
     
  9. Cyan

    Cyan orange
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    8,868
    Likes Received:
    2,496
    It seems like SHAPE audio processor is getting some recognition at last! :) It's fucking ace.

    Yay, love sound. And in a racing game....

    http://www.xbox-360.co.za/2013/05/23/fmod-studio-to-enable-next-generation-audio-on-xbox-one/

     
    #3529 Cyan, May 30, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: May 30, 2013
  10. warb

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,057
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    That sounds great.
     
  11. blakjedi

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    2,978
    Likes Received:
    81
    Location:
    20001
    ba-dum bump!

    LOL
     
  12. dobwal

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    5,246
    Likes Received:
    1,257
    wrong topic
     
    #3532 dobwal, May 30, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: May 30, 2013
  13. onQ

    onQ
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,540
    Likes Received:
    55
    2 of them say Title & 1 for System.
    [​IMG]
     
  14. Mitchings

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    100
    Has anyone heard anything about the Compute abilities of the Xbox One's GPU relative to..

    PS4's 64-Compute Queues (8-ACE's x 8-CL's)

    &

    Standard GCN's 4-Compute Queues (2 ACE's x 2CL's)

    ..?
     
  15. Cyan

    Cyan orange
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    8,868
    Likes Received:
    2,496
    Not 100% sure. But yes, I think we have heard about that, but the guy got the numbers wrong iirc. I think GCN capabilities are exactly the same on both consoles and both GPUs share the ability to draw two primitives per cycle -or per triangle, I don't remember-.
     
  16. Betanumerical

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,673
    Likes Received:
    132
    Location:
    In the land of the drop bears
    Decoupling the HUD from the actual rendering is the most likely use IMO. Which is exactly what vgleaks says they are commonly used for.
     
  17. Betanumerical

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,673
    Likes Received:
    132
    Location:
    In the land of the drop bears
    The only difference i can see the queues really making is that they allow you to have more data streams to pick from for when you want you to do something, so you could run more programs on the GPU concurrently, but other then that not much.
     
  18. ShadowRunner

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,440
    Likes Received:
    0
    They specifically said they would be using the planes for fast switching in the after conference tech panel IIRC. One plane each for OS/APP/GAME. Don't know if they allow devs to override this. Or maybe i am extrapolating what they were saying from the example they gave. Someone should go back and watch again, see if they get the same impression.

    Makes sense to me that they would use different planes for the snapping functionality for apps at the side of the screen, running at a different res/refresh and scaled appropriately, and still having full screen OS/System level notifications on top of the two side by side Game and App planes.
     
    #3538 ShadowRunner, May 31, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: May 31, 2013
  19. ShadowRunner

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,440
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im pretty certain these customizations in the PS4 gpu are real, Cerny has said so directly i believe.

    They are designed to increase efficiency of compute jobs, specifically trying to maximise the use of GPU downtime by having lots of ques that can be picked from to process whenever there is a moment free.
     
  20. Brad Grenz

    Brad Grenz Philosopher & Poet
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Oregon
    I think the planes picture is obvious:

    1: Full Screen Game
    2: Full Screen App
    3: Snap App
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...