Windows 7

Discussion in 'PC Hardware, Software and Displays' started by almighty, Dec 19, 2008.

  1. tongue_of_colicab

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    3,719
    Likes Received:
    907
    Location:
    Japan
    Thats weird, even if you got a upgrade key it should still be possible to do a clean install. Even MS advises that while upgrading is possible, a clean install is the beter solution in the long run. So it should work fine without xp or vista.
     
  2. pcchen

    pcchen Moderator
    Moderator Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,894
    Likes Received:
    392
    Location:
    Taiwan
    Yeah, the new Live Movie Maker is a great step-backward from XP's version, even the final version is sort of still lacking in some ways.

    However, it's better than the stupid beta version.

    I just tried it for a while, but some improvements are pretty apparent. For example, the output formats are much more complete now. It now has profiles for Youtube (with directly upload to Youtube function), 1080p HD, 720p HD, and 480p, 320x240, etc. Unfortunately, all formats are WMV, and I don't see a way to modify any settings (everything including bitrate are predefined). There is an option for "download plug-ins" for uploading video to other websites I presume. And apparently it outputs interlaced WMV for interlaced video, and that's a good thing, at least better than some programs which output interlaced video as progressive and resulting in crazy "spikes." Although it'd be nice if there is a deinterlace option.

    Also, the "import video/photo" function now supports DV/HDV through 1394. Apparently it can also import from USB devices, but I didn't try that as I don't have any such device.

    Another new feature is the ability to add title, subtitle, and credit texts. I don't remember seeing them in the beta version. The subtitle function can be added to any part of the video in unlimited number, just like real subtitles.

    There are many new transition effects to choose from. Only three are available when there is only one video, but many more are available for transition between two video.

    Photos can be inserted into the video arbitrarily and various animation for the photo can be used. Audio tracks can also be inserted into the video or photo.

    Basically although it's pretty simple and somewhat lacks in more serious functions, I think it can serve as a basic video editing tool for most home users. At least for those who don't want to spent too much on special video editing softwares.

    Finally, no, it's not iMovie. Not to that level yet. However, I like the fact that it can handle HDV files directly rather than having to convert into some sort of intermediate format. That's much better than iMovie than any other features in my book. :)
     
  3. pcchen

    pcchen Moderator
    Moderator Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,894
    Likes Received:
    392
    Location:
    Taiwan
    Oh, it has to be a clean install if you want to upgrade from Windows XP. However, with a upgrade key you have to install from an existing Windows XP partition with a Windows XP directory inside, and it will happily rename the directory into windows.old and do a clean install.

    If you just do a real clean install without a XP partition for it to rename, it will refuse an upgrade key (saying it's not a valid key). It took me an hour ... :(

    With this behavior, I guess I need to maintain a "system backup" to make sure if my harddisk crashed I can still recover the upgrade version.
     
  4. Richard

    Richard Mord's imaginary friend
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    3,508
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    PT, EU
    and that's why one of the "features" I wanted when shopping for my laptop was having a real Windows disc instead of recovery partition (Recovery discs don't count either).

    Btw, I think you can order a real disc from MS if you pay for the post.

    Anyway, installing Win7 Upgrade media without a previous Windows installation/partition.
     
  5. pcchen

    pcchen Moderator
    Moderator Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,894
    Likes Received:
    392
    Location:
    Taiwan
    Ah, that's great. Thanks for the link.

    Actually the upgrade disc is fine, as it's basically the same as a "normal" disc, just the key is different. With the hack described in your link, upgrade keys would be basically the same as normal keys. :)
     
  6. dizietsma

    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    13
    Blimey, just done it .....

    Not too bad, who would have thought that to get Office 2003 Outlook to not bomb out you have to install SP3 of that? Did it without googling though so chuffed.

    Have to say that I am really used it it already, even though big fat icons everywhere are just a sign on dumbing down for the masses. Give me the meat and lots of text :D

    I always have to turn the title bars and background to shades of blue though so it looks like earlier windows so I feel at home.
     
  7. Scott_Arm

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    14,679
    Likes Received:
    6,748
    Seems good, but I'm pissed that my Sony PS3 headset doesn't work. Stupid Sony doesn't provide drivers for any version of Windows. I was really hoping it would work since 7 has a bluetooth stack that supports headsets.
     
  8. Brad Grenz

    Brad Grenz Philosopher & Poet
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Oregon
    I thought bluetooth headsets were standardized. You need specific drivers? What kind of bluetooth radio to you have in your PC?
     
  9. tongue_of_colicab

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    3,719
    Likes Received:
    907
    Location:
    Japan
    Is that because of the key or the upgrade download/disk? As far as i've seen you can just get the full .iso from the interwebs and use your upgrade key and it will just work fine, no asking for old installs.
     
  10. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    9,653
    Likes Received:
    3,788
    Location:
    Finland
    If it work the same way as Vista does, you could do clean win7 install without a key, and then do upgrade installation over that with your upgrade key
     
  11. pcchen

    pcchen Moderator
    Moderator Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,894
    Likes Received:
    392
    Location:
    Taiwan
    I think it's because the key. In my first try, I couldn't get the key accepted so I didn't input the key. Then in the computer information window, I clicked on the "change product key" and input the upgrade key, then it told me "upgrade key doesn't work with clean install" or something like that.
     
  12. Arwin

    Arwin Now Officially a Top 10 Poster
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    18,321
    Likes Received:
    1,980
    Location:
    Maastricht, The Netherlands
    It should work, so it's probably an issue on your end. ;) Here's one set of instructions I found:

     
  13. Scott_Arm

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    14,679
    Likes Received:
    6,748
    No, it doesn't work. It pairs, but there are no working drivers. It recognizes it as a bluetooth headset as well. I thought there wouldn't be any problems with the Microsoft stack. Maybe I have to find some other solution. Pain in the ass anyway.
     
    #753 Scott_Arm, Oct 24, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 24, 2009
  14. tongue_of_colicab

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    3,719
    Likes Received:
    907
    Location:
    Japan
    Found another rather annoing bug. For some reason everytime I try to delete folders from my server I get the message the thumb file is in use by explorer. Now I am clueless how this is possible, since I dont even have thumb view on so I figure the thumb file shouldnt even be used but anyway I've been getting this message ever since XP but in win7 it seems to happen everytime unlike on XP.

    The same goes with credentials for networkshares btw. With XP it would be enough to just login to a network share one time and after that I could login and run every file that was in a networkshare on my server (untill a reboot obviously). However win7 keeps asking for every different folder, and when I try to run lets say a exe from that folder it asks for credentials again. Who the hell came up with this brilliant system? Today alone I must have typed my username password like 20 times. Yeah I know you can save your credentials but I dont want that. Loggin in one time should be sufficient.
     
  15. aaaaa00

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    23
    What kind of server is it? Is it Windows or samba on linux/etc?

    If it's samba, please upgrade to the lastest samba. There are a lot of interop bugs that have been fixed over time.
     
  16. tongue_of_colicab

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    3,719
    Likes Received:
    907
    Location:
    Japan
    Nope just a normal XP machine. I think its a win7 problem because it seems it just doesnt understand that it just can use the some logon for all shared folders. Maybe its UAC? I got it to the second lowest setting. I'll try what happens if I turn it off.
     
  17. Brad Grenz

    Brad Grenz Philosopher & Poet
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Oregon
    As I understand it the drivers you need would be for your bluetooth radio. If there is a driver problem it's not something the maker of the headset can fix. It's a standard function the bluetooth receiver drivers should load.
     
  18. aaaaa00

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    23
    Hm.

    Try making sure there is an account with exactly the same name and password on the XP server as the account on the Windows 7 machine you are using.
     
  19. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    8,191
    Likes Received:
    4,590
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    That's what I did. I installed the RTM iso (configured as a Professional version) on my wife's and my own PC a month or so ago. We got our W7 upgrades delivered on the 22nd and the keys activated fine.
     
  20. linthat22

    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Michigan
    Got the student discount of W7 Pro 64bit and was able to create an ISO, so wish me luck.

    Going to dual boot with XP 32bit.

    The next time I post it will be through W7.

    See ya'll in a few (days :lol: )
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...