PS4 Pro Official Specifications (Codename NEO)

Discussion in 'Console Technology' started by Clukos, Sep 7, 2016.

Tags:
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. eastmen

    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    9,983
    Likes Received:
    1,496
    they said there were features beyond Polaris . Could it be something from vega ?
     
  2. dobwal

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    5,017
    Likes Received:
    1,024
    AMD 300 series gpu gained HDR support up to 4K at 30 fps through hdmi 1.4. HDMI 2.0a is only needed for 4K at frame rates above 30. But even Dolby version which is a 12 bit based solution supports hdmi 1.4.
     
    #42 dobwal, Sep 8, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2016
    iroboto likes this.
  3. 3dilettante

    Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,122
    Likes Received:
    2,873
    Location:
    Well within 3d
    One glib answer is that Neo presumably will still have a Trueaudio-like hardware block, which Polaris does not.
    Possibly, it also inherits some of the compute and coherent memory tweaks of Orbis that Polaris as a discrete would not have.

    I hope there is more detail about how backwards compatibility is handled, since there are points of conflict between Polaris and Sea Islands that don't show a trivial path to handling.
    One oddity with Neo mode and standard mode relative to Polaris is what happens with the ROP count. The standard relationship between shader engines and back ends either changes to let Neo mode and its extra engines to be toggled off for compatibility reasons without deactivating ROPs, or Neo winds up having broader rasterization or pixel output.
    Either way, it seems like there is going to be a difference, and preferably a difference in a positive direction.

    The emphasis on hardware acceleration for what looks to be a standardized path for checkerboard rendering might include pipeline tweaks to better cull and filter with a known stride and alternating frame pattern. The extra front end and back end resources might be tweaked to provide resources or computation for the shortcuts (accelerated stairstep smoothing with spare resources?), maybe compression can be tweaked with the known pattern of writes and reads.
    GCN has some amount of tiling already for its rendering, and I wonder if Vega will be going further in that regard. Some shortcuts from that might apply back when Sony is targeting an upscaling scheme instead of having to flesh out a more generalist implementation.

    I'm curious to what extent Neo is like Polaris or Orbis, and how much that goes into Neo is attention and engineering that goes no further than Sony's platform. Good for Sony, but not lifting the GCN boat in arenas where console lowered expectations apply.
     
  4. dobwal

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    5,017
    Likes Received:
    1,024
    Is it possible the ps4 is sporting an 8 ACE version of Polaris. The 480 seems to be limited to 4 but would it be wise to cut ps4 original config in half for Neo?
     
  5. shredenvain

    Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Somewhere in southern U.S.
    I'm not really sure I even understand the purpose of branding the Ps4 pro as a 4k machine. Sure games will benefit from the built in checker board upscaling hardware, but why the necessity for 2x plus the compute units just to upscale most games from 1080p? I'm sure some games will run at 1440p and some even at true 4k, but why not use the 2x GPU boost to improve frame rates and details? Then use the upscale hardware to go 4k. I know the CPU and ram may be an issue with some titles. I just don't see the point in pushing so hard for 4k gaming when they could of used VR as some sort of selling point for the upgrade.
     
    BRiT and RootKit like this.
  6. kalelovil

    Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    93
    Polaris 10 has 4 ACEs + 2 HWS (like Tonga & Fiji). Each HWS can be configured to act as 2 ACE's, so it has 8 ACEs in total in such a mode.
     
    dobwal likes this.
  7. Nesh

    Nesh Double Agent
    Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    11,380
    Likes Received:
    1,820
    Something I didnt quite get with this PS4 Pro. Will it run all games at 4k? Or is it just upscale to 4k? If I remember correctly last Eurogamer's article about what they estimated PS4 Neo to do, they werent expecting it to be powerful enough to run all games at 4K.
    Or was I wrong?
    Also, in case of 1080p only TVs, are we certain the console will give us the option to play games at higher framerates?
     
  8. Globalisateur

    Globalisateur Globby
    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,945
    Likes Received:
    1,668
    Location:
    France
    It's not from 1080p, checkerboard rendering needs half the pixels so they need to render 1080p *2 to reconstruct a 4K image. So the 2.3 faster GPU would be ideal indeed to render 2x 1080p pixels particularly if the upscaling is free.

    [​IMG]
     
    bunge and BRiT like this.
  9. Love_In_Rio

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,452
    Likes Received:
    110
    How much power the resolution race is eating from our precious flops increments...
     
  10. antic604

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    14
    It's up to the developers to decide on how to use the extra performance. For CPU-bound games going from 30fps on PS4 to 60fps on PS4Pro might be difficult, but they could for example - on PS4Pro - render at 1440p (which is 1,8x PS4 GPU), use the remaining 0,5x for better shaders and upscale the result to 4k. This way you'd have much better IQ and much better graphics at the same time.
     
  11. antic604

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    14
    With Polaris architecture's texture compression features - which should save bandwidth - do you think we can finally see games using 8-16x AF?
     
  12. antic604

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    14
    As I understand it - if connected to 4k TV - PS4Pro will output the picture in full 4k, but whether or not that picture is rendered natively at 4k or some smaller res (e.g. 1440p, 1600p, 1800p?) depends on the game. I guess something like Inside or Tearaway could be native 4k, most games will be somewhere between 1080p and native 4k which with clever hardware-assisted upscaling will provide much better IQ than 1080p, but worse than native 4k.
     
    kalelovil likes this.
  13. London-boy

    London-boy Shifty's daddy
    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2002
    Messages:
    21,510
    Likes Received:
    5,154
  14. Arnold Beckenbauer

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,415
    Likes Received:
    348
    Location:
    Germany
    HW upscaler is a feature beyond Polaris.
     
    RootKit and BRiT like this.
  15. antic604

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    14
    I'd agree provided they'd be an important provider of streamed 4k content. However, I noticed they only mentioned Netflix & YouTube, while completely avoided referencing Playstation Vue. Also, I don't think they're in Apple's position in terms of being market leader and trend-setter... :)
     
  16. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9,971
    Likes Received:
    4,565
    Does anyone know if the Pro can stream at a resolution higher than 720p?
     
  17. Arwin

    Arwin Now Officially a Top 10 Poster
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    17,682
    Likes Received:
    1,200
    Location:
    Maastricht, The Netherlands
    Yes, 1080p.
     
  18. Scott_Arm

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    13,276
    Likes Received:
    3,725
    Valve's "checkerboard" rendering for VR with reconstruction does look like something that maybe could be implemented in a hardware upscaler. I didn't notice that Digital Foundry had linked to it in their article.

    Page 23, of this PDF http://alex.vlachos.com/graphics/Alex_Vlachos_Advanced_VR_Rendering_Performance_GDC2016.pdf

    Doesn't seem to use any temporal information. It's purely constructed from neighboring pixels. If the quality is good, then it's definitely a great idea.
     
  19. damienw

    Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Seattle
    It will stream 1080p 60fps to Twitch and Youtube. But the max you can record to the HDD is 30fps.
     
    #59 damienw, Sep 8, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2016
    London-boy likes this.
  20. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9,971
    Likes Received:
    4,565
    Thanks! Then it will probably stream 1080p60 to the PC and Xperia handhelds too.

    For the people streaming to larger screens this is a huge upgrade!
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...