PS4 Pro Official Specifications (Codename NEO)

Discussion in 'Console Technology' started by Clukos, Sep 7, 2016.

Tags:
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Clukos

    Clukos Bloodborne 2 when?
    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    4,462
    Likes Received:
    3,793
  2. BRiT

    BRiT (╯°□°)╯
    Moderator Legend Alpha Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    12,508
    Likes Received:
    8,712
    Location:
    Cleveland
    Also, from the other thread, it officially does NOT support UHD 4K BluRay playback.
     
  3. Nesh

    Nesh Double Agent
    Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    11,380
    Likes Received:
    1,820
    Kinda surprised. Was it that hard to implement?
     
  4. goonergaz

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    3,102
    Likes Received:
    743
    I think it's safe to assume the 4.2TF leaks now - if it were more I'm sure Sony would be shouting figures from the rooftops!
     
  5. BRiT

    BRiT (╯°□°)╯
    Moderator Legend Alpha Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    12,508
    Likes Received:
    8,712
    Location:
    Cleveland
    I think it's more a matter of having updated mechanical optical drive. I think @MrFox knows the details and posted it in the other thread. Perhaps he can re-share his knowledge here?
     
    Nesh likes this.
  6. 3dilettante

    Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,122
    Likes Received:
    2,873
    Location:
    Well within 3d
    Where the extra 60W over the launch PS4 comes from is an item of curiosity for me.
    A little over is something I could understand, but what would take it that much over?

    My earlier assumptions were premised on something comparable to the 14nm Polaris 10 GPU, which does have certain assumptions built in. With the Pro described as an APU that has elements taken from Polaris, there are potential assumption-breakers ranging from process, the GPU architecture, APUs not always achieving optimal implementations for both the CPU and GPU regions, possibly restricted turbo/downclocking for consistency reasons, and the yield tolerances when one can be binned more so than the other.

    That is a lot of assumptions, granted, but seemed plausible to get that plus the share of power producers besides the GPU+GDDR5 in without another 60W. There are some items in the system that were bumped like the number of potentially powered USB ports, but that contribution seems too modest.

    I'm still not sure how much Neo was able to derive from Orbis. Some discussion of it being Polaris "and beyond" actually might be the persistence of the Tensilica block that Polaris dumped. Possibly, items like compression and front end changes could move into a revision of Orbis without overly complicating matters.
    I'm not sure about the GCN CUs themselves, or the ISA since those do not appear to mesh well with the PS4 IP level.
     
  7. Love_In_Rio

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,452
    Likes Received:
    110
    No.IMHO it is Polaris 10.Remember the 911 Mhz in RX480 being the first selectable power profile in the clock tool.The culprit of tdp being so horrible must be Jaguar.They must have clocked it way higher than 2,1 and taking it too far from its eficient zone,fearing Scorpio using Zen.In fact Jaguar clock is the only generic data without any figures in the spec sheet.B esides Sony sells the clock bump(presumably from the cpu) for improving frame rates.2,1 was too low to get us to 60 fps in too many 30 fps games. Something very hot is inside to need a way bigger than OG PS4 box(and so a bigger cooling solution).
    That or GF 14nm is even worse for making APUs than standalone GPUs.
     
    #7 Love_In_Rio, Sep 7, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2016
  8. 3dilettante

    Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,122
    Likes Received:
    2,873
    Location:
    Well within 3d
    It wouldn't be purely Polaris 10, unless part of the reason Polaris 10 is less efficient than it should be because it also has binary backwards-compatibility with an older GCN ISA.
    Also, I noticed in the graphics forum that Polaris broke compatibility with Trueaudio (not that many would care), which has a roughly equivalent block in the PS4 that cannot be discarded.

    I'm not sure anything is to be gained in pushing >60W through a pair of Cat core clusters. A few hundred MHz more before running into instability isn't going to change how far beyond them Zen would be.
     
  9. Jawed

    Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    10,873
    Likes Received:
    767
    Location:
    London
    ROP count is doubled?
     
  10. Love_In_Rio

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,452
    Likes Received:
    110
    How much was Jaguar at 28nm@1,6Ghz?.15 watts?.
    Now supposse they have gone 14nm@2,8Ghz in a chip designed for 2,1 max at 28nm(near 25 watts then?). Wouldnt be possible the cpu now had a tdp of near 50 watts?.
     
  11. RDGoodla

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    55
    PS4's nominal power is 250W. So we may see 30W increase of PS4 Pro.

    I guess they taped out at Samsung 14nm, not TSMC 16nm. And they may increase CPU clock further.
     
  12. Anarchist4000

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,439
    Likes Received:
    359
    The power may be whatever is driving PSVR or the USB3.1. Original PS4 never would have been designed to power a display if that's what they did.
     
  13. Love_In_Rio

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,452
    Likes Received:
    110
    I vote for the less efficient GF too.More capacity for them and way better price.
     
  14. 3dilettante

    Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,122
    Likes Received:
    2,873
    Location:
    Well within 3d
    As Neo has been described, Neo versus standard mode activates shader engines, so things could become strange if it isn't.

    Puma at 28nm (GF?) got to that range in the same power envelope. Jaguar's characterization and DVFS was essentially broken in the consoles and in AMD's own products. AMD's pattern is to get that wrong with every new architecture (Jaguar/Puma, Trinity/Richland, Kaveri/Godavari, Carrizo/Bristol), although in this case it would getting things right and then re-breaking them.
     
  15. MrFox

    MrFox Deludedly Fantastic
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    5,446
    Likes Received:
    3,945
    Could be the power supply being chosen based on it's most efficient point. Maybe bigger margin and used closer to 50% which I think the Fat PS3 was?
     
  16. iroboto

    iroboto Daft Funk
    Legend Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Messages:
    7,904
    Likes Received:
    6,187
    So on that topic if we could expand that a bit, the HDR firmware update for existing PS4, I was under the assumption HDMI 2.0 was the requirement, and I'm pretty sure PS4 does not have one of those so, are they basically sending 1080p HDR signal to get around bandwidth constraints? Or like, can we discuss the technical there ?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  17. eastmen

    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    9,985
    Likes Received:
    1,497
    I find it really funny that MS who doesn't really have much to gain from having a UHD drive in their system has it but Sony who is a patent holder on UHD bluray doesn't.

    Anyway the specs are the same from the leaks it seems so MS shouldn't have much trouble out pacing this release so we might see a good old fashion price war next year which is good for all of us
     
    RootKit and Cyan like this.
  18. MrFox

    MrFox Deludedly Fantastic
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    5,446
    Likes Received:
    3,945
    10bits in 1080p is perfectly possible on hdmi 1.4. The problem is having the correct signalling for HDR (brought by 2.0 specs) which I thought was the hdmi driver responsibility and that would be a chip predating those specs. So they might have something flexible enough to add whatever metadata in the frame header for correct HDR signal which the TV would recognize.

    Everything else is simply software, games already have frame buffers with enough precision, it's not a big leap to just convert it to a 30bits and add luminosity metadata.
     
  19. iroboto

    iroboto Daft Funk
    Legend Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Messages:
    7,904
    Likes Received:
    6,187
    Interesting, so the HDR, is HDR gaming, and not necessarily 4K HDR Netflix? Unless Netflix started sending out 1080p HDR content....
    hmm this is all really hmmm worthy.
     
  20. BRiT

    BRiT (╯°□°)╯
    Moderator Legend Alpha Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    12,508
    Likes Received:
    8,712
    Location:
    Cleveland
    The way I took their HDR announcement is that they will support HDR 1080p signal on PS4 and PS4 Slim. It is only the PS4 Pro that will support HDR 4K signals.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...