PS4 Pro Official Specifications (Codename NEO)

Discussion in 'Console Technology' started by Clukos, Sep 7, 2016.

Tags:
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. turkey

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    Messages:
    739
    Likes Received:
    429
    why have dynamic or checkerboard, can you not have dynamic checkerboard?
     
  2. iroboto

    iroboto Daft Funk
    Legend Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Messages:
    7,890
    Likes Received:
    6,171
    Unless there is dynamic checkerboard resolution I don't think they are quite the same.

    Dynamic resolution looks to lock frame rate at the cost of resolution.

    Checkerboard looks to be a very effective form of generating high resolution with less resources, but it doesn't save you from poor frame rates.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    RootKit likes this.
  3. Scott_Arm

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    13,276
    Likes Received:
    3,725
    That's a difficult argument. Dynamic resolution and reconstruction are both used to avoid bottleneck and reduce time per frame.
     
  4. Shifty Geezer

    Shifty Geezer uber-Troll!
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    40,706
    Likes Received:
    11,159
    Location:
    Under my bridge
    Checkboard is a fixed saving per frame to use however you want. Dynamic res adapts based on short-term workload to avoid excessive framerate drops. Kinda like the difference between a grant and a loan. Sort of. Maybe.
     
  5. BRiT

    BRiT (╯°□°)╯
    Moderator Legend Alpha Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    12,498
    Likes Received:
    8,701
    Location:
    Cleveland
    Also, if there is any temporal aspects to checkerboard rendering then dynamically changing resolutions introduces additional issues.
     
  6. bgroovy

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Messages:
    629
    Likes Received:
    493
    Days Gone uses both on Unreal 4. At the least that code can probably work it's way over to the main ps4 branch.
     
  7. MrFox

    MrFox Deludedly Fantastic
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    5,446
    Likes Received:
    3,945
    I was thinking they might skip more/less quads for scaling. As per their VR presentation where they have patterns of four quads to created a fixed foveation, meaning they could scale from 1:4 to 1:1 dynamically and even within different areas of the frame.

    This can't work well if they change the frame buffer resolution between frames, and scaling a checkerboard pattern might cause more artifacts.
     
  8. goonergaz

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    3,102
    Likes Received:
    743
    Cheers, that Mantis Burn racing looks right up my street - I loved the Motorstorm RC gameplay and this looks similar
     
    Arwin likes this.
  9. Globalisateur

    Globalisateur Globby
    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,945
    Likes Received:
    1,668
    Location:
    France
    From the latest DF article and how they were able to quadruple the resolution from the PS4 1080p 60fps game to native 4K 60fps on Pro

    http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/digitalfoundry-2016-hands-on-with-mantis-burn-racing-on-ps4-pro

    So basically 8.4 tflops using 16-bit compute? It's a AMD Vega feature, right?

    EDIT: Ok apparently FP16 is already available on RX 480
     
    #249 Globalisateur, Oct 2, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2016
  10. scf

    scf
    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,081
    Likes Received:
    234
    Location:
    Crimea
    Secret sauce? :shock:
     
  11. Rurouni

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    950
    Likes Received:
    216
    Are we really talking about fp16 double rate or something else? I know that Polaris support fp16 but at what rate I don't know.
     
  12. MrFox

    MrFox Deludedly Fantastic
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    5,446
    Likes Received:
    3,945
    We already expected the doubled fp16. I mean they said it's based on polaris, that's one really important new feature!

    So far developers are talking about new stuff compared to PS4, but it's not always clear which ones are from the original ps4, or polaris, or vega, or sony's own improvements for the Pro.

    The cerny seminar should be this week...
     
  13. Ryan Smith

    Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    1,052
    Location:
    PCIe x16_1
    On GCN 3 & 4 the only FP16 support in the shader cores is for storing FP16 data as FP16, rather than having to promote it to FP32 (i.e. it halves register pressure). GCN 3/4 don't have any fast FP16 math modes; FP16 operations are processed at the same speed as FP32 math.
     
    iroboto, BRiT and Globalisateur like this.
  14. Rurouni

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    950
    Likes Received:
    216
    That is why I ask about it. Even though Pascal architecture support double rate fp16 I believe their consumer chip doesn't have it (disabled?). I don't ever remember Polaris support double rate fp16, I do remember AMD support 16bit since Tonga. But if Pro support double rate fp16 like I assume double rate fp16 is, then it should be something new, unless I missed something when Polaris was being announced.
    Edit: I'm still not convinced that Pro support double rate fp16 until I hear it from Cerny's mouth with his relaxing voice...
     
    #254 Rurouni, Oct 3, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2016
  15. loekf

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Nijmegen, The Netherlands
    I always hate this kind of journalism. Either you dig deeper or don't make statements like "Of course, we already knew that the Pro graphics core implements a range of new instructions - it was part of the initial leak - but we didn't really know exactly what they could actually do. "

    When I see this:

    The Polaris GPUs are also capable of native FP16 and Int16 support. This allows FP (Floating Point) performance at half the rate of single precision which is better tuned for graphics, computer vision and data learning markets. The use of FP16 results in lower power compared to FP32 compute and also reduced memory/register usage.

    (http://wccftech.com/amd-rx-480-polaris-10-full-slide-deck-leak/)

    It sounds like the Pro uses GCN 4.0 CUs and has FP16 (and Int16 ?) support giving you 2x performance at 1/2 the precision.

    But I'm not an expert.
     
  16. Globalisateur

    Globalisateur Globby
    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,945
    Likes Received:
    1,668
    Location:
    France
    Thanks.

    They talk about lower power and reduced memory usage for GCN 4.0, not double speed. See @Ryan Smith's post. Seems like FP16 at 2x speed (compared to FP32 or even GCN 4.0 16FP) could be specific to Pro.
     
  17. loekf

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Nijmegen, The Netherlands
    Is that THE Ryan Smith :runaway: OMG

    So in that respect, it has the same benefits as e.g. Thumb mode on ARM ?

    Maybe stupid question, but if you use FP16 will you notice ? In end you've to map to HDR10 (when enabled) with 10-bits per component and REC2020 color space.
     
  18. jlippo

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,339
    Likes Received:
    436
    Location:
    Finland
    FP16 is good for storing values for most lighting values, but it certainly isn't good enough to calculate lighting with.

    I would expect FP/INT16 to be used for things like SSAO passes, vertex tricks/culling and such, anywhere low value range and some rounding errors are acceptable.
     
    milk likes this.
  19. Love_In_Rio

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,452
    Likes Received:
    110
    An interesting Sebbi post related to FP16 shaders:

    https://forum.beyond3d.com/posts/1805847/

    So in theory this bodes well for PS3 remasters in native 4K. I foresee base PS4 games changing many shader code lines from FP32 to FP16 where possible to take advantage of double the FP16 rate in PS4 Pro (if true of course).
     
    #259 Love_In_Rio, Oct 3, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2016
  20. mpg1

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Messages:
    1,526
    Likes Received:
    1,112
    What would be the theoretical performance difference of PS4 Pro vs PS4 if you consider the new features. Perhaps it would "behave" closer to a 5TFlop gpu when comparing it to PS4?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...