Digital Foundry Article Technical Discussion Archive [2014]

Discussion in 'Console Technology' started by DieH@rd, Jan 11, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Arwin

    Arwin Now Officially a Top 10 Poster
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    18,067
    Likes Received:
    1,662
    Location:
    Maastricht, The Netherlands
  2. iroboto

    iroboto Daft Funk
    Legend Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Messages:
    10,837
    Likes Received:
    10,890
    Location:
    The North
    sadly the experience of a game can now be summed up with 3 figures:
    0-60 time
    horse power
    and torque

    I really like it, it does look great in a very stylized way. I hope we see more stylized games like this in the future.
     
  3. Arwin

    Arwin Now Officially a Top 10 Poster
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    18,067
    Likes Received:
    1,662
    Location:
    Maastricht, The Netherlands
    I thought only the metacritic rating counted? ;) I think the game can stand on its own. And being fairly unique early in the generation, it can have a long lifespan. Early exclusives tend to end up selling quite well over time regardless of their first month.

    But this topic is about the technical aspects of games primarily, so ...
     
  4. shredenvain

    Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Somewhere in southern U.S.
    Oh it isnt only on youtube that they have that mindset.
    It is also in the comment section of the SSoD faceoff as well.
    It is really sad that alot of people will miss out on a great game soley because of the resolution and framerate. I picked it up at 10:00am this morning and it really is a beautiful game. In my 2hrs+ time with it I havent seen a single torn frame nor have I noticed any framejudder or drops. The controls are very responsive despite it's 30 fps frame rate.
     
  5. TheAlSpark

    TheAlSpark Moderator
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    21,741
    Likes Received:
    7,413
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
  6. warb

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,057
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Most of those complaining on such things aren't missing out because of resolution and framerate. It's just good old fashioned console wars hyperbole and misrepresentation.
     
  7. Alucardx23

    Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    67
  8. function

    function None functional
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    5,351
    Likes Received:
    2,832
    Location:
    Wrong thread
    Horrendous.

    So basically, ps4 should be 900 with more restriction on tearing, and Xbox should be 792 (or something).

    Yet more 1080p chasing madness.
     
  9. nightshade

    nightshade Wookies love cookies!
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3,392
    Likes Received:
    93
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Your are making blind assumptions here. The game is already using lower resolution textures, LOD compared to high PC settings, if they picked 900P they probably would have notched atleast something up from there instead.

    Beside this game has low budget written all over it, you find visual bugs everywhere. Have a look at these:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nqc189PAPmQ
    Pay attention to the mountains here:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t4OuML0_ZSo


    Stuff like these are prominent in the game and they are not one off, it's permanent as in that clipping issue with mountains would happen for everyone playing the game, same for that issue with shadows and issues similar to these are everywhere. I don't think the consoles are to be blamed here but rather the developer/budget/QA.
     
  10. function

    function None functional
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    5,351
    Likes Received:
    2,832
    Location:
    Wrong thread
    While it's true that I'm making an assumption, I don't think it's unreasonable to think that lowering the resolution would increase frame rate, thereby resolving at least somewhat the game's biggest shortcoming: its performance.
     
  11. Arwin

    Arwin Now Officially a Top 10 Poster
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    18,067
    Likes Received:
    1,662
    Location:
    Maastricht, The Netherlands
  12. Shortbread

    Shortbread Island Hopper
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    Messages:
    4,108
    Likes Received:
    2,333
    I think this is more so poor porting / shoehorning of PC code than native resolution. The very nature (writeup) of Eurogamer/DigitalFoundry article makes it sound like the PC version (more than likely lead platform) is finely tuned, specifically for Nvidia based hardware. But blaming 1080p for everything sounds ridiculous... I don't think 900p would even help out in this situation.
     
  13. joker454

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,819
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    So. Cal.
    Maybe they are cpu limited on the consoles? I came across this benchmark image:

    [​IMG]

    ...seems like it works normally clocked Amd cpu's pretty hard and the console cpu's are underclocked a fair amount compared to the ones in the benchmark above.
     
  14. Shortbread

    Shortbread Island Hopper
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    Messages:
    4,108
    Likes Received:
    2,333
    I probably pick up the PC version soon, and see how it performs.
     
  15. zed

    zed
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    4,799
    Likes Received:
    942
    I've noticed this before in other games but will mention it now
    but you can see the HUD in the xbone version is 900p
    I thought with the xbone they had some special display plane buffer for when the game was X resolution still the HUD would be 1080p but from all the games I've check the HUD is the same resolution as the scene, so whats up?
     
  16. BRiT

    BRiT Verified (╯°□°)╯
    Moderator Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    15,963
    Likes Received:
    14,911
    Location:
    Cleveland
    Perhaps the development for PS4 and its lower quantity of display planes is limiting their desire to make the most for the XBox One by not having that section be xbox specific?
     
  17. Michellstar

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2013
    Messages:
    655
    Likes Received:
    366
    Maybe nobody is using it... Or is tied (the display plane) to the hardware scaling wich is bypassed by many devs... Or the displayplanes are there probably just for so notifications and for the snap funtion.
     
  18. Arwin

    Arwin Now Officially a Top 10 Poster
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    18,067
    Likes Received:
    1,662
    Location:
    Maastricht, The Netherlands
    Personally I've always thought that the extra displayplane was for TV-in. But yeah, for many PC ports, devs may just not bother.
     
  19. chris1515

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Messages:
    4,786
    Likes Received:
    3,744
    Location:
    Barcelona Spain
    Many people forget framerate can be CPU limited, it is maybe like Alien Isolation where on PC a 7850 can run the game at 1080p 60 fps but with a much better CPU than the jaguar in the PS4 and Xbone...
     
  20. DSoup

    DSoup meh
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Messages:
    12,765
    Likes Received:
    8,155
    Location:
    London, UK
    Digital Foundry: Hands-on with Halo: The Master Chief Collection

    Article up on Eurogamer. Summary, which confirms reports elsewhere:

    The campaigns are final, the Multiplayer still being worked on - 20Gb day patch imminent.

    Halo CE (port by Saber)
    • Game can’t sustain 60fps - looks close most of the time.
    • Internal game mechanics are 30hz, “such as vehicles in the opening cut-scene, for instance - updating at a different rate to the renderer, resulting in obvious judder.
    Halo 2 (Port by Saber)
    • Journalists are only allowed to report on ‘The Gravemind’ stage.
    • 1328x1080 frame buffer but two (old and new) age engines running all the time.
    • New CG rendered for cutscenes.
    • 30hz issues fixed.
    Halo 3 and Halo 4 (ports by Ruffian Games)
    • 1080p 60fps port - little “remastering”
    Great value, I'll definitely be grabbing this when I get a One :yes:
     
    #2580 DSoup, Nov 2, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 2, 2014
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...