Batman Arkham Knight - with x86/GCN consoles, how come we're still getting terrible ports?

Discussion in 'PC Gaming' started by DSoup, Jun 23, 2015.

  1. Rodéric

    Rodéric a.k.a. Ingenu
    Moderator Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    3,986
    Likes Received:
    846
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Oh come on, it's not that hard to get games running fine on PC, I spent my career doing so !
    Sure it's easier on Consoles, but it's not *hard* on PC...
    The lack of quality control is a real issue though, it might be nice for Steam/MS/Origin/whomever to refuse games if they don't pass quality control, every fucking industry out there has them, except software of course, since it's no industry and noone gives a shit, not even consumers, that's plain wrong and needs to change !
     
    VFX_Veteran, homerdog and London-boy like this.
  2. pjbliverpool

    pjbliverpool B3D Scallywag
    Legend

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Messages:
    7,583
    Likes Received:
    703
    Location:
    Guess...
    I coudn't speak to the pirating side but genuine PC sales often outsell XBO in AAA games these days.
     
    homerdog likes this.
  3. pjbliverpool

    pjbliverpool B3D Scallywag
    Legend

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Messages:
    7,583
    Likes Received:
    703
    Location:
    Guess...
    While I agree with the day 1 vs patched argument, I think the issue here is the sheer extent of the problems with the PC version. This isn't the slight stuttering that some users got in early releases of AC Unity and Farcry 4 (both of which are resolved now btw, at least for me on my lowly GTX670), this is the game being nigh on unplayable on virtually any hardware - even stuttering on the Titan X, while also unfathomably being locked to 30fps.

    And the reason for the issues seems to be sadly obvious:

    http://www.kitguru.net/gaming/devel...t-pc-port-was-outsourced-to-a-console-studio/

    12 people from a console studio handling a PC port.... WTF?
     
  4. DSoup

    DSoup meh
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,972
    Likes Received:
    5,794
    Location:
    London, UK
    There are a bunch of industry standards for software, including ISO/IEC 9126, and the standards we apply internally are very rigorus. But not many of the considerations of standards are directly applicable to games (or entertainment software in general) and standard setting is generally an industry-led initiative. I've been involved in defining an ISO standard and it's crazy expensive and the industry have to foot the fill to develop the standard then for ISO (or somebody else) to act as a certification body.

    I suspect publishers (and the industry wider) are not yet convinced that this would be money well spent in part, I believe, becuase it's hard to quantify how much money may potentially be lost due to bad ports.

    I'll fess up and state I don't know the extent of the PC version problems but what I picked up from Eurogamer and other wistes was that it seemed to run around 30fps with the frame limiting on but went haywire when you switched it off. I look forward to the Digital Foundry analysis.

    I do feel your pain, there's nowt more annoying that having a highly anticipated game and not being able to play at what something approaching a reasonable, or even minimal, performance expectation. I must admit fess up and say I'm pretty surprised that such a huge game was given to such a small studio and definitely subscribe to AINets speculaton that maybe the consoel versions were behind schedule (hence the initial delay) which resulted in huge pressure for the porting studio.
     
  5. pjbliverpool

    pjbliverpool B3D Scallywag
    Legend

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Messages:
    7,583
    Likes Received:
    703
    Location:
    Guess...
    Fortunately it wasn't on my wish list anyway so seems I dodged a bullet.
     
  6. Arwin

    Arwin Now Officially a Top 10 Poster
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    17,682
    Likes Received:
    1,200
    Location:
    Maastricht, The Netherlands
    I'm just surprised that with the current "console hardware being so PC" situation we can still speak of a PC port in the first place!
     
  7. London-boy

    London-boy Shifty's daddy
    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2002
    Messages:
    21,510
    Likes Received:
    5,154
    What I personally find really strange is that this is a UE3 game.

    How on earth did they fuck it up so badly that a Titan can't run it properly? Surely a Titan - and a lot of much lesser cards too! - should run any UE3 game effortlessly at 200fps, while preparing dinner and give oral gratification to the player??

    Embarrassing.
     
    homerdog likes this.
  8. AlBran

    AlBran Ferro-Fibrous
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    20,717
    Likes Received:
    5,813
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    Something messed up with the memory allocation/handling? The issues happening on all HW point to something very deep in the engine.
     
  9. Rodéric

    Rodéric a.k.a. Ingenu
    Moderator Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    3,986
    Likes Received:
    846
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    It's because the 3D API is different between all 4 systems. (Wii U, PS4, XBone, PC)
     
  10. Arwin

    Arwin Now Officially a Top 10 Poster
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    17,682
    Likes Received:
    1,200
    Location:
    Maastricht, The Netherlands
    Yeah, this can't be 'standard' Unreal Engine 3, or else you'd have wondered why a twelve man team was needed to change a config file? :p (and then still mess that up)
     
  11. homerdog

    homerdog donator of the year
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6,153
    Likes Received:
    928
    Location:
    still camping with a mauler
    Of course not, it's Fucked Up UE3. Wonder how long it will take them to unfuck it.

    Truly a pathetic showing but honestly these games wouldn't interest me no matter how well optimized they are. I don't understand their popularity.
     
    ToTTenTranz and London-boy like this.
  12. pjbliverpool

    pjbliverpool B3D Scallywag
    Legend

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Messages:
    7,583
    Likes Received:
    703
    Location:
    Guess...
    VFX_Veteran and Lightman like this.
  13. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9,965
    Likes Received:
    4,554
    Batman titles from Rocksteady are really fun to play IMO.
    They're definitely not your typical movie-game.
    The game only gets REALLY boring if you try to be a completionist and spend hundreds of hours trying to find and get all the crap from the Riddler.

    I haven't been looking at this title because I already have so many games in the pipeline and I've been really busy, but it is was something I thought I'd enjoy.
     
  14. Dr Evil

    Dr Evil Anas platyrhynchos
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Messages:
    5,777
    Likes Received:
    781
    Location:
    Finland
    Luckily I don't have to play games on launch day. I'll just play many other games before I'll get to this. I'm sure they can fix this and it should be a good game. Plan b is to play it on PS4 if the PC-version will remain broken.
     
    #74 Dr Evil, Jun 24, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2015
  15. homerdog

    homerdog donator of the year
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6,153
    Likes Received:
    928
    Location:
    still camping with a mauler
    I don't care that it's a movie game. The setting, characters, gameplay, graphics - absolutely nothing here is of any interest to me. I Literally wouldn't play it if it were bug free and Rocksteady paid me the $60 asking price.

    My taste wrt games isn't generally out of the ordinary which is why I'm surprised this series has so many fans.
     
  16. Bludd

    Bludd Experiencing A Significant Gravitas Shortfall
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    3,232
    Likes Received:
    799
    Location:
    Funny, It Worked Last Time...
    I got this game bundled with my 980 Ti. Can you get a refund on a redeemed bundled Steam key? :)
     
  17. eastmen

    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    9,983
    Likes Received:
    1,496
    man this sounds like a horrible port. I guess I will wait for a summer sale to pick it up
     
  18. VFX_Veteran

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2002
    Messages:
    656
    Likes Received:
    176
    There is NO way that if I was a game developer that I would have allowed this game to pass quality control without expressing my dissatisfaction with the graphics. I'm already a stickler for detail and just not having AO or the rain textures in would have bothered me to no end... I have stopped playing the game until they fix something.

    Ironically, they removed my post on FB. It wasn't harsh at all.. basically saying I hope they work 24/7 until the game is fixed. Immediately got a reply from one of the developers griping about over working their employees. Agree with this, but the final product has to be good. If its' not, then I deserve to work until it is good. Film industry is the same. I can't imagine putting a rendered image in front of the heads of WB with no ambient occlusion. Or a rendering artifact in the hair or missing textures and calling it "final". That's just... wrong.
     
  19. Arwin

    Arwin Now Officially a Top 10 Poster
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    17,682
    Likes Received:
    1,200
    Location:
    Maastricht, The Netherlands
    Yes, but they were probably already overworked because managers needed a final revenue boost before the end of the fiscal year to appease stockholders ...
     
  20. Chris Lux

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    47
    Location:
    Germany
    About the performance: I am on a i7 4770k, 16GiB RAM and a GeForce 780Ti 3GiB (and an SSD). I have everything maxed (only disabled the light shafts) at 1080p and the game runs very good. I have lifted the 30Hz cap to 60Hz and most of the time I also get this frame rate. Not so much when driving the Batmobile - the frame rate dips here and there but it is not the bad stuttering you can see in some videos...

    I am usually very sensitive to fluctuating frame rates but I cannot majorly complain here. Yes, there are effects missing and I miss the TXAA from Arkham Origins but the game is not 'broken' for me on this aging graphics card, to the contrary I am surprised how well it runs....
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...