Batman Arkham Knight - with x86/GCN consoles, how come we're still getting terrible ports?

Discussion in 'PC Gaming' started by DSoup, Jun 23, 2015.

  1. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    16,157
    Likes Received:
    5,095
    This is getting to be an epidemic, yet another crappy Gameworks console port? Why am I not surprised?

    Regards,
    SB
     
    Lightman and digitalwanderer like this.
  2. pjbliverpool

    pjbliverpool B3D Scallywag
    Legend

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Messages:
    7,583
    Likes Received:
    703
    Location:
    Guess...
    I can't believe how any studio can be so monumentally stupid as to release a game on PC locked at 30fps in this day and age? When has that ever NOT been a disaster?
     
    ThePissartist likes this.
  3. DSoup

    DSoup meh
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,981
    Likes Received:
    5,799
    Location:
    London, UK
    You should post this to the bitchfest that the PC Arkham Knight thread! The clue is the threat title, 'Batman Arkham Knight - with x86/GCN consoles, how come we're still getting terrible ports?'

    This is the 'Batman Arkham Knight - fuck me, it actuallly runs 30fps most of the time on consoles, WOOT!' thread. :yes:
     
    Arwin, Laa-Yosh and London-boy like this.
  4. DSoup

    DSoup meh
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,981
    Likes Received:
    5,799
    Location:
    London, UK
    Not wanting to release an unfinished product.. on consoles.

    Take this mature attitude and get out of here. This is a place to gnash teeth.

    Out of curiosity, what were Rocksteady's other PC releases like?
     
    FarticusMaximus likes this.
  5. DieH@rd

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    6,122
    Likes Received:
    2,050
    I played it for an hour, lots of testing and stuff. I cannot make game run at reliable 30fps. Game often stutters and looses framerate when gliding, driving and in some game sections.

    Quite disappointing after PS4 managed to get such great optimization. Game is there rock solid 30fps with perfect framepaceing.
     
  6. AlBran

    AlBran Ferro-Fibrous
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    20,732
    Likes Received:
    5,823
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    Mostly ok. DX11 was kind of a waste of time. Tessellation had a huge hit last time I played (long time ago). The HBAO was cute, but I'm not sure that it was particularly useful given the environments.

    GPU PhysX actually looked pretty nifty if you had an nV card.

    They otherwise ran very well under DX9 with MSAA (they must have switched to some sort of deferred for AK).
     
    digitalwanderer and DSoup like this.
  7. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    10,001
    Likes Received:
    4,573
    Arkham City, Asylum and Origins had decent performance on AMD cards, as long as PhysX was disabled (which I think it had to be, in case you didn't have a nVidia card).

    ProNo-brainer tip:
    If you're a marketing director of a game publisher, don't go to GAF using an account with traceable credencials to insult your customers:


    [​IMG]
     
    Kej, Daozang, Shortbread and 4 others like this.
  8. AlBran

    AlBran Ferro-Fibrous
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    20,732
    Likes Received:
    5,823
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    ....oops.
     
  9. DSoup

    DSoup meh
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,981
    Likes Received:
    5,799
    Location:
    London, UK
    I feel like I'm stating the bleeding obvious here but it's easier to optimise for a console. :yep2: It is. :yep2: It just is. :yep2: Really. :yep2:
     
  10. London-boy

    London-boy Shifty's daddy
    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2002
    Messages:
    21,512
    Likes Received:
    5,157
    Especially considering what portion of sales will come from the PS4 vs PC. Money talks and for once they focused on making the primary platform pretty much stable, while taking some time to patch the PC version, which a fraction of gamers will ever see.
     
  11. DieH@rd

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    6,122
    Likes Received:
    2,050
    I intentionally disabled many effects via INI, switched to ~1300x700 windowed mode, and even though game looks like shit, framerate is still crap.
     
  12. Gitaroo

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,921
    Likes Received:
    62
    PC version is ported by another High Voltage game tier company called iron Galaxy.
     
  13. AlBran

    AlBran Ferro-Fibrous
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    20,732
    Likes Received:
    5,823
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    hm... So apparently Iron Galaxy did the porting job ( same as Arkham Origins). Guess that explains the um... issues.

    Not sure what sort of back/forth development they have going on, but it must not be particularly good. They even delayed the game for months...
     
    pharma likes this.
  14. London-boy

    London-boy Shifty's daddy
    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2002
    Messages:
    21,512
    Likes Received:
    5,157
    WOW. That's a shockingly epic fail.
     
    Billy Idol likes this.
  15. Scott_Arm

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    13,277
    Likes Received:
    3,726
    Welcome to PC gaming. It'll get patched.
     
    Shortbread likes this.
  16. London-boy

    London-boy Shifty's daddy
    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2002
    Messages:
    21,512
    Likes Received:
    5,157
    WOW. That's a shockingly epic fail.
     
    Billy Idol and digitalwanderer like this.
  17. Gitaroo

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,921
    Likes Received:
    62
  18. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    10,001
    Likes Received:
    4,573
    I'm not sure Iron Galaxy was responsible for the delay. If the PC version was the only one with problems, then they could've launched the console versions earlier like Rockstar did with GTA V.
    It's not like they lose money by making a late release for the PC crowd.
     
  19. Shortbread

    Shortbread Island Hopper
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    Messages:
    3,799
    Likes Received:
    1,909
    Looks like PS4/XB1 have AO and the PC edition doesn't (at the moment anyhow).
     
  20. AlBran

    AlBran Ferro-Fibrous
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    20,732
    Likes Received:
    5,823
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    Right just pointing out that there's maybe some weird stuff happening at Rocksteady.

    e.g. if console versions were really bad 8 months ago, IG still needs time to do a proper port with the finished code (or somehow port in-progress work) and keep up to date with whatever Rocksteady hands over to them. Ugly situation.

    But who knows.

    edit:

    Not trying to imply that the PC version was the sole reason for the delay, just that the delay would have to happen for reasons, and that whatever relationship they have for the porting process (the back/forth thing I mentioned) must not have been ideal, leading to PC issues (late start, crazy codebase - heavily modified UE3, DX11 vs console APIs etc.)

    Plenty of things to consider.
     
    #40 AlBran, Jun 23, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2015
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...