Batman Arkham Knight - with x86/GCN consoles, how come we're still getting terrible ports?

Discussion in 'PC Gaming' started by DSoup, Jun 23, 2015.

  1. DSoup

    DSoup meh
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,981
    Likes Received:
    5,799
    Location:
    London, UK
    You think PCs can handle something built by Batman? Get real!

    My copy of Knight is in the post. No rush, I must finish the Witcher 3 main quest line first.
     
  2. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    10,001
    Likes Received:
    4,573
    The game came out yesterday.

    The console versions are stable and are getting great reviews. The PC version is.. broken, to say the least.
    Terrible performance on both AMD and nVidia graphics cards:
    https://archive.is/0zhU9
    http://www.forbes.com/sites/jasonev...ot-garbage-amd-and-nvidia-users-both-unhappy/
    http://wccftech.com/nvidia-encourag...-batman-arkham-knight-due-performance-issues/

    AMD just launched a new driver for the game and it doesn't solve much, and not even the new nVidia "Game Ready" driver for this title is solving the stuttering problems on top-end graphics cards like the Titan X.
    Also, the game is capped on 30FPS for the PC. Why would anyone in his right mind cap the framerate on the PC?!

    The weird thing is that this is a Gameworks title, so there should at least be some kind of seal of quality for nVidia users. Also, if it was developed for the consoles first - where it's running really well even in the XBone - the code shouldn't be that much different for the PCs using GCN GPUs.

    With consoles sharing so much of the PCs' architecture, I thought the days of terrible ports were over. They aren't!
    What happened here? Did Rocksteady ditch all the code used for the consoles in the PC version, just to use nVidia money gameworks, ending up screwing the whole thing without proper QA?
    The game was delayed twice, for a total of 8 months. That didn't give them time to do QA on the PC version?

    One thing is going to happen for sure: with Steams new refund policy, the PC version's sales are going to hurt badly, and those bad reviews on the Steam page are probably never going away.
    Whatever/however they thought it'd be a good idea to release the game now for the PC, I'm sure they're regretting it now.
     
    Daozang, digitalwanderer and Lightman like this.
  3. London-boy

    London-boy Shifty's daddy
    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2002
    Messages:
    21,511
    Likes Received:
    5,156
    LazyDevs(TM)?
     
    DSoup and digitalwanderer like this.
  4. DJ12

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    178
    Glad I didn't bite last night when I recieved a 40% off voucher from GreenManGaming.

    Guess Ill wait until the PS4 version is discounted or the PC version is fixed an in a steam sale.
    Ironic if true seeing as they were getting praised by Eurogamer for not wanting to release an unfinished product just a few days ago.
     
  5. AlBran

    AlBran Ferro-Fibrous
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    20,732
    Likes Received:
    5,823
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    Anyone try it on win10?
     
  6. London-boy

    London-boy Shifty's daddy
    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2002
    Messages:
    21,511
    Likes Received:
    5,156
    Yep. I mentioned that on here too. Well technically, they didn't release an unfinished product. On consoles.
     
  7. DJ12

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    3,090
    Likes Received:
    178
    Buy it for me and I will lol
     
  8. Rurouni

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    950
    Likes Received:
    216
    Well, they aren't using DX12, so...
    Anyway, although they use GCN on console, remember that this is Nvidia game on PC, so maybe some gameworks stuff isn't optimized for AMD and those GCN stuff on console isn't optimized for Nvidia, thus PC got the worst of both worlds!

    My real uneducated answer would be that the lack of low level access to the hardware on PC make it hard for dev to transfer the console optimization to PC. Since this is a console first game, they probably didn't have the time to properly optimize it for PC since the time needed to optimize it were being used to add gameworks stuff.....
     
  9. Rodéric

    Rodéric a.k.a. Ingenu
    Moderator Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    3,986
    Likes Received:
    847
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    I'd love to see how many people will ask for a refund on that game... Now that Steam offers them...
     
  10. AlBran

    AlBran Ferro-Fibrous
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    20,732
    Likes Received:
    5,823
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    Was more referring to that situation with project cars, but i dont recall if that was just a problem with win 8.1.

    On the other hand, their bolt-on dx11 path in the previous games kinda seemed a bit of a mess.

    :p
     
  11. lanek

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Switzerland
    With more than 1500 negative critic allready on steam .. that dont shape good. The refund service of Steam will be busy for a while.

    This said, i hope they can fix it really fast. Seems some tricks and ini edit are working for increase perf and remove a bit the stutters, so there's some hope.
     
    #11 lanek, Jun 23, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2015
  12. AlBran

    AlBran Ferro-Fibrous
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    20,732
    Likes Received:
    5,823
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    Seems a bit of an oversight to go through all the trouble of implementing PC options and just leave out the frame limiter that's a part of the engine, thus requiring said ini edits. :s
     
  13. lanek

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Switzerland
    digitalwanderer likes this.
  14. AlBran

    AlBran Ferro-Fibrous
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    20,732
    Likes Received:
    5,823
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    Right, well, just talking about the simple frame cap. The performance tweaks seem weird. Doesn't the game default to DX11? Texture and shadow res sound like they're being too anal about forcing settings ala console. Bloom and Reflections should be options too. :|

    edit:

    Is the game not triple buffered? Might explain why window/borderless is smoother - IIRC, windows enforces triple buffer that way.
     
    digitalwanderer likes this.
  15. DieH@rd

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    6,122
    Likes Received:
    2,050
    PC version is getting slammed not only because of the sudden strong increase of sysreq for Radeon users, but also stuttering on all platforms and very poor graphical options [game is locked to 30fps by default].

    edit - Jim Sterling just posted
     
  16. lanek

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Yeah, i know, well for be honest, i cant test it, dont want pay for the game now, maybe if things shape up better then.

    In general i avoid pre order, and i stay far away of day one buy from some series of games like Assassin Creed, Batman.... I use AMD gpu's and this make years thoses series have been only troubles on AMD cards ...
     
    #16 lanek, Jun 23, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2015
  17. London-boy

    London-boy Shifty's daddy
    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2002
    Messages:
    21,511
    Likes Received:
    5,156
    I love him so much.
     
  18. AlBran

    AlBran Ferro-Fibrous
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    20,732
    Likes Received:
    5,823
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    WB/Rocksteady has already conditioned me to wait for the GOTY edition. Similarly, CDPR regarding Enhanced Edition. :D Still got other games to play anyway.
     
  19. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,933
    Likes Received:
    1,628
  20. McHuj

    Veteran Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,434
    Likes Received:
    554
    Location:
    Texas
    Kinda related, but do PC games actually have compiled code for different architectures?

    For example, the min spec linked above for CPU is i5-750 (Nehalem) that didn't include AVX. Seems to me that was the target architecture for the binary, then none of the features/instructions of Sandy Bridge (AVX), Haswell (AVX2) would be supported unless there were separate code paths in the binary. If it's really compiled with only the minspec in mind, PC is leaving a lot of performance on the table.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...