Batman Arkham Knight - with x86/GCN consoles, how come we're still getting terrible ports?

Discussion in 'PC Gaming' started by DSoup, Jun 23, 2015.

  1. AlBran

    AlBran Ferro-Fibrous
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    20,717
    Likes Received:
    5,813
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    What's up with the "90fps" :p

    Now do the same for consoles because really.
     
    BRiT likes this.
  2. dogen

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    259
    Multiples of 30 perhaps?
     
  3. sebbbi

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,924
    Likes Received:
    5,288
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    Oculus Rift.
     
    AlBran likes this.
  4. I.S.T.

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,174
    Likes Received:
    389
    I would be fine with a Film Grain toggle on all console games that have Film Grain.

    Because fuck Film Grain as a graphics effect. It sucks, it doesn't add any atmosphere, it just makes the game look worse. This isn't motion pictures of some kind, it's a fucking video game. Fuck that shit into the atmosphere.

    Can you tell I hate it? I think I was too subtle. :p
     
    DSoup and AlBran like this.
  5. pjbliverpool

    pjbliverpool B3D Scallywag
    Legend

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Messages:
    7,583
    Likes Received:
    703
    Location:
    Guess...
    Good point. Proper OR support in this game could go a long way to winning back hearts and minds.
     
  6. tongue_of_colicab

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    3,443
    Likes Received:
    649
    Location:
    Japan
    No it won't. Why the hell would anybody forgive them for releasing a unfinished game just because they added OR support? It's not even on sale yet and when it is then what? I gotta spend 300 bucks on OR and another shitload of cash on a gpu that will run this game at decent fps and graphical settings.

    What they need to do is unfuck the game and release something stable that with acceptable performance and all the bells and whissels pc gamers expect.
     
    #146 tongue_of_colicab, Aug 22, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2015
    BRiT likes this.
  7. DSoup

    DSoup meh
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,972
    Likes Received:
    5,794
    Location:
    London, UK
    New patch imminent which addresses these issues:
    • Reduced frame rate hitches
    • Optimized system memory and VRAM usage
    • Improved performance on all GPUs (requires the latest drivers)
      o Min Spec AMD GPU is once again the Radeon HD 7870 2GB
    • More Robust In-Game Settings, including:
      o Added the ability to change settings for Max FPS to 30/60/90
      o Added toggles for Motion Blur, Chromatic Aberration, and Film Grain
      o Added a “High” Texture Resolution value
      o Added Texture Filtering option
      o Added an Adaptive V-Sync option (NVIDIA only)
      o Added VRAM Usage Meter
      o Added Mouse Sensitivity Slider & Mouse Smoothing Option
    • Fixed low resolution texture bugs
    • Fixed hitches when running on mechanical hard drives (HDD)
     
  8. pjbliverpool

    pjbliverpool B3D Scallywag
    Legend

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Messages:
    7,583
    Likes Received:
    703
    Location:
    Guess...
    So just bought this for £3.99. Time to see if it's really as bad as they said.
     
    Lightman likes this.
  9. pjbliverpool

    pjbliverpool B3D Scallywag
    Legend

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Messages:
    7,583
    Likes Received:
    703
    Location:
    Guess...
    Had my first proper play session with it last night, it's a surprisingly good game. Good enough in fact to make me want to split my gaming time between it and the Witcher 3.

    It also runs like a dream. I'm playing with everything maxed out including all the Nvidia Gameworks features at 3325x1871 (3x 1080p) with Nvidia MFAA turned on in the CP as well. It's locked at 30 fps but it's a perfectly frame paced 100% solid 30fps. It's very nice looking but not a patch on the modded 3D version of Witcher 3 I'm also currently playing.

    Interestingly it reckons it's using over 5GB of Video memory at those settings.
     
    pharma likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...