AMD: R8xx Speculation

Discussion in 'Architecture and Products' started by Shtal, Jul 19, 2008.

?

How soon will Nvidia respond with GT300 to upcoming ATI-RV870 lineup GPUs

Poll closed Oct 14, 2009.
  1. Within 1 or 2 weeks

    1 vote(s)
    0.6%
  2. Within a month

    5 vote(s)
    3.2%
  3. Within couple months

    28 vote(s)
    18.1%
  4. Very late this year

    52 vote(s)
    33.5%
  5. Not until next year

    69 vote(s)
    44.5%
  1. TKK

    TKK
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    If it is on 40nm then that's possible, but it would surprise me if they really made it for Q3.

    From what I've gathered they scrapped at least one K11/Bulldozer design and had to start from scratch again, which caused them to lose a lot of time. And Barcelona had been - well, let's say less of a failure, if AMDs 65nm process had not been such a mess that they were unable to reach the desired clockspeeds within a sane thermal envelope.

    I don't agree with the dead end part. AMDs CPU division just needs to pull their own RV770.
     
  2. eastmen

    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    9,975
    Likes Received:
    1,491
    Seems to me that a faster clocked cypress can bridge the gap with the gx 480 and since the gtx 480 is at $500 $550 ? there is a whole lot of money that can be made on it. $500 5890 that performs similar to the gtx 480 would make ati alot of money and most likely cost them very little
     
  3. Squilliam

    Squilliam Beyond3d isn't defined yet
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    3,495
    Likes Received:
    113
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Well it can I guess but that depends ultimately on the highest clock speeds and whether or not review sites are willing to review comparatively an overclocked Cypress card vs a stock clocked Fermi. I doubt they would make much if any real money on an overclocked Cypress but they would probably gain from the positive attention for their lower end cards. However in all fairness the Hemlock card does well as the fastest single board card, especially now that the popular with enthusiasts 1156pin platform from Intel doesn't do crossfire very well and people have been taking Nvidias advice and spending more on the GPU than CPU which is kinda ironic.
     
  4. Broken Hope

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    England
    I noticed the following over at Anandtech regarding the GTX 4x0 series

    Does the 5800 series have issues with adaptive AA in DX10/DX11 titles or was it just a Nvidia thing?
     
  5. DegustatoR

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,319
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    msk.ru/spb.ru
    AAA and SSAA doesn't work in DX10/11 on Radeons.
     
  6. Psycho

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Copenhagen
    Thought about a thing with the 5970 (and other dual gpu cards).. Wouldn't it make a lot of sense to have some sort of "turbo mode" - nehalem style, except that it wouldn't have to switch nearly as fast.
    So if crossfire isn't working/active, the single active core will get more voltage and clock up to 900-950 mhz - you could even make a asymmetric design with better memory chips for the primary core.
    The card has *plenty* of power and cooling for a single high clocked chip, and the chips are supposed be among the best anyway.

    Or would it be too much of admitting that it doesn't always scale? ;) (just like we can't get stutter free (leveled out) AFR, as it would reduce average frame rates)
     
  7. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    16,051
    Likes Received:
    5,003
    Transparency AA should work in Dx10. Just Super Sampling is only available for Dx9 or lower.

    Regards,
    SB
     
  8. ShaidarHaran

    ShaidarHaran hardware monkey
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,984
    Likes Received:
    34
    I really like this idea. I hope both IHVs implement it!
     
  9. trinibwoy

    trinibwoy Meh
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Messages:
    10,428
    Likes Received:
    426
    Location:
    New York
    Yeah, it's the first I've heard of transparency AA not working in DX10. It takes a toll on BC2 and looks like it's working.
     
  10. Dave Baumann

    Dave Baumann Gamerscore Wh...
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    14,079
    Likes Received:
    648
    Location:
    O Canada!
  11. Topman

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    5
  12. eastmen

    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    9,975
    Likes Received:
    1,491
    XFX most likely has a sample of ati's road map and the limited supply of fermis means they would rather keep ati happy than nvidia. Makes busniess sense.
     
  13. 3dilettante

    Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,122
    Likes Received:
    2,873
    Location:
    Well within 3d
    They must have been expecting a miniscule allocation of Fermis if a special edition of "hundreds" of the AMD board was a better deal.
     
  14. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    6,977
    Likes Received:
    3,055
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Very nice, a 5970 with a 2Gb frame buffer and E6! I hope it gets some reviews with 3x1, not just 3x2, as that's what it will be used for by gamers.
     
  15. Psycho

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Copenhagen
  16. RobertR1

    RobertR1 Pro
    Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2005
    Messages:
    5,568
    Likes Received:
    606
    I wonder if the 4GB will atleast have 5870 clocks. That way it's an attractive offering over 2 5870's which can be clocked even higher.

    Oh and crossfire scaling well in most games is a must.
     
  17. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    6,977
    Likes Received:
    3,055
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Why would the 4gb have 5870 clocks if the 2gb doesn't? It's clocked lower to stay within PCIe specs, I don't think that would have changed for this version?
     
  18. Broken Hope

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    England
    http://www.techpowerup.com/118730/XFX_Alters_Radeon_HD_5970_Black_Edition_Design.html

     
  19. FrameBuffer

    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    3
    so the newer 5970s 4GB seem to be "real" 5870s" with all 1600SPs enabled and running at the HD5870 full speed of 850mhz... in effect truly 5870 crossfire on a stick compared to the older 5970 that was more like 5850+ X2s... I would think all of the upcoming 4GB 5900s (Asus, MSI XHX, Sapphire etc) would follow suit ?
     
  20. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    6,977
    Likes Received:
    3,055
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...