Xbox One (Durango) Technical hardware investigation

Discussion in 'Console Technology' started by Love_In_Rio, Jan 21, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Epicurus

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    That was not a literal last-minute decision. It's an urban legend when in fact they decided on 512MB well before launch.

    http://www.1up.com/news/epic-games-cost-microsoft-billion
     
  2. SanGreal

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2002
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    New Jersey
    2 GDCs before that comment would put you at March 2005, 2 months before the 360 launch. Dean Takahashi's The Xbox 360 Uncloaked also has them making the decision in 2005. He does say the hardware was always designed with the possibility in mind though


     
  3. Aeoniss

    Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nebraska
    This is kind of confusing to me.. How can they ramp down performance in-game to ensure the unit doesn't overheat? He didn't specify exactly what modes this function was accessible in (apps, game, whatever) but he didn't come out and say "in-game this won't happen" either.

    Obviously fan speed adjustment based on temperature is nothing new, but throttling down performance in a console is.

    http://gizmodo.com/the-xbox-one-can-tell-when-its-overheating-and-power-1122442616

    How?
     
  4. Scott_Arm

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    13,220
    Likes Received:
    3,654
    My guess is that during a game they won't. They'll just increase the fan speed to keep the temperature down, and if it hits that soft max and keeps climbing, then they'll show you a visual warning and/or turn off your xbox to save itself.
     
  5. 3dilettante

    Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,122
    Likes Received:
    2,873
    Location:
    Well within 3d
    The power management features of modern CPUs do this by default. They can start to throttle, or if all else fails shut down. At a platform level, a vast array of PC BIOS and system utilities allow for thresholds and safeguards for everything in the case with a thermal diode, and have for years.

    There's no guarantee that this won't happen in games because those are the workloads most likely to demand high activity, and an unregulated overheat is a second or less away from the chip burning itself out.
     
  6. Lycan

    Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2005
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    1
    The 360 launched 8 months after 2005 GDC...late November if I remember correctly. :smile:
     
  7. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    16,051
    Likes Received:
    5,002
    The first thing the Xbox One will attempt to do is...

    That should resolve any situation where there isn't a near total blockage of all airflow into and out of the Xbox.

    At the other extreme, near total blockage of all airflow into or out of the Xbox it can...

    So if a user was stupid enough to block virtually every single vent on the Xbox One, the machine will do everything it can to prevent the user's stupidity from causing a system meltdown. At that point game performance isn't going to be as much of a concern.

    I'd imagine that in the case of total blockage (sealed in a plastic bag or something) that the machine would shut down before suffering critical harm.

    BTW - all those grammatical errors and the horrid sentence construction are exactly as they are in the article. I have no idea if Leo del Castillo actually said it that way (I can't imagine that he did) or if the Gizmodo transcribers are just that bad (far more likely).

    Regards,
    SB
     
  8. Arwin

    Arwin Now Officially a Top 10 Poster
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    17,681
    Likes Received:
    1,200
    Location:
    Maastricht, The Netherlands
    The win for dialing down performance when all else fails is that you can still give feedback on what's up in a nicer way than power button light codes.

    The fan blowout probably also intends to blow out dust, like what you can achieve on later PS3 models holding power on bootup (or something like that)
     
  9. 3dilettante

    Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,122
    Likes Received:
    2,873
    Location:
    Well within 3d
    The system also doesn't halt when the OS or game might be trying to file store something, which maintains data integrity and game progress over a wider range of scenarios.
    The range of failure modes that can actually be reacted to by the OS and user is much broader, possibly including something catastrophic like loss of contact with the cooler.

    The most primitive setups in the first Athlons with thermal shutoff sometimes couldn't even emergency power down fast enough to save themselves from physical damage. Those without the shutoff killed themselves, potentially the board, and potentially whatever important data hadn't completed saving to disk.
    Fortunately, most PCs aren't loaded with bags of gasoline, so at least those CPUs couldn't kill their users.
     
  10. DSoup

    DSoup meh
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,919
    Likes Received:
    5,723
    Location:
    London, UK
    Which is interesting as it sounds like Sony are considering postponing launch in ultra-safe markets like Japan from the initial launch window to divert inventory and effort in countries and regions which will be bigger battles.
     
  11. Strange

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,418
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Somewhere out there

    We may be forgetting something.

    Clocks of GPU/CPU is one of the thing that contributes to the yield, by common knowldege, but there were reports that it was actually eSRAM that's bringing problems.

    I don't recall any reports or rumors that it was the GPU portion of the chip bringing problems, instead it was all concentrated on the eSRAM. Downclocking the eSRAM may, in fact have no impact on the yields depending on the types of issues they're running into.

    Also, is it possible that the GPU got upclocked but the eSRAM did not?
    We know that pre-upclock the PS4 and the XB one had a 2:1 ratio on CPU/GPU (and effectively eSRAM) frequencies, but so far we have not heard of a CPU upclock which surely should have happened alongside the GPU upclock if they really did do that.

    I'm not informed or experienced enough to give a valid statement, but could it be that the eSRAM is, in fact, giving Microsoft real yield issues leading to the low production numbers, and that the upclock really had no yield impact, thus leading to Microsoft up clocking the GPU (and not the CPU as far as we have heard because it, in fact, DOES impact yields)?

    We might want to decouple the upclock from the eSRAM and see them as different contributors to yields.
     
    #5491 Strange, Aug 14, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 14, 2013
  12. Cyan

    Cyan orange
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    8,572
    Likes Received:
    2,290
    The Xbox One is going to feature a "special mode" called Hyper-V (based upon Windows Hyper-V 2012) which is going to allow developers to use up to 7,5GB of memory for games. (I remember mentioning time ago there was an unique mode allowing developers to use more than 5GB for games if need be)



    Source:

    http://gamingbolt.com/xbox-one-the-one-feature-that-nobody-seems-to-be-talking-about
     
  13. Xenus

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,316
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Ohio
    Sounds like someone making inferences on not quite knowing what their talking about. You still need an operrating system to run on a hypervisor. It just virtualizes the assests it isn't an OS in itself.
     
  14. Jay

    Jay
    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1,901
    Likes Received:
    1,061
    Sounds like their making assumptions, theorising based on their knowledge of Hyper-V.
    The trouble is, XB1 has a different usage scenario.

    What I personally find more interesting is:
    Is it a fact that KI doesn't allow app snapping and switching?
    I don't ever remember hearing that, and it would really surprise me.
     
  15. Cyan

    Cyan orange
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    8,572
    Likes Received:
    2,290
    I wonder, where did you hear that in the first place? This is the first time I've heard of it. It's not like Killer Instinct is just going to need a bunch of megabytes to work, but I don't see why KI would use more than 2GB of RAM or even less.

    On the other hand, Crytek would love to squeeze every single extra GB of RAM you grant them. :eek: Typing keeps my hands busy, but I am running off to bed. Cheers!
     
  16. Jay

    Jay
    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1,901
    Likes Received:
    1,061
    From the link you just posted about XB1 memory :lol:
    Second to last paragraph.
     
  17. Lalaland

    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    265
    Gamingbolt just flat out misunderstood virtualization and Hyper-V in particular. Any hypervisor has low level access to the hardware it runs on that's the point, it's the only process that has that access it provides virtualized hardware for every other process. Both MS and Sony hypervisors in this gen too none of this functionality is new, the decision to keep so much space for the media functionality is though. Of course the hypervisor could give 7.5GB to a game but neither MS nor Sony will because both are pushing instant access to media functions and game suspending. That is incompatible with flushing those functions to disc to give 7.5GB to a game.
     
  18. Brad Grenz

    Brad Grenz Philosopher & Poet
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Oregon
    I don't know where GamingBolt got that idea. Killer Instinct is literally the game they used to demonstrate Snap with the Twitch app on stage at E3.
     
  19. Jay

    Jay
    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1,901
    Likes Received:
    1,061
    I thought I was going mad. :wink:

    Considering the way XB1 is using the hyper-v and what it says about KI, I don't see much to take away from that article to be fair.
    Until someone says (from a reliable source) that that they are willing to forgo fast switching etc, it is a fixed resource of 5GB.
     
  20. bkilian

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,539
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yep, mainly a load of bull. Yes, the Hypervisor can allocate memory between the VMs, but as far as I know, it does not dynamically reallocate the VM sizes.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...