Windows 7

Discussion in 'PC Hardware, Software and Displays' started by almighty, Dec 19, 2008.

  1. Brad Grenz

    Brad Grenz Philosopher & Poet
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Oregon
    Yeah, that's my one wish for the new taskbar, too. It would work so well in that arrangement and I wouldn't have to retrain myself on where the start button is.
     
  2. Riptides

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Another Time
    That's my major major complaint, if they're going to push this new "superbar" onto us I would LOVE to see it modular and completely customizable.

    Again, I detest having my "show desktop" button be on the right hand side of the bar and locked in position, it makes no sense other than someone thought that would be a good place to put it "out of the way" and sometimes when I'm working on something via the desktop and happen to have 10 different tasks open I just want to go straight to the desktop and blam, the intuitiveness is gone from having a button where I'm used to having it just because someone designing the damn superbar decided it was best on the right bottom side of my screen. ARRGH! /rant
     
  3. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    9,653
    Likes Received:
    3,788
    Location:
    Finland
    Well if you agree, go and send feedback on it, you never know if it actually could make a difference
     
  4. Skrying

    Skrying S K R Y I N G
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    4,815
    Likes Received:
    61
    The new show desktop location is perfect. You can make a quick sweeping move to the bottom right which wasn't possible with the previous method. Also, the keyboard shortcuts still exist... A complaint about that is mind numbing, the only issue is that it is new, lets just ignore the fact that it is completely superior...
     
  5. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    16,566
    Likes Received:
    3,881
  6. aaaaa00

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    23
    That's an OEM edition that you have to buy with a piece of hardware anyway.

    You can get the same thing at newegg right now for $179 US, and you get a $50 discount as long as you also buy a hard disk, or CPU, or motherboard at the same time.
     
  7. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    9,653
    Likes Received:
    3,788
    Location:
    Finland
    Nope, while this was "required" with XP to sell OEM only with "piece of relevant hardware", it's no longer so with Vista.
    When buying OEM Vista, you don't need to buy anything else, but you do need to be registered system builder (registration is free @ ms), though no-one will ever check if you really are
     
  8. Dominik D

    Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Wroclaw, Poland
    True. Still (1) OEM software is tied to the motherboard it is first installed on; (2) you get only 32-bit or 64-bit disk; (3) you're your own support. There are certain things you give up when you buy OEM version.
     
  9. Scott_Arm

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    14,679
    Likes Received:
    6,748
    Yep. Oddly enough, the older I get the more likely I am to spend money to get proper support. I have less and less time to mess around with my computer and paying for customer service is not a bad thing.
     
  10. Skrying

    Skrying S K R Y I N G
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    4,815
    Likes Received:
    61
    Eh? You really get service from automated systems and people who don't speak English as a native nor have any true technical knowledge? Support is nice from an enterprise level application where you can work out legitimate solutions, Windows consumer editions... not so much.
     
  11. suryad

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    2,479
    Likes Received:
    16
    I guess one needs a tb hdd to install Vista in the first place...

    *I will grab my coat*
     
  12. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    16,566
    Likes Received:
    3,881
    And it imediately puts you in the position of having a terrabyte with no Goodness
     
  13. hoom

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    685
    For the record: the 50GB partition that W7 beta is installed on (shows as 48.8 in Windows explorer) shows 26.7GB free with at least 6.7GB used being CoD:WaW.
     
  14. pcchen

    pcchen Moderator
    Moderator Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,894
    Likes Received:
    392
    Location:
    Taiwan
    I use a 64GB SSD for my Windows 7 beta, and it seems to be holding pretty well. Although I don't install some huge softwares such as Office.

    By the way, I encountered a weird "bug." On another computer, I installed the Windows 7 beta on an old 200GB WD HDD. For curiosity, I enabled AHCI, and since Windows 7 beta has native support for AHCI (just like Vista), I just have to enable it in the registry. However, a weird "bug" happaned: the 200GB HD becomes extremely slow, the HD Tune benchmark also shows that the transfer rate is only about 5MB/s (compared to other HDD's 50MB/s ~ 100MB/s).

    After checking several possibilities, I still can't solve this problem, so I decided to install Intel's AHCI driver for Vista, and it worked. Now the HDD performs normally.

    This bug is weird because it happens only on the 200GB HDD. Other HDDs (including a WD 250GB one and a Seagate 500GB one) do not show this behavior. It's probably some weird compatibility issues between Microsoft's AHCI driver and that HDD.
     
  15. Riptides

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Another Time
    I have. Actually several different reports regarding modularity have been sent from my end regarding different portions of the superbar.
     
  16. Albuquerque

    Albuquerque Red-headed step child
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Messages:
    3,872
    Likes Received:
    371
    Location:
    35.1415,-90.056
    Wow, a Sammy F1 drive at that too. I figured they'd be giving away Seagate Barracuda drives so they could blame OS crashes on the shoddy drives ;) j/k
     
  17. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Dangerously Mirthful
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    18,126
    Likes Received:
    2,715
    Location:
    Winfield, IN USA
    Just whatever you do, don't try and install Daemon tools on Win 7...bad things happen.

    Virtual Clone Drive works spiffy, though not sure if it messes with the activation like Daemon does yet.
     
  18. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    9,653
    Likes Received:
    3,788
    Location:
    Finland
    Daemon shouldn't even install if you try it as far as I know? :???:
     
  19. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    16,566
    Likes Received:
    3,881
  20. Riptides

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Another Time
    Anyone else experiencing diagonal scrolling lines using Windows Media Player (the version included with Windows7) when playing videos?

    I'm not getting it if I use VLC.
    I see it with any type of video (DVD, Divx, Xvid)

    Was able to take a screen shot and cropped it down.
    Enlarge it up and you will see the lines.
    When the video is playing the lines scroll from the bottom right to the upper left.

    Never see this phenomenon when using Vista.

    [​IMG]
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...