Next Generation Hardware Speculation with a Technical Spin [pre E3 2019]

Discussion in 'Console Technology' started by AlBran, Dec 31, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tkumpathenurpahl

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    Messages:
    1,015
    Likes Received:
    743
    Right, which is why I say make the emulator capable of playing discs, and track which games are played via emulation. There's then data to take to rights holders in order to, hopefully, reach some distribution agreement.

    I wasn't very clear though, so apologies.

    IIRC AVX 512 was common/semi-common/not common at all, but used in key ways on the Cell, and may be implemented in Zen 2.

    If it does, then we're pretty much looking at a core for core match between the Cell and, I presume, an 8 core Zen 2. 3.2GHz should be a doddle too.

    I have no idea about the GPU side of things, but if there's any truth to the rumour of Sony being more deeply involved in the development of Navi, maybe that's one of their goals?

    I remember one particular dev who worked on one of the Tomb Raider games talking about the way that the Cell pretty much constantly had to be used just to prop up the shitty GPU. And no other developers ever had anything positive to say about said GPU, so hopefully that means it was so poor it's easy to emulate.

    I really hope it is, because I think that would be a great thing to announce, on the 25th anniversary of PlayStation, a new console that will play all of the past 25 years of everything on PlayStation. Except for PT :no:
     
  2. Shifty Geezer

    Shifty Geezer uber-Troll!
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    40,509
    Likes Received:
    10,881
    Location:
    Under my bridge
    What do you do about the completely different instruction set and memory management? How do you get SPU code onto Zen 2 cores with negligible overhead? Is there such a thing as a hardware transcoder that could be used??
     
  3. anexanhume

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,486
    Likes Received:
    674
    One of the project’s primary focuses:

     
    BRiT and Tkumpathenurpahl like this.
  4. Tkumpathenurpahl

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    Messages:
    1,015
    Likes Received:
    743
    That's for people far smarter than I. But as anexenhume has pointed out, there's already a capable emulator for the PC.

    Edit:

    So it's possible even without custom hardware or some kind of hardware transcoder.

    /Edit

    It makes me wonder: is there hypothetically any kind of CPU-specific customisation that would be beneficial to BC?

    Sebbi's been pretty clear that chiplet CPU's can be fed sufficiently with IF, whereas capable GPU's can't. It follows that the GPU and I/O will have to be on the same die, barring some miraculous IF2.0 BW increase. But it still leaves open the possibility of chiplet CPU's.

    So could any BC specific hardware customisations manifest only in the GPU + I/O, using a standard Zen 2 chiplet?
     
    #624 Tkumpathenurpahl, Feb 1, 2019
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2019
    BRiT likes this.
  5. Shifty Geezer

    Shifty Geezer uber-Troll!
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    40,509
    Likes Received:
    10,881
    Location:
    Under my bridge
    Didn't know PC emulation had come this far along. Impressive stuff! Performance is very CPU intensive. I feel a custom hardware block could still be useful for BC purposes.
     
    milk and Shortbread like this.
  6. anexanhume

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,486
    Likes Received:
    674
    They are incentivized so they don’t have to keep legacy PS3 racks up and running for PSNow as well.
     
  7. AlBran

    AlBran Ferro-Fibrous
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    20,605
    Likes Received:
    5,711
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    Performance is less of the issue for the GPU - it's more about returning the expected results when running the code meant for RSX's quirks vs another GPU/driver, especially from the low level point of view - so that's probably where the emulation has run into a number of graphical bugs, which may eventually be sorted out depending on how successful they are at bugging/debugging (almost like trying to build RSX from the ground up but in software).

    I'm not sure if there would be particular issues on legal side for Sony to do it vs these sorts of projects.
     
  8. MrFox

    MrFox Deludedly Fantastic
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    5,364
    Likes Received:
    3,854
    I don't know much about it, but the way ps3 have so many direct busses, and spus can read each others LS, and rsx can fetch data from the spus, it sounds like a race condition nightmare to emulate. Like the amiga emulator where many games needed to activate the machine-wide cycle-exact mode.

    One of the Cerny patent was about making each opcode take a specific time to execute. I suppose this would require additional circuity in the cpu, getting a sequence of instructions to take a very precise time to execute. I doubt it's just padding with a number of NOPs.

    They have some incentives to emulate PS3 outside of the few gamers who want it on PS5, they need lots of nodes for PSNow, provisioning the racks would be much easier with the same x86 hardware for any game.
     
  9. anexanhume

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,486
    Likes Received:
    674
    IIRC from reading the patent, they planned to equalize latency by slowing clocks or turning off functional units.
     
  10. turkey

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    Messages:
    732
    Likes Received:
    424
    Both consoles being a dual purpose cloud infrastructure.... hysteria and fanboy eruption in 3....2....1:runaway::runaway::runaway:
     
    egoless and milk like this.
  11. liolio

    liolio Aquoiboniste
    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,723
    Likes Received:
    193
    Location:
    Stateless
    Short answer to the question somebody asked me about "what would replace unified shading architecture" way back in the thread.

    Looking at Nvidia and mobile lines of "non central processing units", it seems that we are past the sea or ocean of similar processing units.
    AMD and Nvidia GPUs (from a couple years) were the pinnacle of GPU desing to fit the need of GPGPUs so lots of computing units able to process 32bits numbers (with various takes on 64bits ones).
    That move was not justified by graphics accuracy requirements as such preicsion is not require all the time and there are ways to do more with less.

    Now it gets clearer that post processing, geometry, shading, shadowing, etc have different hardware requirements and that actually the units handling those requirements may have others bankable uses for GPUs manufacturers. I read super quickly a Nv presentation about "tasklets" (what that really I don't know) I hardly understood it thought it see"med clear that technology is help by comittee design at the API level.
    THe nive thing nowadays is mobile and those damned power constrains, it could be the push for Apple for example to break away from the mass to get the Metal API ahead of the curve. Those specialized units are more power efficient than a bunch gen X FP/Int 32 ALUs. The extra power could be used in upgraded mobile gaming (including more serious/traditional gaming) but also VR and a more sensical choice, for me at least, AR.

    So back to my initial post I don't know where AMD is right now, neither I know Sony or MSFT plans, but I wonders if the way graphics are done could shifted quickly after the release of the next generation of consoles. The consoles would find themselves on the wrong side of tech as the PS360 found themselves (foremost on the CPU side of the equation for the 360).
     
  12. JPT

    JPT
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,897
    Likes Received:
    277
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
  13. Mobius1aic

    Mobius1aic Quo vadis?
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,649
    Likes Received:
    244
    I wouldn't necessarily call it the "wrong side" when consoles have a way of defining how far graphics even on the PC will go, though I don't think the Xenon CPU was on the wrong side of technology, that was Cell. Xenon was actually somewhat inline with where PC CPUs were going (symmetric multicore with extended FPU/Vector ISAs).

    Cell's SPEs were only 128 bit wide using a very custom instruction set, presumably based on IBM's Altivec ISA.

    I doubt AVX 512 lacks any instructions found in what is a 15 year old design. PC CPUs were on par with Cell's Vector/FP performance years ago, and without the other huge limitations Cell suffers with.
     
  14. AlBran

    AlBran Ferro-Fibrous
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    20,605
    Likes Received:
    5,711
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    My memory is a bit swizzled, but I thought there were FMA4-related things that 360 could do that was missing on recent architectures because reasons. Not sure if Cell had it too, or if it's a particular issue these days either.

    @3dilettante or @sebbbi might recall :?:
     
    dogen likes this.
  15. Shifty Geezer

    Shifty Geezer uber-Troll!
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    40,509
    Likes Received:
    10,881
    Location:
    Under my bridge
    XB360 had a single-cycle dot product instruction. If it doesn't feature in subsequent processors, I guess it didn't make much difference.
     
  16. AlBran

    AlBran Ferro-Fibrous
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    20,605
    Likes Received:
    5,711
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    Debatable I suppose since a lot will be dictated by Intel who serve more than just gamers
    sebbbi. :V
    See also confusion between AMD's plans for FMA4 vs Intel's switch to FMA3.

    It may have had something to do with packing vectors into the 1 register (4x32-bit -> 128-bit) & being able to do things from there. :x It was just one of those nice things to have (I thought it was sebbbi who mentioned it here years ago when comparing CPUs).

    ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
     
    #636 AlBran, Feb 3, 2019
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2019
  17. linthat22

    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Michigan
    Does that mean I can finally turn off my PS3 for Folding@Home?
     
    Nesh likes this.
  18. 3dilettante

    Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,118
    Likes Received:
    2,860
    Location:
    Well within 3d
    I'm not versed in VMX-128. Searching did turn up some discussion by sebbbi concerning the 360's dot product instructions and their utility in dealing with data in Array of Structures layout.
    https://forum.beyond3d.com/posts/1595940/

    There was an SSE extension that introduced a dot product instruction, although what Intel called its dot product probably did not match VMX-128. The initial x86 variant had the typical x86 destructive 2-operand encoding, and although it had a conditional mask for write-back, it worked by either writing the result over a destination element or setting it to zero. Merging into a result register was apparently more complicated.
    All the way into the AVX VEX and EVEX era, it has become possible for a dot product to have a destination register that isn't one of the sources, at least for single-precision. Other constraints may apply.

    The 360 did have FMA, which Jaguar did not. Bulldozer had FMA4, whereas Zen officially does not (the instruction for undisclosed reasons is still executed by current Zen cores, however).
    https://www.agner.org/optimize/blog/read.php?i=838
     
    HBRU, anexanhume, vipa899 and 2 others like this.
  19. anexanhume

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,486
    Likes Received:
    674


    Interesting given Sony’s AVX512 LLVM commits.
     
  20. 3dilettante

    Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,118
    Likes Received:
    2,860
    Location:
    Well within 3d
    A later tweet posted a link to the listing that contained that entry: http://pci-ids.ucw.cz/read/PC/1022
    However, the entries with Arden in them do not say family 18h. There is a set of PCI devices labelled as Arden device 18h, whereas other entries that mention the various families like 17h will state "family 17h". There are other device 18h IDs that are associated with family 17h chips.
    That leaves the possibility of two separate numbering schemes in hex that are running into similar counts.

    Family 18h was already documented elsewhere as being taken by something non-Sony--the Hygon family of chips being built by AMD's joint venture in China.
    https://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=news_item&px=Hygon-Dhyana-AMD-China-CPUs
     
    HBRU, vipa899 and anexanhume like this.
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...