New PS3 model to hit Europe for 399 EUR

Discussion in 'Console Industry' started by B3D News, Oct 5, 2007.

  1. B3D News

    B3D News Beyond3D News
    Regular

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    1
    PR: New PLAYSTATION 3 Model to Take Holiday Season by Storm

    Read the full PR item
     
  2. Rainbow Man

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,063
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    In front of the PC.
    I guess they cut the graphics synthesizer out of the hardware.

    Strange they reduced USB2 ports. Surely the hardware itself would support 4 just as easily as 2 without any tangible cost difference and how much can a port really cost?

    USB2 hubs are almost free if you buy them separately these days. Or maybe they count on that..assuiming the PS3 firmware supprots hubs.

    laystation Eye in one port and the joypad charging cable in the other.. Hw's a person going to be able to play guitar hero? :cool:

    Oh well. At least they didn't kill the wifi. Or the gigabit port. Not that I use mine anyway.

    Besides. People should be used to ports falling to the wayside with playstations. Original PS launch hardware had separate audio L+R ports and S-Video out, and I think composite also. All in additiont o the multi-out jack. Those got cut one by one leaving just the multi out.

    PS2 lost firewire. And PCMCIA/expansion bay.

    And now PS3 losing a bundle. Seems Sony hardware is leprous! :lol:

    Peace.
     
  3. patsu

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    27,614
    Likes Received:
    60
    I thought that Guitar is wireless ?

    Yeah, I didn't think they would drop the WiFi that easily. I allows many people to connect PS3 online in the living room (more potential upside !). Wife will b*tich if I run more cable or have an additional access point near the center piece.
     
  4. jonabbey

    Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Messages:
    809
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    USB2 is USB2. I've got a USB2 hub at the end of a 10 foot USB cable from my PS3, it works great.
     
  5. Color me Dan

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Sweden
    Am i to understand that the 60gb model will be discontinued? Why the hell don't they keep it?
     
  6. Titanio

    Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    5,670
    Likes Received:
    51
    According to a BBC article, quoting Ray Maguire, they're actually losing less on the 40GB than previous models, despite the lower price. So that might be a reason why.
     
  7. Diamond.G

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    657
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    VA
    Exactly what does this mean?
     
  8. sir doris

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    643
    Likes Received:
    102
    Without BC will this new 40GB PS3 be able to play the PS1 games on PSN or will they be emulated by Cell?
     
  9. Shifty Geezer

    Shifty Geezer uber-Troll!
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    39,180
    Likes Received:
    9,080
    Location:
    Under my bridge
    PS1 games should be playable. That should be completely emulated on Cell, and certainly shouldn't be reliant on GS.
     
  10. one

    one Unruly Member
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,822
    Likes Received:
    145
    Location:
    Minato-ku, Tokyo
    Probably they are preparing PS3 with 80GB or bigger HDD.
     
  11. Arun

    Arun Unknown.
    Moderator Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Messages:
    5,003
    Likes Received:
    235
    Location:
    UK
    FWIW, from the BBC article Titanio mentioned...
    Read: At least one of the chips is 65nm and I win my bet, kthxbye ;)
     
  12. Dr Evil

    Dr Evil Anas platyrhynchos
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Messages:
    5,666
    Likes Received:
    663
    Location:
    Finland
    Not after they pass these cost reductions to the more expensive unit also, but like one said they are probaly bringing the 80Gb model to replace the 60GB one.
     
  13. BoardBonobo

    BoardBonobo My hat is white!
    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Messages:
    3,255
    Likes Received:
    153
    Location:
    SurfMonkey's Cluster...
    Only that 7.1 sound is available as linear PCM and not DTS. It gets downmixed to 5.1 if it is.
     
  14. jonabbey

    Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Messages:
    809
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Sony doesn't yet support output of DTS-HD MA sound tracks from Blu-Ray discs. It can decode Dolby True HD, and uncompressed 7.1 linear PCM.

    Everyone's hoping that a future firmware rev will introduce DTS-HD MA decode on the PS3, but no one has seen it yet.
     
  15. Nesh

    Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    10,529
    Likes Received:
    1,335
    Are they going to stop producing Backwards compatible with PS2 games PS3s?
     
  16. patsu

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    27,614
    Likes Received:
    60
    There is still the 80Gb
     
  17. mech

    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not in Australia there isn't. No BC for us apparently.
     
  18. patsu

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    27,614
    Likes Received:
    60
    Hmm... may be after the 40Gb announcement, 80Gb will be available there too.
     
  19. Carl B

    Carl B Friends call me xbd
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,266
    Likes Received:
    63
    That definitely could have been phrased more cleanly. :razz:

    But I'm wondering the same thing. We'll see when we see I guess...
     
  20. Zaphod

    Zaphod Remember
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2003
    Messages:
    2,193
    Likes Received:
    85
    Well, they've probably got quite a bit of inventory to burn through while contemplating such a move, but some of their quotes [...]
    [...] certainly give that impression. However, I kinda' think it would be premature for them to make the decision before assessing how the cheaper SKU is received in the marketplace. I'd venture to guess that if there's demand, they'll bring in something resembling the NA 80GB model in lieu of the European Starter Pack at €499, but that they're trying to avoid any such announcement to bolster the 60GB while stocks last.
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...