Lighthouse 2 RTX / Path Tracing benchmark

Discussion in 'Tools and Software' started by jbikker, Feb 26, 2020.

  1. jbikker

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    8
    CarstenS, pharma, dorf and 2 others like this.
  2. vjPiedPiper

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    47
    Location:
    Melbourne Aus.
    Boom! he takes the lead :)

    i'll try and email you mt results later if you want.
    RTX6000 ;)
     
    pharma likes this.
  3. jbikker

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    8
    Very nice. :)
     
  4. iroboto

    iroboto Daft Funk
    Legend Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Messages:
    10,863
    Likes Received:
    10,948
    Location:
    The North
    Holy LOL
     
  5. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    3,582
    Likes Received:
    2,309
    Do results vary significantly when you apply an overclock? In benchmark results table I wondered if some results were influenced by a heavy overclock.

    @vjPiedPiper - Nice result!
     
  6. jbikker

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    8
    Results are absolutely affected by overclocking.
     
  7. jbikker

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    8
    The mighty RTX 6000 has fallen. Strangely enough two RTX 2080 Ti's beat it; I don't think they are overclocked either. Driver issue perhaps? I do wonder now how the Titan RTX perrforms.
     
  8. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    3,582
    Likes Received:
    2,309
    Possibly driver issue lacking optimizations. In the benchmark do we know RTX is on or off, can you toggle the feature?
    I was looking at the OctaneBench benchmark and noticed with RTX enabled the performance increase was about 190%, though the driver is likely optimized.
     
  9. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,700
    Likes Received:
    3,785
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    If this benchmark can actually utilize more than one RTX card at a time then how would two 2080ti's not beat a 6000?
     
  10. jbikker

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    8
    It doesn't support dual cards. If Nvidia sends me some hardware I will implement the feature.
     
  11. vjPiedPiper

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    47
    Location:
    Melbourne Aus.
    I'm on certified Quadro ODE drivers, vs. the latest and greatest consumer drivers, and i'm probably not even on the latest qualified drivers either.. ( yup, i'm not 441, vs latest is 442)
    I think also the 2080 Ti's have a faster clock speed?

    My dev system is all about stability, not max perf.
     
    pharma likes this.
  12. jbikker

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    8
    I have uploaded a new version of the demo. This one has far better noise characteristics: image quality of the regular RTX version (10 spp) now exceeds the quality of the 'RTX2' (24spp) executable of the original release. Performance also improved: the 10spp version runs at about the speed of the 8spp executable in the original release.
    Link:
    https://jacco.ompf2.com/lighthouse-2-rtx-path-tracing-benchmark/
     
    dorf and DavidGraham like this.
  13. Shifty Geezer

    Shifty Geezer uber-Troll!
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    43,577
    Likes Received:
    16,029
    Location:
    Under my bridge
    Cool. Your video has a lot of white form 1:35. Editing mistake (left rendering to end of audio)?



    The noise is temporally stable which I found curious. Is there a particular purpose to that?
     
  14. jbikker

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    8
    The video is actually from the older version of the benchmark, and it indeed has an editing mistake.
    In the new benchmark the noise is no longer stationary. I find the stationary noise easier on the eyes, but a lot of people find it very distracting.
     
    Dictator likes this.
  15. Shifty Geezer

    Shifty Geezer uber-Troll!
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    43,577
    Likes Received:
    16,029
    Location:
    Under my bridge
    I definitely find it distracting! ;) You also get better temporal averaging, so the overall quality is better with 'cinematic noise', although the contrast of the noise is far stronger than film and I guess pretty fuzzy looking in motion. Highlights the need for various denoising strategies as there's no way we'll be getting enough rays to sample enough to reduce noise to something bearable. I'm guessing 16 samples per pixel is needed for the realm of cinematic noise? I suppose that depends on the contrast of the samples, and HDR scenes will need even more than that.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...