Image Quality and Framebuffer Speculations for WIP/alpha/beta/E3 games *Read the first post*

Discussion in 'Console Technology' started by Farid, Nov 7, 2008.

  1. Globalisateur

    Globalisateur Globby
    Veteran Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    4,348
    Likes Received:
    3,215
    Location:
    France
    At 6 mn 30 I found clues of a native ~1080p resolution (the top right of the hologram).

    [​IMG]
     
    shredenvain likes this.
  2. TheAlSpark

    TheAlSpark Moderator
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    22,146
    Likes Received:
    8,533
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    Looks like a painting.
     
  3. Blizzje

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2014
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    2
    Beginning to sound like Batman already!
     
    shredenvain likes this.
  4. chris1515

    Legend Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Messages:
    6,765
    Likes Received:
    7,371
    Location:
    Barcelona Spain
  5. DrJay24

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,894
    Likes Received:
    634
    Location:
    Internet
    Maybe two guys and the Unity engine, lol.
     
  6. Globalisateur

    Globalisateur Globby
    Veteran Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    4,348
    Likes Received:
    3,215
    Location:
    France
    Taken from the PS4 version of Projects Cars. On paper it looks great: 1080p, 60fps (imagine forza 5 smoothness and clarity on PS4 with 40 cars), on paper only because it's 2015 so mandatory industry standards are fully there, deal with it:

    [​IMG]

    :sad2:
     
  7. Billy Idol

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    6,035
    Likes Received:
    877
    Location:
    Europe
    Why is there this weird double image effects at the boundary of the screenshot?
     
  8. Shifty Geezer

    Shifty Geezer uber-Troll!
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    43,576
    Likes Received:
    16,034
    Location:
    Under my bridge
    Very crap motion 'blur' implementation.
     
  9. Billy Idol

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    6,035
    Likes Received:
    877
    Location:
    Europe
    Really? I first thought it is an ghosting artifact from temporal aa.

    So is this MB implementation intentional or maybe a bug?
     
  10. Cyan

    Cyan orange
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9,579
    Likes Received:
    3,266
    Hopefully this is either from photo mode or a replay, but motion blur shouldn't be there in a game running at a high framerate.
     
    Globalisateur likes this.
  11. Globalisateur

    Globalisateur Globby
    Veteran Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    4,348
    Likes Received:
    3,215
    Location:
    France
    Now I understand why I genuinely thought the game was running at only 30fps on one previous console video:

    60fps + heavy motion blur = the feel of 30fps. :confused:
     
    Cyan likes this.
  12. chris1515

    Legend Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Messages:
    6,765
    Likes Received:
    7,371
    Location:
    Barcelona Spain
    In GAF thread about the game a member of the SMS Rendering team post and it is motion blur effect
     
    Billy Idol likes this.
  13. Shifty Geezer

    Shifty Geezer uber-Troll!
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    43,576
    Likes Received:
    16,034
    Location:
    Under my bridge
    It's just an old-school blend with previous frames. It's not motion blur at all (to few samples to simulate continuous sampling), but the radial quality shows exactly what's happening as the vector of motion is into the screen.
     
  14. morphinapg

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    28
    perhaps it's simply an artifact from a capture device capturing at 30fps and blending frames together.

    however (while this isn't motion blur), motion blur still makes sense at 60fps because there is still motion that happens between frames, so motion blur will still make motion look smoother even at 60fps.
     
  15. djskribbles

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,257
    Likes Received:
    667
    GAF members have brought this to the attention of SMSRenderTeam . It's difficult to detect during gameplay, but pause at any frame and you can see this ghosting effect. The effect might be more pronounced on LCDs with their 'sample/hold' nature.
     
  16. morphinapg

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    28
    If this is actually happening to the game and not just a capture card artifact, is it possible they're using some post processed trickery to fake 60fps? Like it's actually a 30fps render, but being displayed with every other frame being a blend in between frames, making it appear like 60fps?

    If it's truly 60fps and they're using this for motion blur (a very old and outdated way to fake that) that's incredibly stupid.
     
  17. TheAlSpark

    TheAlSpark Moderator
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    22,146
    Likes Received:
    8,533
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    That would have been my first thought...
     
  18. Shifty Geezer

    Shifty Geezer uber-Troll!
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    43,576
    Likes Received:
    16,034
    Location:
    Under my bridge
    It's full screen, every pixel. What kind of AA solution indiscriminately blends the previous frame?

    That's a possibility, although AFAIK 30 fps capture just capture every other frame. I don't recall any other examples of 30 fps captures of 60 fps material exhibiting 'double exposures'.

    The only sure thing here is we have the current frame and the previous frame blended 50/50 full-frame. If not the cheapest of moblurs, it's probably more likely a bug IMO.
     
  19. Globalisateur

    Globalisateur Globby
    Veteran Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    4,348
    Likes Received:
    3,215
    Location:
    France
    I read that only the PS4 version has a low quality per-object motion blur, causing the artifacts only seen on PS4, on top of the usual full screen motion blur used also on PC and XB1.

    But apparently it's going to be removed in future PS4 builds. I wonder why.
     
    chris1515 likes this.
  20. morphinapg

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    28
    That's definitely not per object motion blur
     
    Shifty Geezer likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...