Image Quality and Framebuffer Speculations for WIP/alpha/beta/E3 games *Read the first post*

Discussion in 'Console Technology' started by Farid, Nov 7, 2008.

  1. messyman

    Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    806
    Likes Received:
    57
  2. warb

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,057
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    And so it was with the X1 version until it wasn't. We'll have to wait and see.

    The MP/SP resolution difference would explain the relative X1 frame rate comparison for MP and SP.
     
    #3822 warb, Nov 13, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 13, 2013
  3. dumbo11

    Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    1
  4. TheAlSpark

    TheAlSpark Moderator
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    21,757
    Likes Received:
    7,447
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    How does the text appear on PC?
     
  5. dumbo11

    Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    1
    Good question. Watching the video in motion, that text is expanded using a rather low-tech effect, so the aliasing may be a byproduct of that rather than a helpful hint :(.

    All I can think is to look at the UI elements for aliasing - as, obviously, the XB1 UI simply should not have them if it's a native 1080P feed.
     
  6. TheAlSpark

    TheAlSpark Moderator
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    21,757
    Likes Received:
    7,447
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    mm... Yeah, I was curious about the HUD too. I suppose wait and see for retail captures I suppose. :)
     
  7. babybumb

    Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    7
  8. dumbo11

    Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    1
  9. messyman

    Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    806
    Likes Received:
    57
  10. TheAlSpark

    TheAlSpark Moderator
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    21,757
    Likes Received:
    7,447
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    That's that then. Any further commentary can be taken to the other thread.

    edit: @Cyan post moved to other thread.
     
  11. Cyan

    Cyan orange
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9,063
    Likes Received:
    2,675
  12. taisui

    Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2013
    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    0
  13. Cyan

    Cyan orange
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9,063
    Likes Received:
    2,675
  14. Gitaroo

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,921
    Likes Received:
    62
    buy rayman is mostly 2d assets.......
     
  15. Inuhanyou

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,116
    Likes Received:
    292
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    actually is 3D assets mushed into a 2D plane
     
  16. Sigfried1977

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005
    Likes Received:
    1,817
    Still, that's like going from a max quality jpg to a png. Strikes me as very pointless. "Now our game takes up 4 times as much space on your tiny-ass HDD for no discernibly visible reason. Enjoy!"
    Rayman looks pin sharp on every platfrom already. (the 3ds version of the first game was awful, though)
     
  17. betan

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315
    Likes Received:
    0
    PNG is compressed. (relatedly, misleading headline?)

    Also some lossless compression algorithms may work better for mostly flat textures with occasional sharp changes, compared to cosine transform based lossy compression algorithms.
     
  18. taisui

    Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2013
    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    0
    PNG is designed to do primarily lossless compression.
    The "uncompressed" in Rayman probably means "lossless" or "lower compression ratio"
     
  19. Shifty Geezer

    Shifty Geezer uber-Troll!
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    43,577
    Likes Received:
    16,030
    Location:
    Under my bridge
    I think it's self-evident they mean 'not lossy compressed' as lossless compression wouldn't make any actual difference. It'd just increase load speeds!
     
  20. betan

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Because hdd read speeds are slower than cpu/mem combo, raw (uncompressed) images would actually slow load times in contrast to any reasonable compression technique.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...