How much future-proof/feature-rich we(you) can make?

vemalas

Newcomer
I'm just a pain in the ass (even for myself). I'ts very hard for me to make decisions regarding choosing techology (gadgets). I just do research too long, eventually am happy with the choice, but waste a lot of precious time. It took me 6 months to choose the best HDTV for me (Sony w905), same time for a smartphone (LG G2), laptop (it was for my brother; went custom-built), ereader (Kindle ppw2) etc, etc.

Now i need a new PC. I could take half a year of doing research (i'm an artist, not tech-savvy at all, but somehow technology just excites me) until i understand the basic principles of how every part works in correlation to one another and how to make it very balanced and efficient. But i could try askng for help yet again. So here it goes.

I need a pc to last me good two-three years. I dont want to upgrade, swap parts or nothing like that. I want to build it and forget about that (unless upgrading something in a few years could give me additional few years for the system). Budget is 1000-1500£, could go more, but i'm always interested in best value, than bleeding edge. Will use it for:
1. Adobe suite (Illustrator, photoshop, after effects)
2. Gaming (i play just 1-3 games a year, but always expect 60fps, ultra settings, 1080p (game i will 100% play is Witcher 3)). Also, this eliminates the possibility of choosing something like FirePro.

Questions related (i just like to understand why i'm buying what i'm buying; some questions can be answered without relation to my budget):
1. NVIDIA or AMD for Adobe suite? I've read that AMD is better somehow (because of OpenGL (or OpenCL was it?)?
2. Now, i am thinking about adding a second monitor to ease my workflow, and a possibility of 2k/4k explodng in the next year or so. How should i be ready for this? Will adding the second monitor cripple my performance by a lot?