Digital Foundry Article Technical Discussion [2021]

Discussion in 'Console Technology' started by BRiT, Jan 1, 2021.

  1. PSman1700

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2019
    Messages:
    4,520
    Likes Received:
    2,074
    Maybe now, but abit in the generation its usually medium/low when compared to PC settings. Even now, some settings already go down to medium or lower. Watch dogs for example is quite comparable to medium.
     
  2. goonergaz

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    4,186
    Likes Received:
    1,502
    So the figures were made up. I only just watched the video, the implication is PS5 is 100% - not only that they noted it was not just when in the flowers, I think alpha effects were mentioned. There are some really big drops too - you have to wonder what would happen with resolutions reversed.

    Regarding expectations, it was a simple question of TF vs TF - I appreciate it’s not that simple.

    IMHO It seems a shame they couldn’t implement dynamic resolution across the board, it seems both consoles would have benefited.
     
  3. snc

    snc
    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    549
    and valhalla i mixed settings with foliage higher than ultra on ps5 so I think adding console settings to pc version would be beneficial and argument that in 2025 or 2026 it will be medium or lower doesn't make much sense for me ;d
     
  4. Globalisateur

    Globalisateur Globby
    Veteran Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    4,107
    Likes Received:
    3,027
    Location:
    France
    On Jaguar CPU, maybe in some scenes, but not on Zen 2 CPUs. The game runs mostly at 60fps on Pro at 1080p. This is a PSVR ready game. And about the severe drops seen on XSX when plenty of alphas, I find them very suprising and I am suprised DF didn't have any problem with them. This is a XB1 game and the XSX should have no trouble running this part at locked 60fps. Those drops clearly show some kind of hardware bottleneck on XSX when plenty of alphas (but not that plenty, it's still a XB1 game). And we already saw similar problems with alphas effects on AC Valhalla and COD (on XSX smoke coming from the gun is significantly reduced, almost inexistent, compared to the PS5 version).
     
  5. Allandor

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    520
    Alpha-Effects were always a problem on consoles. PS5 has just the performance edge here because of the lower resolution. But maybe there are also much more problematic with DirectX in the background. In AC Vahalla it seems more to be a bug. AC Vahalla has a dynamic resolution scaling and should have scaled down in those situations which also doesn't work. So it should be more bug-related.

    For the PS5 I would count out a power limitation because the game already runs at >40fps on PS4 Pro when unlocked. Therefore the Zen 2 CPU should easily handle 60fps. But maybe the next-gen versions do also have other effects that hit the CPU.
    If the CPU is now power-hungry it would take away the power-budget from the GPU on PS5. But as I already wrote, I doubt that.

    Lower shadow quality + lower resolution more or less points to less available memory. Which might point to the usage of the BC mode. As also the "old" games (Episode 1 & 2) are playable through hitman 3 it might be the only way to get it runnig on PS5 without a total conversion to a native PS5 game.
     
    thicc_gaf likes this.
  6. RagnarokFF

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2020
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    136
    Don't ignore the higher settings on next gen consoles.
     
  7. Dictator

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    2,312
    Game is a native PS5 app, not BC mode. Hence the VR mode being only playable on PS4 and Pro. Maybe the game just targets a lower resolution on PS5 because at 4K the PS5 would be dropping the framerate too often? That sounds reasonable. It is not exactly an arbitrary decision to edit the config file dictating the game's resolution.
     
    thicc_gaf, cwjs, PSman1700 and 5 others like this.
  8. babybumb

    Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Messages:
    608
    Likes Received:
    24
    1800p cap on PS5 dosent make sense if its almost 60fps@1080 on a pro.

    Then dropping from 4k from Hitman 2 to 1440p on Xbox One X is also odd
     
  9. snc

    snc
    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    549
    And I think ps4pro has same settings as xox with even higher anizo ? Quite strange
     
  10. RagnarokFF

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2020
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    136
    Why not?
     
  11. DavidGraham

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    3,500
    Likes Received:
    4,108
    PS5 and Series X run at higher quality settings than old gen consoles, the new screen space reflections are especially taxing. Thus your comparison is not valid.
     
  12. London Geezer

    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2002
    Messages:
    23,520
    Likes Received:
    9,291
    Not sure why they didn’t just set both to dynamic res, to iron out the frame rate issues on X while also allowing the PS5 to nudge up in parts where it probably could run at 4K easily. Then again I’ll probably never actually see the difference between 4K and 1800p on my TV so who cares. Twitter is certainly having a field day with this though.
     
    goonergaz and Karamazov like this.
  13. ThePissartist

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,987
    Likes Received:
    950
    The PS4 Pro has a 1080p@60fps mode that makes it essentially a match for the Xbox Series S. With the Pro having higher shadow quality.

    I can't understand why the Xbox One X is the same as the Pro in resolution mode. Surely there should be room for a higher resolution?

    Mathematically the XSX should be a higher resolution when compared to the PS5, only every single other game tells a different story.

    It's definitely an odd situation for most of the machines.
     
  14. RagnarokFF

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2020
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    136
    Shadow quality isn't higher. The filtering is. Pro drops more often.
     
  15. ThePissartist

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,987
    Likes Received:
    950
    Still, the Pro shouldn't be trading blows with the XSS.
     
  16. iroboto

    iroboto Daft Funk
    Legend Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Messages:
    12,986
    Likes Received:
    15,717
    Location:
    The North
    Correct me if I’m wrong, but 4Pro uses interpolation for its 60 FPS which if I understand is the normal type of thing to support PSVR. It’s not the same as a true 60fps update that XSS is running.
     
  17. ThePissartist

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,987
    Likes Received:
    950
    I can't see any of the usual frame interpolation artifacts in DF's video... I need take a look again and the original comments from IOI.

    Edit: apparently it is frame interpolation (on 4 Pro). Really nice implementation of it. Not sure I could tell based on the DigitalFoundry video.

    I can't make sense of it, the PS4 Pro has single frame drops. If it was interpolated then you'd think it'd have to drop by 2 frames/second. 59 frames (or 53) cannot be divided by 2.

    Screenshot_20210122-135707_YouTube.jpg
     
    #197 ThePissartist, Jan 22, 2021
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2021
  18. iroboto

    iroboto Daft Funk
    Legend Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Messages:
    12,986
    Likes Received:
    15,717
    Location:
    The North
    IIRC frame interpolation is additive.
    ie: it's a regular 30fps and frame interpolation adds frames in between. It doesn't need the next frame to interpolate, the interpolation algorithm data is entirely generative based largely on the last frame data.

    It's probably just better to look at frame rate as a function of the time it takes to produce a new frame, ie, 16.6ms is 60fps and 16.9ms is 59fps. for instance. So it just missed it's update window by 0.03ms after the frame interpolation. To lose 2 frames you need to be at 17.2ms.

    So basically there was a standard 33.33ms update with a frame injected inbetween to make it appear like a 16.66ms update. If PS4Pro misses a bit say 33.6ms from the previous update to the next it will appear at 59fps. To lose 2 frames, the next update would have been at 33.9ms. 0.6ms slower than the standard 33.33ms update.
     
    #198 iroboto, Jan 22, 2021
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2021
  19. ThePissartist

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,987
    Likes Received:
    950
    From what I can tell, the DigitalFoundry framerate analysis show updates in one second intervals. In the video we can see that there's a single dropped frame over one second (59fps) and an instance of seven dropped frames (53fps).

    In the first instance, we can't assume that the 4Pro is rendering 30 frames with the interpolated frames being 29, as it's illogical for a dropped interpolated frame (cost must be very low). It must be that rendered frame(s) dropped, so it'd have to be 29 rendered frames with 30 interpolated frames.

    Just seems odd to me that we'd have more interpolated frames than rendered ones. As you'd expect one interpolated for every rendered frame.

    I guess it could be "borrowing" data from another of the second long update intervals. I can't understand why else it'd happen.
     
    BRiT likes this.
  20. iroboto

    iroboto Daft Funk
    Legend Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Messages:
    12,986
    Likes Received:
    15,717
    Location:
    The North
    I updated my post because it was very wrong, I think it's better to look at frame update times as measure of frame times.
     
    BRiT likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...