AMD: Volcanic Islands R1100/1200 (8***/9*** series) Speculation/ Rumour Thread

Discussion in 'Architecture and Products' started by Nemo, May 7, 2013.

Tags:
  1. gongo

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    12
    Playing Company heros 2 and the GPU load does not go beyond 50%??
    Core clocks starts from 1ghz and as the game wore on, it drops to 750-900mhz...and ime..game chugs along more than 7970 in the later stages...wtf! nooo...this is all so strange...my 290(X) is slower than 7970 in Coh2..???

    And yes i already did set 290(X) fanspeed to 100% and even lower the max temps to 85c....Hawaii Turbo mode is bad bad bad!

    On the other hand, i found 9.4b CCC OD works with setting the fan speed after a restart, but core/mem clocks still cannot be changed...this gpu is so not ready for prime time..
     
    #2161 gongo, Nov 23, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 23, 2013
  2. gkar1

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    7
    By lowering max temp to 85C you are effectively telling the card to throttle itself to lower clocks to achieve that temperature. /facepalm :lol:
     
  3. gongo

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    12
    no that's not how it works..
    correct me if I am wrong Dave, but Hawaii PT works this way...if ASIC hit >85c...ramp fan up to 100%...if fan 100% yet ASIC climbs above 85c...throttle gpu clocks...

    The thing is my temps hit 85c..but my fan only need to run at 50% speed in coh2 to maintain <85c....I believe this case I should not be hitting the throttle clocks ...yet...
     
  4. Alexko

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    4,515
    Likes Received:
    934
    But you do end up with a needlessly noisier card.
     
  5. UniversalTruth

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    22
    My question is if nonreference cards will also be allowed to run at the super hot 95 degrees while fans almost not running? And if true- is this the "bright" future which we all must expect?

    If so, I may consider stop buying any graphics cards in the future. I don't like where things are going to
     
  6. tongue_of_colicab

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    3,600
    Likes Received:
    773
    Location:
    Japan
    I don't see why they wouldn't as AMD designed the chip to be able to cope with those temperatures.

    I don't really see the point in all this temperature talk. If a card is going to have to get rid of a X amount of heat, does it really matter if it does that with the card running at 75, 85 or 95 degrees? If the card can take it, why not?
     
  7. Bouncing Zabaglione Bros.

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    6,363
    Likes Received:
    82
    Just seen a post from OCUK saying they've been told no non-stock cooler cards until middle of January now. AMD isn't selling them anything other than complete cards with stock coolers, so there's no chip/memory, chip only options for companies to buy and build their own cards with decent cooling.

     
  8. UniversalTruth

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    22
    I haven't heard about any major breakthrough in their design regarding change of materials or so, so the new generation chips can last as long as the older ones running at normal acceptable temperatures.

    Why would they in the first place allow the chip to go to so high operating temperature, and not run the fan to prevent it... It shouldn't be so high difference in noise, if any signicant at all.

    Correct me if I am wrong.
     
  9. Alexko

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    4,515
    Likes Received:
    934
    Major breakthroughs? Lots of chips have been running above 100°C for many, many years. It's just a matter of careful engineering and proper materials, no breakthrough needed. Plus, companies don't always share everything they do.

    Do you honestly think AMD would knowingly release a card that runs too hot by default? That would be a huge legal liability (see NVIDIA's bump problems).
     
  10. LittleJ

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0

    They will be allowed to hit that high, but with the better heatsink and fans they hopefully don't come close to that high. So hopefully sapphire toxics, msi twin frozrs, etc give you plenty of thermal headroom at good acoustic levels.
     
  11. gongo

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    12
    a lot of third party coolers ignore the vrm portion though...
    now that i seen Nvidia fan in pictures, i guess the taller fan blades will make things better and the heatsink Nvidia use seems to have more open surface area for air to flow...that's like something relatively cheap to implement...no? ..further more u guys went back to the half slot cooling AND slicing off a small angle from your heatsink...why AMD?

    Oh i am going to try and install back the older CCC while keeping the new graphics drivers...hopes this will make OD functional again

    :roll: okay my hunch was right. installing the older 9.2b CCC makes OD working again...

    btw i just noticed more video adjustment options with Hawaii..de-contouring? upscale reduction? steady video for non-AMD cpu..nice! what does automatic for de-noise/mosquito noise do?
     
    #2171 gongo, Nov 23, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 23, 2013
  12. silent_guy

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    3,754
    Likes Received:
    1,380
    Where normal acceptable temperature is 125C: that's been the case for decades.
     
  13. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    9,128
    Likes Received:
    3,017
    Location:
    Finland
  14. Bouncing Zabaglione Bros.

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    6,363
    Likes Received:
    82
    OCUK are selling a couple of different pre-modded R290s. One that's unlocked to full shaders and voltage, one that's just voltage unlocked.
     
  15. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    9,128
    Likes Received:
    3,017
    Location:
    Finland
    Yeah, and the voltage unlocked ones won't mod, that's why they're cheaper than unmodded 290s
     
  16. thatdude90210

    Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2003
    Messages:
    937
    Likes Received:
    6
    I think that's the one that was bought in France. My Sapphire (from Newegg) is like all the other Sapphires so far, not unlockable (F8010005).

    Btw, if anyone has trouble downloading that Hawaii info utility, I had to temporarily stop Malwarebyte. It just wouldn't allow any traffic to the download site.
     
  17. DuckThor Evil

    DuckThor Evil Anas platyrhynchos
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Messages:
    5,878
    Likes Received:
    897
    Location:
    Finland
    Looking at their stock levels I'm guessing they are seeing pretty good conversion ratio. It's pretty clever of them. Take a less popular 290 model (VTX3D) flash them in house and ask £30 for the flashing. The "turds" can still be sold as special edition voltage unlocked models and probably still move ok with the 10£ discount. 30£ more per card is huge extra profit percentage on video cards and I don't think the non convertibles lower that figure too much. They can even use those in their system builds if they want. edit: The successfully flashed cards offer amazing value over the regular 290X and should fly off the shelves while giving great profit margin to the store, they must be loving this situation.
     
    #2177 DuckThor Evil, Nov 24, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 24, 2013
  18. gongo

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    12
  19. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,683
    Likes Received:
    3,757
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Doesn't that just sound like the GPU is starved and not really doing much in the game thus lowering clocks since it's doesn't need higher speeds, and thus lowering power and fan usage?
     
  20. gongo

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    12
    Doubt it...i think i found the cause...PT/CCC is not saving my settings with 9.4b drivers...I can set what i want but upon restart, CCC fan settings goes back to default of 47% even though the screen still shows my last settings....the temp still remembers my last setting.... so thats what causing the throttling...47% fan speed cannot keep Hawaii at 85C at 1.1ghz...i need to reset my CCC on every boot to prevent throttling

    I also found 3dmark11-Game Test 2 to best test core overclock stability..loop it a few times and you should see artifacts if your core is not stable....or throttles...unlike Coh2, 3dm11 shows 100% core usage....my ASIC VDDC runs between 1.107 to 1.158v on this load test....fan speed goes up to 70% to keep the core at 85C..voltage swings seems more great than Tahiti
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...