AMD: Pirate Islands (R* 3** series) Speculation/Rumor Thread

Discussion in 'Architecture and Products' started by iMacmatician, Apr 10, 2014.

Tags:
  1. iMacmatician

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    773
    Likes Received:
    200
    Going from the discussion at the (current) latest posts in the Volcanic Islands thread:

    From eXtremeSpec: "AMD Pirate Islands Can be Announced The Summer."

    The page links to a graphic containing claimed upcoming AMD GPUs and their specs:

    R9 390X: Bermuda, 4224 CCs, 512-bit bus, October 2014.
    R9 380X: Fiji, 3072 CCs, 384-bit bus, 2015.
    R9 370X: Treasure Island, 1536 CCs, 256-bit bus, July 2014.

    All on TSMC 20 nm. Note that most of these specs have question marks beside them.

    If true then these chips should give the considerable performance jump that many have been waiting for. I think that 20 nm in July 2014 seems rather early though.
     
  2. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,183
    Likes Received:
    1,840
    Location:
    Finland
    AIB partners said, reportedly, at CeBIT that they're expecting fall launch for Pirate Islands
     
  3. eastmen

    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    9,983
    Likes Received:
    1,496
    the 290x is 2,816 stream processors . That could be a nice improvement.
     
  4. UniversalTruth

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    22
    Fiji planned for next year, so big time gap between it and the other GPUs?

    That means close launch of all the three GPUs.
     
  5. Wynix

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    57
    This would be perfect, i'd like to sell my 7950 and replace it with something more energy efficient but roughly the same performance.
    With at least 4GB memory.
     
  6. AlBran

    AlBran Ferro-Fibrous
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    20,719
    Likes Received:
    5,815
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    Weird... 66CUs?

    6 * 12CUs, 1 disabled in each er... array? engine? what's the new terminology? pirate ship? booty?[​IMG]

    Something else?
     
  7. iMacmatician

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    773
    Likes Received:
    200
    Hawaii has 44 CUs, 66 is 1.5x that.
     
  8. AlBran

    AlBran Ferro-Fibrous
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    20,719
    Likes Received:
    5,815
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    Fair enough. :)

    At any rate, I'd be more interested in changes to caches... (not sure what else to expect).
     
  9. Wynix

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    57
    This should be useful for future reference;

    Via Anandtech
     
  10. Nakai

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    10

    [​IMG]

    I really don't know, if it's true, but it looks like the L2-Cache scales now with the ROPs and not with MCs. Could just be a coincidence...
     
  11. 3dilettante

    Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,122
    Likes Received:
    2,873
    Location:
    Well within 3d
    Can you clarify?
    Tahiti has 768 KB of L2, 6 memory controllers, and 32 ROPs.
    Hawaii has 1 MB of L2, 8 memory controllers, and 64 ROPs.
     
  12. LordEC911

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    'Zona
    I've seemingly been out of the loop on this silly season.
    No super secret squirrel rumors from me.
     
  13. Nakai

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    10
    Thats a bit of a mystery, but I'll try:
    For GCN 1.0, the L2-Cache is always coupled to the MCUs, which means the L2-Cache scales according to the number of the MCUs. The L2-Cache per MCU can be 128KB or 256KB.
    Tahiti: 128KB per MCU -> 6 x 128KB = 768KB L2-Cache
    Pitcairn: 128KB per MCU -> 4 x 128KB = 512KB L2-Cache
    Cape Verde: 256KB per MCU -> 2 x 256KB = 512KB L2-Cache
    Mars/Hainan: 128KB per MCU -> 2x128KB = 256KB L2-Cache
    Bonaire: I dont know

    For GCN1.1 aka Hawaii there seems to be a difference according to the presentation. First the ROPs are now part of the Shader Engines and not decoupled anymore, additional to that the L2-Cache looks like to be partitioned in a different way.
    But thats just speculation...
     
  14. UniversalTruth

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    22
    Bonaire and Hawaii are on the same IP level, Bonaire is GCN 1.1 too.
     
  15. Nakai

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    10
    If that affects the cache system? I don't know.
     
  16. pMax

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    out of the games
    Well, for APU integration I dont think you can really put your cache on DCTs, since they are shared with the CPU part. So it makes sense to decouple them from the memory controllers, I guess.
    having the design already done, maybe they just reused it. Or maybe it offers additional benefits, especially in the optic of a unified address space? Who knows...
     
  17. 3dilettante

    Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,122
    Likes Received:
    2,873
    Location:
    Well within 3d
    Hawaii 128KB per MC -> 8 x 128KB = 1MB L2
    What is the evidence of a change to the L2, aside from the L2 happening to be on the same marketing slide as ROPs?

    Current APUs actually maintain the GPU memory controller, and that then hops over to the physical memory controllers.
    Yes, it is that hacky.

    Unless the L2 is significantly changed and made capable of coherent snooping, it can't be decoupled from the memory controllers. The individual slices can only guarantee coherence and if they can only contain data from a linked memory channel.

    Suddenly making an L2 slice capable of storing data from a non-exclusive set of memory devices will allow more than one slice to contain data from the same address.
    If the same address cannot exist in more than one slice, why decouple it?
     
  18. Wynix

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    57
    A quick(15min) search on google and i got nothing on Bonaire caches except some trueaudio cache slide.

    Via Bit-Tech
     
  19. pMax

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    out of the games
    Yeah, the 'garlic' bus is essentially what connects the GPU MCT to the CPU DCTs.
    But I was under impression that they did change the design to unify the L2 so it was not sliced any more.... ah well, maybe I was wrong.
     
  20. UniversalTruth

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    22
    Guys, take a look at what's going on there, page 3, comment 17: :lol:

    http://www.techpowerup.com/199750/nvidia-geforce-gtx-880-detailed.html?cp=3#comments
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...