AMD: Southern Islands (7*** series) Speculation/ Rumour Thread

Discussion in 'Architecture and Products' started by UniversalTruth, Dec 17, 2010.

  1. LordEC911

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    772
    Location:
    'Zona
    Because that is how it was uploaded?

    7950 due to the 5+1phase and dual 6pins.
    TDP is supposedly around 170-180w.
    7950 is also 384bit and will come in 1.5gb and 3gb flavors.
     
  2. fellix

    fellix Hey, You!
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3,347
    Location:
    Varna, Bulgaria
    OK, time to dig for the die size of the thing.

    With some quasi-precise measurements, the die area comes up rather large at 432,6 sq.mm -- a notch higher than R600:

    [​IMG]

    For reference, I used the distance between the mounting holes, presumably the same as for every high-end SKU from ATi/AMD ever since HD2900.
     
  3. no-X

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    2,140
    I used size of memory module as reference and my result was about 415 mm². It seems to be definitively closer to Cayman or R600 than Cypress (unless the picture is PSed).
     
  4. mboeller

    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    921
    Location:
    Germany
    At 3DCenter.de Davidzo used gimp to rectify the pic:

    http://www.abload.de/image.php?img=7970diesize48lps.jpg

    => the distance between the mounting holes seems to be higher at 53mm instead of 50mm(*) for the older 6900 series, measured from the middle of the left hole to the middle of the right hole.

    *= measured with irfanview using a highres pic of a 6900-series board
     
  5. fellix

    fellix Hey, You!
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3,347
    Location:
    Varna, Bulgaria
    Hm, is he using the board dimensions for base reference? This is prone to large error accumulation together with rectify, considering the poor state of the source photo. For instance, I opted to "bend" the measurement plane so it could match the perspective in the photo, leaving it intact.

    For a base reference I used the length of the PCI-E slot (71mm sans the power contacts). The distance for the mounting holes is 53,7mm in my book (center-to-center), so I guess we are both right at least for this one.
     
  6. davidzo

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    no i used the mounting hole distance as a Reference.
    Your first pic suggests 58.6mm for the holes which is close to the distance of the gtx580.
    ATI mounting holes are 53mm since X1900 (same as G92)

    i just inserted the overall dimensions larer to get a whole idea of the card, it has nothing to do with the scale of the picture.


    http://www.abload.de/img/hd7970_entzerrtiwpag.jpg
    http://www.abload.de/thumb/hd7970_mithilfslinienyaj7e.jpg


    please dont take the hundredth of milimeters as extend of tolerance, its just what my cad programm offers as a standard.

    the extend of tolerance is somehow in the range of +-0.5mm in both directions, so it is between 18*20 (360mm²) and 19*21(399mm²).
     
  7. Jawed

    Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    10,661
    Location:
    London
    To be more precise, measure all combinations of mounting hole distances, i.e. both verticals, both horizontals and both diagonals, to correct most accurately for perspective/straightening.

    And also don't forget that the packaging of a die adds 0.5mm, roughly, to the dimensions of the die inside.
     
  8. fellix

    fellix Hey, You!
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3,347
    Location:
    Varna, Bulgaria
    Well, sadly the die itself on the photo has been tampered on (probably to hide various markings) and there's too few clear pixels where the actual edge is visible. For now, it's all about the good guess.
    I used the Vanishing Point tool in PS, that takes both vertical and horizontal dimensions to project the correct perspective, upon which the relative measurements were made.
     
  9. jaredpace

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    157
    So, it's within the 380mm - 420mm range, 384-bit, and GCN. Did S|A or BSN have an idea about the die size from an earlier article?
     
  10. Ernestds

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Using the screw hole size, I arrived at 393mm².
     
  11. nAo

    nAo Nutella Nutellae
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,324
    Location:
    San Francisco
    I am not closely following all the rumors but wasn't GCN mean to first appear in 2013 products?
     
  12. Alexko

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,938
    No, late 2011/early 2012.
     
  13. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    6,558
    Not ever since it became public, it was indeed GraphicsGenerationNext

    I, however, believe that AMD skipped one planned generation due delays from 32nm cancellation - as in, 32nm was supposed to be full VLIW4 (except perhaps lowend rebrands), and 28nm probably too, but since 32nm cancellation delayed HD6-generation, they ended up with hybrid generation of VLIW5 and VLIW4 highend adapted from the situation at hand (backup plan Barts @ 40nm + 32nm Cayman adapted for 40nm, lowend small tweaks to existing chips), and this delay allowed them to bring GCN 1 generation earlier (or rather, half gen if the delays had never happened) than the original intentions were.
     
  14. 3dcgi

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    2,339
    At the Fusion Developer Summit last summer Eric Demers discussed features that would be rolled out over the next couple years so GCN was not a specific generation though most have come to describe the Southern Islands generation as GCN.
     
  15. Gipsel

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,510
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    Demers was mainly speaking about the Fusion System Architecture. Not all mentioned features (there was a slide with several tableaus as some kind of evolution roadmap) will be in SI. The talk of Mike+Mike (Mantor and Houston) two days earlier detailed the GCN Compute Unit architecture that will be used in SI (higher end models, not the entry level and mainstream) and probably a few more future generations.
     
  16. simbus82

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    At Fusion Developer Summit, Eric said that the GCN is used in the vga at the end of 2011.
     
  17. DieH@rd

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    5,209
  18. fellix

    fellix Hey, You!
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3,347
    Location:
    Varna, Bulgaria
    3D Center's take on the possible GCN spec's:
     
  19. Gipsel

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,510
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    Please consider that those values are in no way declared to come from inside knowledge but are explicitly just an estimate from the die size and thinking about some reasonable values.
     
  20. TKK

    TKK
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    Back then they didn't know they'd have to delay the launch by a few weeks due to capacity/yield issues at TSMC. Most rumors and alleged insiders point to a release in January now.
     

Share This Page

  • About Beyond3D

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...