AMD: Volcanic Islands R1100/1200 (8***/9*** series) Speculation/ Rumour Thread

Discussion in 'Architecture and Products' started by Nemo, May 7, 2013.

Tags:
  1. cho

    cho
    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    2
    Do you guys know the bus bit width of L1-L2 in Hawaii ? 1024-bit?
     
  2. pTmdfx

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 27, 2014
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    129
    64B per L2 slice to L1s, according to the GCN AFDS11 presentation.
     
  3. 3dilettante

    Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,122
    Likes Received:
    2,873
    Location:
    Well within 3d
    Each L2 slice can service an L1 cache line request per clock, and Hawaii has 16 slices. Each request would be for a 64 byte cache line.
     
  4. pTmdfx

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 27, 2014
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    129
    As a side note, AMD announced in mid 14 the first wave of Project Skybridge, which consists of a 20nm A57 and 20nm Cat APU...
     
  5. mczak

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,015
    Likes Received:
    112
    Has anyone ever seen something useful about Iceland / Topaz? I'd actually be interested in how this thing compares to Mars / Oland. At least I think it might already be shipping, though it's difficult to find some definitive answer thanks to the magic wonders of marketing (should I call that tactic reverse renaming maybe?) which would make all product names identical to these using Oland.
    (It does appear though now in the open-source amdgpu linux driver which supports all 3 VI chips - Tonga, Iceland/Topaz, Carrizo but that doesn't really tell you much more - but yes it really is a 6 CU, 8 rop, 128bit chip.)
     
  6. Blazkowicz

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Messages:
    5,607
    Likes Received:
    256
    I'm interested to know if Iceland supports VGA output, or is it phased out, ditto Carrizo.
     
  7. eastmen

    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    9,983
    Likes Received:
    1,496
    https://www.techpowerup.com/211973/...-to-14-nm-with-arctic-islands-gpu-family.html

    So I guess stuff this year is 28nm
     
  8. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,183
    Likes Received:
    1,840
    Location:
    Finland
    That has been clear forever, hasn't it?
     
  9. eastmen

    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    9,983
    Likes Received:
    1,496
    eh figured there was always a chance of 20nm at GF
     
  10. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,183
    Likes Received:
    1,840
    Location:
    Finland
    Weren't all the 20nm processes deemed unsuitable for GPUs regardless of foundry?
     
  11. Grall

    Grall Invisible Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    2,172
    Location:
    La-la land
    Intel's would undoubtedly have been great, but they don't allow any GPU manufacturers, so it's all academic unfortunately. :p
     
  12. lanek

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Switzerland
    The thing is other fundries was not really on this type of chip.. so their process was more or less only for SOC.

    Well, lets be honest, if any 20nm part will have been made, we will allready got them at this point.

    Anyway, 2016 could be really a fun year with a jump to 14-16nm.
     
  13. Jawed

    Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    10,873
    Likes Received:
    767
    Location:
    London
  14. iMacmatician

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    773
    Likes Received:
    200
    So it's using higher density memory?
     
  15. RedVi

    Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Australia
    Yes, 32x8Gbit chips.
     
    Razor1 and iMacmatician like this.
  16. Dave Baumann

    Dave Baumann Gamerscore Wh...
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    14,079
    Likes Received:
    648
    Location:
    O Canada!
  17. Grall

    Grall Invisible Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    2,172
    Location:
    La-la land
    Interesting... So which GPUs exactly support this feature - Tonga, yes? (As you hint yourself.) Any others? Radeon Fury series? Others...? :)
     
  18. 3dilettante

    Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,122
    Likes Received:
    2,873
    Location:
    Well within 3d
    It showed up in a slide for Fury as well.

    Carrizo's GPU shares their ISA, and has some features outlined that would help, but I have not seen that bullet point for the APU, specifically.
     
  19. lanek

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Huum, this said, you will need an Firepro S series for enable the hardware multi-user, no ?
     
    #2839 lanek, Aug 31, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2015
  20. Blazkowicz

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Messages:
    5,607
    Likes Received:
    256
    There is an existing "Radeon Sky" series, already.
    Not sure but they seem to be on Pitcairn, Tahiti and Hawaii respectively.

    Multi-user Windows isn't that cheap either - though even XP Home was perfectly multi-user, but only one desktop can be shown and interacted with at a time.
    I've always thought having four copies of a multiplayer game running on a single PC would be very neat. Monitors, keyboards etc. can be directly attached or on underpowered and disparate desktops, laptops and others on the network.
    If running a single copy of Windows rather than four ones you even save a few gigabytes of memory.
    It's not new stuff by this point, only it's always been kept away from consumers.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...