AMD RyZen CPU Architecture for 2017

Discussion in 'PC Industry' started by fellix, Oct 20, 2014.

Tags:
  1. Clukos

    Clukos Bloodborne 2 when?
    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    3,784
    AMD will really have to work on the plug and play aspect. Ryzen is rough around the edges, but with enough effort you can make it shine (mainly tuning your memory correctly). Just in a purely CPU limited scenario the difference you can see is absolutely absurd:

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Of course this is exaggerated by the fact that I'm using an overclocked 1080 Ti to run what looks to be sub 720p res (creating a purely CPU limiting scenario), but it just shows how limited Ryzen is with a non-optimal memory setup (2666 MT/s with Auto timings). If AMD manage to make Ryzen perform more consistently across many different setups that'll be the real winner imo.
     
    Kej, Silent_Buddha, Grall and 3 others like this.
  2. fellix

    fellix Hey, You!
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3,486
    Likes Received:
    397
    Location:
    Varna, Bulgaria
    AMD used HBM on the wrong product line.
    Instead, it should have been strapped together with Ryzen, while the DIMM slots would to be repurposed to host some uber fast NVMe storage. :p
     
    Lightman likes this.
  3. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    6,980
    Likes Received:
    3,063
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Imagine EPYC with HBM2 chips on it as well. It would take up one half of the motherboard.
     
  4. xEx

    xEx
    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    939
    Likes Received:
    398
    Whats the easier way to optimize this timings? I got a pair of cheap modules (https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01DPZVP3W/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1) and want to extract as much performance out of them as possible but with my work I don't have much spare time.
     
  5. Grall

    Grall Invisible Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    2,172
    Location:
    La-la land
    If you look at a decapped epyc or threadripper you see there's monkeyloads of room under that giant heatspreader. The zephyr cores are actually quite small comparatively. It's not impossible to imagine that one stack of HBM per zephyr might be possible, and the interposer required would be rather small too...

    While we're at it making up imaginary ryzen features, could we add AVX512 and transaction-based memory handling too? :p (And not artificially segment these features, as Intel always does.)
     
  6. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,166
    Likes Received:
    1,836
    Location:
    Finland
  7. Sinistar

    Sinistar I LIVE
    Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    648
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Indiana
    Prime.png
    This is a learning experience for me, never really before have I delved this far into overclocking a CPU, or memory. I'm working on seeing how far I can bring down the voltage and keep it stable, then I'll go back to playing with the memory. The image above is running Prime95, used Ryzen Master to monitor temps.
     
    #2527 Sinistar, Sep 9, 2017
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2017
    Lightman likes this.
  8. Clukos

    Clukos Bloodborne 2 when?
    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    3,784
    Better use the timings The Stilt provided for Hynix dimms: http://www.overclock.net/t/1624603/rog-crosshair-vi-overclocking-thread/24130#post_26242714

    Just as a base line. If you can get B-die memory, it's a lot easier to get it working properly.
     
    xEx and BRiT like this.
  9. hoom

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    2,933
    Likes Received:
    485
    FIFY :runaway:
     
    Grall likes this.
  10. Alexko

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    4,491
    Likes Received:
    909
    By Zephyr you mean Zeppelin, right?
     
  11. Grall

    Grall Invisible Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    2,172
    Location:
    La-la land
    Right. Damn code names... :p
     
    Lightman and Alexko like this.
  12. xEx

    xEx
    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    939
    Likes Received:
    398
    Thats not possible right now, my mom is sick and I simply don't have money for anything more than a 60 bucks ram. If it was for me I would buy the damn flagship of 4600MHz.

    In my particular case I am aiming for a zen2(or ryzen refresh) mid to high-end update and in the mean time just have something "usable".
     
    Lightman likes this.
  13. xEx

    xEx
    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    939
    Likes Received:
    398
  14. Sinistar

    Sinistar I LIVE
    Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    648
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Indiana
    Started playing with the memory, finally have it running at its rated speed of 3600, with CAS 15.
     
    Clukos, Lightman and Grall like this.
  15. Grall

    Grall Invisible Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    2,172
    Location:
    La-la land
    I feel as if my DDR3 @ 2400 is a tad pedestrian these days... It wasn't the fastest DDR3 exactly when I bought it, but it was near the peak of price/performance curve at the time amongst enthusiast DIMMs, clearly faster than average memory at the time, yet they didn't cost an arm and a leg either. (Also, Corsair Dominator heatspreaders look good! :p)

    Today, enthusiast DDR4 is WAY faster than this - in bandwidth anyway. Latency, well, we know DRAM scales very poorly in that regard...
     
    Lightman likes this.
  16. Sinistar

    Sinistar I LIVE
    Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    648
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Indiana
    Ha, you made me go pull a memory stick from my old computer just to see, it was Ballistix 1600 CL 9
     
  17. Grall

    Grall Invisible Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    2,172
    Location:
    La-la land
    I have a set of six OCZ 1600MHz 7-7-7-24 DIMMs in my older PC... :p

    Anyway, counting latency in cycles isn't so interesting unless one also factors in clock speed. It's better to go straight to nanoseconds... (Where DRAM has remained relatively stable, latency-wise for quite some time I believe.)
     
  18. itsmydamnation

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,296
    Likes Received:
    395
    Location:
    Australia
    Actually on average I think latency/cost is getting a little worse each ddr gen. If you look on the high end of each gen we also see worse latency.
     
  19. Grall

    Grall Invisible Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    2,172
    Location:
    La-la land
    Well, burst length keeps going up, because DRAM can't be clocked too high so they gotta keep making the internal architecture wider and wider to increase bandwidth. So you'd expect a bit more latency, I'd think. But it's not too bad - or at least not yet. Overall performance is still increasing.
     
  20. Sinistar

    Sinistar I LIVE
    Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    648
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Indiana
    Been playing Fallout 4 for a couple hours, I am amazed at how the memory speed affects this game.
     
    Lightman likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...