AMD: RDNA 3 Speculation, Rumours and Discussion

Discussion in 'Architecture and Products' started by Jawed, Oct 28, 2020.

Tags:
  1. Leoneazzurro5

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2020
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    335
    So more than one cache die? Because with one alone, 512 Mbytes of cache on N6 Will take anyway a lot of space
     
  2. Bondrewd

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2017
    Messages:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    810
    No shit.
    Why fab big when you're slicing your interleaving your LLC slices anyway.
    Well kinda the point.
    They won't take that much less space on N5 so N6 it is.
     
  3. Leoneazzurro5

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2020
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    335
    But having two separate cache dies means all this will need one more level of stacking (another die for Memory and I/O?) for inter-die bandwidth interconnect. So one MCD, two cache dies and two GCDs?
     
  4. Bondrewd

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2017
    Messages:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    810
    There are none.
    MCDs are the cache dies.
    Two GCD and fuckton of MCD.
     
    Lightman likes this.
  5. Leoneazzurro5

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2020
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    335
    Ah, ok. It makes me wonder how the inter-die interconnection will work, in that case. So if we have i.e. 4 64-bit memory channels each attached to a 128 Mbytes cache, all these will be shared between the two GCDs (thus insuring high inter-die bandwidth) or are they separated, and inter-GCD communication goes over something else? Also, even if this is a premium product, is not stacking a lot of dies reducing the yields someway?
     
    #725 Leoneazzurro5, Aug 1, 2021
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2021
  6. Bondrewd

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2017
    Messages:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    810
    But we don't.
    yes.
    You add MCDs you scale the bandwidth up, be it interdie, LLC, offchip, you name it.
     
  7. TESKATLIPOKA

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2021
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Then will N33 aim only at FHD gamers with that kind of performance? There are already examples, where 8GB Vram limits RTX 3070's performance, at least when you also enable RT effects.
     
  8. Bondrewd

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2017
    Messages:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    810
    Yea or 1440p if you're lucky.
     
  9. TESKATLIPOKA

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2021
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    N33 should be a lot faster than N22, right?
     
  10. Bondrewd

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2017
    Messages:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    810
    Yea.
     
  11. TESKATLIPOKA

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2021
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't see a point in a mobile(desktop) GPU, which is a lot faster than RX 6800m, but will have less Vram and at best be aimed at 1440p. If the price wasn't high, then ok, but It looks like It will be quite high.
     
  12. Bondrewd

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2017
    Messages:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    810
    Someone's gotta drive them HRR panels.
    Of course.
    Premium brand things.
     
  13. pTmdfx

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 27, 2014
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    357
    If the goal is to overcome the rectile limit, adds gigantic amount of caches, while also taking advantage of the chiplet economies of scale, one big boy MCD seems to be the weakest link of the story, even if it is made on an older process.

    One other possibility is a more exotic setup like TSMC SoIC, with one upper die being bond to multiple lower dies. Say hypothetically it could be a 3-layer stack: 4 MCDs with off-chip I/O (GDDRx, SerDes, power, etc) at the bottom layer; 2 GCDs in the middle, each bound to a MCD pair; and at the top an (passive?) interconnect die to link both GCDs together, with enough bidirectional bandwidth to maintain the performance profile of interleaved uniform memory.
     
    #733 pTmdfx, Aug 1, 2021
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2021
  14. Bondrewd

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2017
    Messages:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    810
    ugh AMD is the only ones using it till forever.
    duh.
    Only 2-hi for now.
     
    Lightman likes this.
  15. Granath

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2021
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    31
    Does the MCD have cache and memory controllers on same die ?

    And what's about ray tracing ? BVH acceleration as well ? And something beyond that maybe?
     
  16. Bondrewd

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2017
    Messages:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    810
    Yep!
    Still part of the WGP.
    No one knows.
     
  17. Incredible that there are posts daily for a product that at best would launch in 15 months. :lol2:
    No new info, no mention at the slightest from AMD ...
     
  18. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    12,889
    Likes Received:
    7,892
    I think there's plenty of new info in the last ~20 pages.
    In fact, this weekend had lots of articles on Navi 3x based on tweets and.. this thread.
     
    Lightman likes this.
  19. Bondrewd

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2017
    Messages:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    810
    Why would they ever.
    Even shipping shit like MI200 doesn't currently exist as a product.
     
    Lightman likes this.
  20. Granath

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2021
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    31
    This one i don't get it. First mcm GPU shipping and silence like sh...
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...