AMD Radeon VII Announcement and Discussion

Discussion in 'Architecture and Products' started by ToTTenTranz, Jan 9, 2019.

Tags:
  1. DavidGraham

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,786
    Likes Received:
    2,584
    Also Radeon VII is PCIe 3.0, not 4.0.

     
    nnunn likes this.
  2. itsmydamnation

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,298
    Likes Received:
    396
    Location:
    Australia
    Its a smart move, limit the ability to scale compute performance past one card to the MI range.
     
    Lightman likes this.
  3. BoMbY

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2017
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    31
    And what scenarios do you think currently saturate a PCIe 3.0 x16? I think there are very few where you actually need a constant shared memory access?
     
    vipa899 likes this.
  4. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,184
    Likes Received:
    1,840
    Location:
    Finland
    Is that dropping PCIe4.0 straight from AMD? Sounds really strange they'd disable it when they're the only ones having PCIe4.0 motherboards and CPUs on the market this year
     
    BRiT likes this.
  5. Rootax

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    578
    Location:
    France
    Maybe validating it for non-pro motherboards was to much, for a short live product ?
     
  6. BoMbY

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2017
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    31
    Someone on another forum had the idea they may just announce/market it as PCIe 3.0 at first, because some people might get confused, and may think PCIe 4.0 is not backwards compatible, or might complain because it isn't using PCIe 4.0 on PCIe 3.0 platforms.
     
  7. Alexko

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    4,496
    Likes Received:
    910
    They probably just want to charge more for it on professional cards.
     
  8. Urian

    Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    55
    Same Chipset than the Mi50 since the PCie Interface connected to the SDMA/XDMA is outside of it.
     
  9. BoMbY

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2017
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    31
    They didn't announce any Radeon Professional cards so far, and it would be stupid not to limit the DP of a gaming card to 1/8 (like Hawaii was limited), if they plan to sell Pro cards.
     
  10. yuri

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    147
    This whole VEGA 20 adventure is strange.

    A super crazy theory says: the original Greenland - highend chip - complementing Ellesmere and Baffin launch might actually have been VEGA 20@14nm. Things didn't go smoothly (TDP?) and instead we got cut-down and rushed variant known as - VEGA 10 - 14 months after Polaris. The original plan would put a bit slower VEGA 20 to end of 2016. Is there any hard evidence contradicting this?
     
  11. Rootax

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    578
    Location:
    France
    Vega 10 is slower, but not a real cutdown (for gaming) from Vega 20... Same number of units for most things...
     
    mrcorbo likes this.
  12. yuri

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    147
    Sorry, I forgot to mention the suggested cut-down concerned the chip as whole - this affects all target markets: HPC, AI, PRO graphics/content creation and gaming.
     
  13. 3dilettante

    Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,122
    Likes Received:
    2,873
    Location:
    Well within 3d
    The supposed Greenland HPC APU concept had limited details besides probably having 1/2 DP and 4 xGMI links. The DP peak numbers seemed in line with the other unit counts being like Vega 10, and Greenland had the same two stacks of HBM2.
    The concept had 4 xGMI links with a total of 100 GB/s bandwidth. This is notably slower than the xGMI links on Vega 20, although it's possible this was more for the benefit of matching up with the x86 dies and their more limited memory subsystems.

    Those two differences seem like modest changes. DP is easily changed at design time, or could be throttle back after manufacturing readily. The cost of that functionality when it's not used fully seems modest, going by examples like Hawaii.
    The xGMI links could have been jettisoned once the APU MCM concept was ditched for Vega and Zeppelin, although it's not a major disruption to most of the chip to remove them. Disabling them was simple for Vega VII.
     
  14. Ryan Smith

    Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    1,052
    Location:
    PCIe x16_1
    Yeah, that's straight from AMD.

    "Radeon VII will not be PCIe 4.0 enabled"
     
    pharma, DavidGraham and Lightman like this.
  15. BoMbY

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2017
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    31
    And did you by any chance ask why?
     
  16. Anarchist4000

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,439
    Likes Received:
    359
    I'd guess to protect pro products with higher margins. VII would be a rather beefy video editing product like SSG with 16GB, 1TB/s, and PCIe4 feeding it. Not to mention that INT8 performance.
     
  17. BoMbY

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2017
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    31
  18. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9,996
    Likes Received:
    4,570
    The specs chart that Scott Herkelman gave to HardOCP also says the card is not a "Double Precision PCIe Accelerator".

    Maybe they're still undecided, lol.

    Regardless, if FP64 is axed then the card makes less sense as it corners the card's addressable market into an even smaller niche. And since the Instinct MI50/MI60 AFAIK can't be bought on retail, the 5 year-old FirePro W8100/W9100 are the only FP64 cards that AMD offers.
    Unless they're launching a more expensive FP64-enabled Vega 20 down the road.. But if they are, why not announce it at CES?
     
  19. Ailuros

    Ailuros Epsilon plus three
    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    9,420
    Likes Received:
    179
    Location:
    Chania
    A retail GPU yielding up to nearly 7 TFLOPs FP64 at a mere 700 bucks, is obviously way too good to be true.
     
    Picao84, vipa899 and Ike Turner like this.
  20. Ryan Smith

    Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    1,052
    Location:
    PCIe x16_1
    The downside to AMD keeping their cards so close to their chest is that too few people know what's going on, it would seem. It goes without saying that this is not the answer I got last week. :-?
     
    w0lfram, Kej, Lightman and 1 other person like this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...