AMD: R7xx Speculation

Discussion in 'Architecture and Products' started by Unknown Soldier, May 18, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Apocros

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    this isn't such a crazy idea (minus the staggering):


    of course, it's not the sort of thing that's likely to show up in volume production any time soon...
     
  2. Megadrive1988

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Messages:
    4,638
    Likes Received:
    148
    seems there had to have been a fairly heafty overhaul of R600 to get R700 competitive with G92.
    good thing R600 has huge bandwidth for R700 to grow into.
     
  3. Shtal

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    3

    Hhmmm....

    Where is the truth!
     
  4. vertex_shader

    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    961
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Far far away
    Inqurier reporting (or Fud'ing :wink:) r700-r800-r900 development closed already and ATi engineers working on r1000.
     
  5. Blazkowicz

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Messages:
    5,607
    Likes Received:
    256
    What's an RBE?
     
  6. vertex_shader

    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    961
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Far far away
    Render Back End, otherwise known as a ROP.
     
  7. turtle

    Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Just the specs, which isn't really that surprising. R600 was specced out incredibly long before it actually can to fruition, something on the magnitude of 5 years.

    It also isn't surprising because R700-R900 are probably incremental improvements on the R600 architecture, be it more of something, double execution of something, high clocks, or just the support for latest spec, which I imagine won't need a drastic change until the next version of windows (and next drastic change to DX).
     
  8. Shtal

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    3
    Somebody correct me if I'm wrong about R600/R700/R800/R900. Is it resembles R300/R420/R520/R580 steps.

    And R1000 will resemble ATI R200 into R300.
     
  9. AlexV

    AlexV Heteroscedasticitate
    Moderator Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,528
    Likes Received:
    107
    If you imagine someone actually knows what'll happen that far into the future, you have some imagination:). The ammount of growth available to the R6xx platform is yet an unknown, we'll have to wait and see how it scales into the future with the addition of different elements like RBEs and foundry process evolution in order to assess wheter or not it can be a base-platform with as much life in it as the R300 had.
     
  10. turtle

    Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    8
    True enough, just speculation on my part. :razz:
     
  11. vertex_shader

    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    961
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Far far away
    Some rumor come from Asia (don't forget Geo GPU rule #1, every GPU 6+ months away looks supergreat :wink: )

    R750XT: 8-core, 64 ROP 256US 1024BIT, 20MB eRAM, using GDDR5 0.5ns 1GB/2GB
    R750GT: 6-core, 48 ROP 192US 768BIT, 20MB eRAM, using GDDR5 0.5ns 768MB/1.5GB
    R700XT: 4-core, 32 ROP 128US 512BIT, 10MB eRAM, using GDDR4 0.7ns 512MB/1GB
    R700GT: 2-core, 16 ROP 64US 256BIT, 10MB eRAM, using GDDR4 0.7ns 256MB/512MB
    R700LE: 1-core, 8 ROP 32US 128BIT, using GDDR3 1.2NS 256MB/512MB

    DX10.1A, HDMI 1.3, Displayport, UVD+, TSMC 45nm (i don't think so), fastest card come with 350Watt TDP (impossible).
    Link
     
    #91 vertex_shader, Oct 20, 2007
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 20, 2007
  12. nutball

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Messages:
    2,146
    Likes Received:
    472
    Location:
    en.gb.uk
    *yawn*

    eRAM? Hello, eRAM? Haven't we seen rumours of eRAM in the last two or three generations?

    Yes, those look like a rehash of the bog-standard made-up specs we see for the next generation about this far out. You know, standard procedure, kid makes up a fantasy in his bedroom (usually by taking the current generation spec and doubling everything, adding a few buzzwords like "multi-core" and "eDRAM") and posts it to a forum. Three links later it's a "firm rumour".
     
  13. Geeforcer

    Geeforcer Harmlessly Evil
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,297
    Likes Received:
    464
    Because you know, ATI always codemanes their chips Rxxx XT/LE/etc.

    Remember R360LE? Or R450XT?

    Me neither...
     
  14. ShaidarHaran

    ShaidarHaran hardware monkey
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    3,984
    Likes Received:
    34
    Also linked in the RV670 thread. B.S. specs all-around.
     
  15. _xxx_

    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    5,008
    Likes Received:
    86
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    ROTFLMAO @ 1024 bit :lol: :lol: :lol: Someone's really, really stupid beyond reason.
     
  16. INKster

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,110
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Io, lava pit number 12
    Does 0.5ns GDDR4 even exist yet in mass production, let alone GDDR5 ?

    BTW, i love the "DX10.1A" detail. :smile:
     
  17. Blazkowicz

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Messages:
    5,607
    Likes Received:
    256
    well we could say a voodoo5 6000 or 7950GX2 is 512bit and a Quantum3D single card voodoo2 SLI is 384bit, or by that metric the 8 VSA-100 monster card is 1024bit.
    likewise there could be four 256bit dies on the highest end card.
    though the aforementionned rumors smell like bullshit off course.
     
  18. _xxx_

    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    5,008
    Likes Received:
    86
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    No, you can't say that. GX2 is not 512 bit but two 256 bit cards. That is a big difference in technical terms and saying that on the box would be an outright lie/deception.
     
  19. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    16,051
    Likes Received:
    5,003
    True, however, it wasn't uncommon to see the GX2 sold as a "512 bit" card. I know some casual/hardcore gamers that still insist their card is a "512 bit" card because that's what their OEM computer salesman told them.

    Regards,
    SB
     
  20. Ailuros

    Ailuros Epsilon plus three
    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    178
    Location:
    Chania
    What's the buswidth of the Xenos eDRAM daughter die? It's true that anything concerning eDRAM for the PC space can be considered as a joke, yet that buswidth would be possible if eDRAM would be involved.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...