Your Wish List : Things that didn't make D3D10

Discussion in 'Architecture and Products' started by Reverend, May 8, 2007.

  1. Andrew Lauritzen

    Moderator Veteran

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,526
    Likes Received:
    454
    Location:
    British Columbia, Canada
    Again, I definitely did all of that; I went through the entire checklist with NVIDIA to no avail. It may be fixed in their latest drivers, but my point was that early stencil is a bit brittle, which I think you guys have all pretty well confirmed ;)
     
  2. KindDragon

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    But GS slow for that and D3D10 doesn't support stereo backbuffer :sad:
    In software I can only do anaglyph mode

    D3D need also return global separation return for better stereo support
     
  3. KindDragon

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    and GPU Texture Compression for HDR textures
     
  4. Andrew Lauritzen

    Moderator Veteran

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,526
    Likes Received:
    454
    Location:
    British Columbia, Canada
    There are many papers on this subject that don't require any hardware support... see this year's I3D for example.
     
  5. KindDragon

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    API for simple rendering cube with mapped volume texture or volume data generated by special shader.
     
  6. Megadrive1988

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Messages:
    4,638
    Likes Received:
    148
    I was going to make a thread to ask this question but I'll ask it here instead.

    for DX11 and the hardware that supports it (next-next gen GPU architectures) is a Programmable Primitive Processor still something that's desirable? or does the Geometry Shader do the things a PPP would've done?

    I recall a few years ago, here, on this very board and elsewhere that a built-in / on-chip (or off-chip) Programmable Primitive Processor was something that was very much wanted for upcoming GPUs / graphics cards, much like T&L was desired in the late 1990s before NV10 came out.


    also, if the Geometry Shader does not fill the role of a PPP, does ATI's programmable tesselation unit in R600 (and Xenos) fill that role? IIRC, ATI's tesselation unit is not required by DX10 and Nvidia doesn't have one in G80. even if ATI's tesselation is good and even if it filled the role of a PPP, it won't get much support in games since it's not in the DX10 spec.

    I haven't heard any talk on PPP lately so I thought I'd bring it up again.
     
    #46 Megadrive1988, Jul 20, 2007
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 20, 2007
  7. 3dcgi

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    2,435
    Likes Received:
    263
    The GS is a programmable primitive processor since it operates on primitives and is programmable. It can perform tessellation, though dedicated hardware can be faster.
     
  8. KimB

    Legend

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Messages:
    12,902
    Likes Received:
    218
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Just fyi, it looks like nVidia's next iteration of workstation cards (Tesla) will support 64-bit floating point, due out late this year. The consumer versions of these cards will not.
     
  9. Mariner

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    241
    Tesla is the HPC derivative of NVidia's technology isn't it?

    In the past there have always been those who tried to modify their GeForce cards whether through drivers or BIOS adjustment to become cheaper Quadro-equivalents. I wonder if this will be at all feasible with Tesla?

    Personally, I'm guessing not, as the layout for the Tesla cards seem to be a fair bit different to their consumer graphics stuff.

    No doubt there will be many who try some driver/BIOS hackery all the same!

    I wonder, will the next gen of Quadro cards also support 64-bit FP or is this not really necessary?
     
  10. KimB

    Legend

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Messages:
    12,902
    Likes Received:
    218
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I suppose it all depends upon whether or not Tesla and Quadro are one and the same.
     
  11. IgnorancePersonified

    Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Sunny Canberra
    stuff that isn't vendor specific
     
  12. Rys

    Rys PowerVR
    Moderator Veteran Alpha

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    4,156
    Likes Received:
    1,433
    Location:
    Beyond3D HQ
    Certain Quadros will have FP64 exposed for CUDA :smile:
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...